Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
1,686 classificações
439 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE
5 de Mar de 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

KL
25 de Jun de 2019

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

Filtrar por:

376 — 400 de 427 Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Abdula K

25 de Jul de 2020

Good information but i felt a little bored during the lectures.

por Sanju d

28 de Mai de 2020

Its a good initiative course. I learned a lot of social things.

por Nadya

18 de Jan de 2018

Denied Certificate after successful completion of the course.

por Furqan A

15 de Ago de 2017

Very god course especially for the Development practitioners.

por Sola A

5 de Mai de 2020

Very challenging for me but took me out of my comfort zone

por Christina

5 de Set de 2017

I loved it and would take another course from Cristina.

por Rik d G

21 de Mai de 2017

Great course, sometimes a bit hard to follow

por Victor K B

18 de Mai de 2020

Not very entertaining but practical to know

por Lillie K

30 de Jun de 2019

the terms became quite confusing to follow

por shady m r

23 de Jul de 2017

needs more tests, but it's great overall

por Mukhtar A L

28 de Nov de 2020

Quite engaging and learnt a lot.

por Zaid A

29 de Jul de 2017

Well laid out, easy to follow.

por MIAWAWANA G F

24 de Mar de 2018

super!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

por eslam s k

4 de Jun de 2017

very useful thanks a lot

por badrul h

17 de Ago de 2020

it is good to learn .

por Mahender G

15 de Nov de 2019

Very much appreciated

por Atupele M

13 de Ago de 2019

It is very helpful

por Abdalla O H

7 de Jun de 2017

helpful Course

por Yahia A

27 de Jan de 2021

Goooooood

por Mohamed A S H

24 de Jun de 2017

Thanks

por Idoko D S

18 de Out de 2020

Good

por Simon C

4 de Nov de 2020

The material is very interesting, if somewhat hypothetical. I enjoyed it - thank you.

I would have appreciated more real life examples (in number as well as in nature) to help me understand the concepts.

The lecturer and the contributors all have strong accents which made following them difficult. The transcripts quite often didn't help as they also failed to catch what was being said and also failed to correct mistakes in the English and the grammar & punctuation were not always correct. All in all, it was difficult for me as a native English speaker to understand at times, so must be very difficult for non-native English speakers. I suppose could create a survey to discover what other students thought and see if they were following a social norm or not...

por Koko W

30 de Dez de 2020

The course was very useful and interesting. However, week four could have been divided into two or more weeks--the material became significantly more technical and lengthy, which was like a "speedbump" to to my learning and progress. Distributing the materials more evening and assigning more application homeworks would be useful.

por Ivana V

19 de Fev de 2020

It would have been more interesting if the focus wasn't predominantly on theory which is all quite similar and gets kind of dull after a while. Including more diverse practical examples, or even better presenting case studies would have made the course much better for me.

por Catherine H

22 de Dez de 2018

This is material that you're not going to use directly, but can use indirectly in your work later on. It's pretty dry material, but I honestly learned a lot of valuable information. I would recommend it if you're willing to put in the work. If not, you wont learn much.