Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
1,048 classificações
265 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC

Aug 05, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Mohammad A

Nov 16, 2016

A great course indeed! Excellent lecture together with theory and on field examples!

por Ganga S

Nov 27, 2016

A real eye opener!!!

por lisa k

Jul 19, 2017

i really like this course as it showed the root of some social norms in the community that i live in and i was able to analyses people's motives for behaving in such way.

por Godwin K

Sep 17, 2017

It has been enlightening and fulfilling! More of what I should have known 10 years ago! So great!

por Ratnaja G

Mar 04, 2017

Thank you Dr.Biccheiri for taking me through this course. I am involved in a Sanitation and Hygiene behavior baseline survey in Schools in India and I found this course relevant to my understanding of how behavior is an outcome of norms that arise in turn from empirical and normative expectations. However, I am still left wondering if defecation in the open is a social norm in India.

por Sankar V

Sep 07, 2016

This course takes you into the root cause of a problem and the very structure of the course is effective in easily being remembered in the minds of the enrollers. Thanks to the Pen University and the UNICEF for enlightening us and improving our perspectives through inter and independent causal learning.

por Miriam N S

Mar 19, 2018

It's a great intro into the definitions around social norms to understand what can bring social change about. I think it is also just useful for understanding our behaviour as humans, why we do things and not others and what motivates our behaviour even though we sometimes might not actually agree with it. It is presented in an easy-to-study way with good reading material from the course presenter.

por BALAJI A V

Jul 07, 2017

An excellent course to pursue. Cleared number of doubts about society and the decisions made by them. learning from this course will definitely benefit me in upcoming time. Many thanks to instructor, the university and coursera for such enriching course.

por Sarah S Y

Jun 15, 2017

Really enjoyed this course. Insightful. Professor clearly communicates course content. Could do without all the opening jingles/intros since the video clips are really short, though.

por Alvaro C

Sep 11, 2017

I really enjoyed taking this class. First of all, it gave us tools on how to approach norms and behaviours, and secondly it made is seem clear. I will definitely use some of the learnings in my future missions.

por JOHN Q

Aug 10, 2017

INTERESTING AND FUN COURSE!

por shenyang

Jul 23, 2016

great

por Jessie H

Jul 11, 2017

Although I had no foundation in sociology, this course gave me an overview of base concepts and examples. Thank you teacher!

por Khaing K N

Apr 19, 2018

Excellent course for every student who is very interested in Social Norm.

por Ibraheem F M M

Jun 30, 2017

It is wondefull

por Mariya K

Aug 11, 2017

The course is really great and very interesting! The only point that would make it even better - any feedback from the lecturer for the tasks with questions for discussion. As for me it was really not so easy to find the answers and examples and I am not sure if all of them are correct.

por Bouhout A

Jul 24, 2017

Amazing course

por Erme S

Jun 16, 2017

Very useful to me, a undergraduate student of computer science who love HCI and want to understando complex social domains. Very clear, a nice teacher.

por Shweta B

Dec 05, 2017

It was useful and informative. What it helped me is with providing a different perpective of viewing a social set up, how the issue can be tackled and what could be the alternate way of solving it.

As a professional working in CSR it has been an aid me for.

por Saúl A

Jul 10, 2017

It is a great course that allow to learn the importance of social norms in order to propose change mechanisms and promote social development and human rights achievement.

por Sandhya K S

Apr 03, 2017

its really wonderful course.

Its give direction to thinking

por Leonardo B F

Jun 17, 2017

Incredible!!!! Fantas

por Abhishek S

Dec 07, 2017

Very nice course recommended for Behaviour change professionals.

por Arupa S

Feb 09, 2017

Its an excellent course and a must do for everyone in UNICEF

por Godfred O A

Apr 18, 2017

Excellent program. I really appreciate the new exposure to bring social issues and conditions pertaining to social life.