Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
1,043 classificações
262 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC

Aug 05, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Dehua G

Sep 23, 2017

Great course, great experience!!

por Amar A

Dec 08, 2017

thank you

por Manuel G

Jan 02, 2017

It is a Great course for who ever is working with Social organizations and with projects dealing with social Norms, even for another people is always good to understand some patterns of behavior. Am liking a lot what am learning, it is good form my work as Project Manager of an Mozambican NGO.

por Saurabh D

Mar 26, 2018

very comprehensive!

por Saori G

Dec 02, 2017

One of the best courses I have taken online. A must if working for outreach programmes in the humanitarian field.

por Gabrielle D

May 27, 2017

I loved this class. As a social entrepreneur, I found it both surprising and inspiring !

por alix r

Jul 19, 2017

Amazing course, very well designed and delivered. Thank you!

por anushka a

Apr 30, 2017

interesting

por Milecia M

Oct 19, 2016

This class changed my view on the way I look at the world. I didn't realize how much was under the surface of how we interact with each other. This class broke down how we influence each other in the most subtle ways.

por Natasha E

May 29, 2017

Enjoyed this course and looking forward to part 2!!!

por Ritsu N

Jun 26, 2017

Very useful course. Gave me a lot of ideas on how to go about designing social change initiatives.

por Ashish J

Jul 28, 2017

It really helped me to develop understanding on Social Behavior.

por Maii A E

Jul 16, 2017

good work

por Hans B v d B

Dec 30, 2017

Great course, learned a lot about analysing social norms and how the different sides of social norms. The perspectives from the field were also very interesting and informative. Also the lecturer was very articulate and a great speaker.

por Nirina A

Sep 28, 2016

It's very interesting for monitoring the Social Change. I's very useful for implementing the programme

por Camlus O O

Dec 01, 2016

Cristina makes difficult concepts such as randomised response approach to limiting social desirability bias easy. Very easy to navigate, and the Android App is efficient and effective. Lots of new learning too, no recycled content

por Judy G

Jan 09, 2017

Really enjoyed this course, well structured and a good mix of videos and text to read. Only suggestions for improvement would be a) fourth week videos and text got very long and b) having a glossary to refer to that defines all the terms and includes examples (as sometimes got confusing all the different terminology used)

por Ngomwegi J D

Mar 17, 2017

very helpful in understanding social behavior and how it is influenced

por Olha K

Feb 16, 2017

The course is practically oriented and is connected to the most challenging topics in UNICEF practice. Very useful!

por Малышева Е В

Jun 27, 2018

Крутой и полезный курс! Доступным языком объяснены ключевые темы.

por Kristen P

May 24, 2017

The professor was delightful and the material was presented in a nicely progressive way, with a good variety of videos, stories, and readings.

por Natalia d

Jan 01, 2017

Great learning experience

por Ruby S

Jul 04, 2017

The course was wonderful to make me understand how open defecation is a social norm and make my facts clear about it.

por Hassan R

Oct 08, 2016

Very informative and well tailored course. Plenty of real life examples, great lecturer and simple language. Thank you!

por Melissa P

May 04, 2017

I loved this course so much! It discussed important topics within Social Norms and Social Change at length, and really strengthened my understanding of each! Thank you so much!