Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
1,378 classificações
352 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

KL

Jun 26, 2019

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Rajarajeshwari S

May 08, 2020

I love how simplified the concepts were for anyone to understand topics that have taken so long to research upon. Thank you for constructing such a well-rounded course, it was great fun to stduy!

por Brenda

Jan 07, 2017

This is an extremely useful course. There is an effective blend of lecture, quizzes, case studies, essays, and student discussion. The content is highly relevant. I highly recommend this course.

por Dorothy H

Sep 11, 2016

First: University of Pennsylvania and we still have to deal with a heavy accent?

Second: Couldn't tell if all the vocab gone over repeatedly was standard or made up by the prof.

Third: Stilted, repetitive and boring teaching style.

por peter t

Aug 01, 2017

I found it very difficult to engage with this course which is surprising due to its exciting potential

por Seti S

Jan 20, 2020

Thank you so much for an eye opening course around a field I had very little scientific knowledge about. Growing up and living in developing countries in East Africa, I am very familiar with problems of FGC (female genital cutting), open defecation, open urination, bribing etc; problems that seemed never ending in spite of diverse attempts by relevant government authorities at ending them.

Fortunately, I have realized now through the course that personal and collective behavior is a complex thing that to eradicate undesirable behavior like FGC one needs a complex approach that targets most importantly both personal & collective behavioral factors.

Besides, when it comes to engaging such problems in future discussions, the scientific basis I have picked up through the course via exposure to relevant scientific language, methods & research work would guide my views on such social problems.

I plan to read the whole course book - Norms in The Wild – Cristina Bichhieri - to reinforce the skills I have so far learned.

Thanks Again

-

por Becca L

May 14, 2020

Good course! I would recommend this course to anyone with even a passing interest in social behavior! The material is very accessible & engaging. Both the reading material and lectures are brief, straightforward, and high-quality. Some of the quiz questions were surprisingly challenging (not the typical regurgitated Q&A from lecture videos). To get the most out of this course, I suggest participating in every discussion prompt you can. Taking the time to apply the concepts and reviewing others' applications will only reinforce and challenge what you're learning. I am currently working my way through the second course in this series!

por Adnan H

May 04, 2020

Its a wonderful experience of learning new terms regarding social norms and social change. I love to continue its second part. The instructor is Crystal clear in her communication and usage of language. and also has given me flexible time to meet deadlines. Thank you University of Pennsylvania/UNICEF , Coursera and above all Cristina Biccihieri-

por Slava D

May 20, 2020

Good course - well explained, many examples, interactive. Understanding social norms is fundamental to understanding societies. The only little drawback is that the readings are obviously taken from a book as is, which is why there are sometimes overlaps with the content from the videos (and it if feels like some concepts are over-explained).

por Karimzada G V

May 16, 2020

First part is completed and I already have learned a lot. My view about social behaviors and related problems have changed as well. The topic is very difficult, but ,thanks to the instructor, it is explained in very easy way with examples and unicef member's experience sharing. Thanks a lot! I keep going to second part :)

por Agnetha C S

Apr 17, 2019

Wonderful!

English is not my first language and I have never been in contact with a similar topic before. However, I did not have to study the vocabulary too much as every little detail was explained, and sometimes even twice or oftener. Easy to understand without spending a huge amount on extra studying.

por Sankar V

Sep 07, 2016

This course takes you into the root cause of a problem and the very structure of the course is effective in easily being remembered in the minds of the enrollers. Thanks to the Pen University and the UNICEF for enlightening us and improving our perspectives through inter and independent causal learning.

por Nowmi N

Jan 10, 2020

It is a wonderful platform to learn a lot about how the social occurrences that we see is our surrounding society which are greatly hampering social growth are forming and how we can approach to know the root causes and properly plan to eradicate them . The course is very nicely designed and executed.

por Kevin A

Jun 08, 2019

The course covered the basic components and provided examples to understand the social norms and change, the real life illustrations did make the concepts easier for me to grasp. The discussions at the end of every week also make the course a great platform for learning from other participants.

por Manuel G

Jan 02, 2017

It is a Great course for who ever is working with Social organizations and with projects dealing with social Norms, even for another people is always good to understand some patterns of behavior. Am liking a lot what am learning, it is good form my work as Project Manager of an Mozambican NGO.

por Roy H

Jan 25, 2019

Perfectly constructed course. It opened my eyes to whole set of new perspectives. I highly recommend this course. The professor is very expressive and detailed in her explanations and her techniques are very well adapted to an online experience and to beginners in this field. Best of luck!

por Karolin G B

May 27, 2020

Aprendi muito no curso , sobre conhecimentos e normas que eu não imaginava haver tanta pluralidade. A didática é incrível e a professora está sempre recapitulando os termos para que não haja confusão. No fim , você aprende tudo sem problemas. Estou ansiosa para a segunda parte do curso.

por Mariya K

Aug 11, 2017

The course is really great and very interesting! The only point that would make it even better - any feedback from the lecturer for the tasks with questions for discussion. As for me it was really not so easy to find the answers and examples and I am not sure if all of them are correct.

por Nora S

Aug 27, 2019

Very interesting, useful and intriguing course and a topic to me! The combination of the main lecturer knowledge and experience with the specific stories of on-the-field practitioners all over the world makes the course more practical and realistic. I wouol definately go for Part II

por Nikolaos L

Dec 04, 2019

The course is very interesting and worths every minute. I feel I have learnt a lot about different behavioural patterns we engage in, how to identify norms and how to measure them. It is strongly recommended to those who want to work in NGOs and/or carry out field social research.

por Artyom S

May 24, 2020

Very informative course with a focus on structuring rather routine terms which allows you to see it from a different angle. Strongly recommend to those who are involved in any social voluntary organisations as well as those who are interested in phycology or related topics!

por aspiration

Apr 28, 2020

It's very important roles that online courses play on this period of time..social studies are meeting what the wold needs to progress..The slides are well prepared and the voice is so clear as well most important thing is that the subject it selve is interesting and valuable

por Maria A M

Jan 31, 2019

Really interesting subject, well presented, even better explained, quite complete as a first touch with this topic. I felt like it put an order in my mind on things I already knew or had noticed happening around me and helped me a lot about how to use them consciously.

por Raj K S

Feb 01, 2017

This course was very effective in earning orientation and skills on understanding social norms, expectations (empirical and normative) and measuring norms through tools. Its really critical in delivering our activities and programming in more effective and efficient

por Shweta B

Dec 05, 2017

It was useful and informative. What it helped me is with providing a different perpective of viewing a social set up, how the issue can be tackled and what could be the alternate way of solving it.

As a professional working in CSR it has been an aid me for.

por BALAJI A V

Jul 07, 2017

An excellent course to pursue. Cleared number of doubts about society and the decisions made by them. learning from this course will definitely benefit me in upcoming time. Many thanks to instructor, the university and coursera for such enriching course.