Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
1,713 classificações
444 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE
5 de Mar de 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC
4 de Ago de 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Filtrar por:

401 — 425 de 432 Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Victor K B

18 de Mai de 2020

Not very entertaining but practical to know

por Lillie K

30 de Jun de 2019

the terms became quite confusing to follow

por shady m r

23 de Jul de 2017

needs more tests, but it's great overall

por Mukhtar A L

28 de Nov de 2020

Quite engaging and learnt a lot.

por Zaid A

29 de Jul de 2017

Well laid out, easy to follow.

por MIAWAWANA G F

24 de Mar de 2018

super!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

por eslam s k

4 de Jun de 2017

very useful thanks a lot

por badrul h

17 de Ago de 2020

it is good to learn .

por Mahender G

15 de Nov de 2019

Very much appreciated

por Atupele M

13 de Ago de 2019

It is very helpful

por Abdalla O H

7 de Jun de 2017

helpful Course

por Yahia A

27 de Jan de 2021

Goooooood

por Mohamed H

24 de Jun de 2017

Thanks

por Idoko D S

18 de Out de 2020

Good

por Simon C

4 de Nov de 2020

The material is very interesting, if somewhat hypothetical. I enjoyed it - thank you.

I would have appreciated more real life examples (in number as well as in nature) to help me understand the concepts.

The lecturer and the contributors all have strong accents which made following them difficult. The transcripts quite often didn't help as they also failed to catch what was being said and also failed to correct mistakes in the English and the grammar & punctuation were not always correct. All in all, it was difficult for me as a native English speaker to understand at times, so must be very difficult for non-native English speakers. I suppose could create a survey to discover what other students thought and see if they were following a social norm or not...

por Koko W

30 de Dez de 2020

The course was very useful and interesting. However, week four could have been divided into two or more weeks--the material became significantly more technical and lengthy, which was like a "speedbump" to to my learning and progress. Distributing the materials more evening and assigning more application homeworks would be useful.

por Catherine H

22 de Dez de 2018

This is material that you're not going to use directly, but can use indirectly in your work later on. It's pretty dry material, but I honestly learned a lot of valuable information. I would recommend it if you're willing to put in the work. If not, you wont learn much.

por Anton Z

2 de Jan de 2018

Subtitles need to be reviewed, a lot of errors and they are necessary because the speakers all have strong accents. Sometimes the transcript itself doesn't make sense at all.

por Lujain A

28 de Jul de 2019

it was so confusing but I tried my best, not cause the instructor is bad, just cause there were too many similar concepts

por Rishabh S

28 de Abr de 2020

The course is not that interesting but I really like the example from the different countries that was given by UNICEF.

por Gilbert H

15 de Ago de 2020

I think this course in very important for researchers in order to get the right answers from the communities

por Bassel M A A

5 de Jul de 2017

Quizzes are very confusing and English translation is awful and full of mistakes a

por Jan S

10 de Fev de 2018

Ok course, the further you get into the course th better the lectures,

por Ni N

7 de Ago de 2020

the pace is too slow, even for the introductory level.