Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
1,686 classificações
439 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE
5 de Mar de 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC
4 de Ago de 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 427 Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Diana F

15 de Ago de 2017

This course was very interesting. It helped me understand about how to proceed in the intervention of some of the company employees behavior and expectations. Thank you.

por Michael T D

6 de Mar de 2019

It is a very educative course that provides the learner with the technical lens, and gives ways problems could be solved best. I'm hoping to start the part 2 soon.

por Damini B

9 de Abr de 2019

An important course that gives you a framework to understand and analyse social norms by the leading scholar in the field. This is the future of social change.

por umar f

21 de Abr de 2019

very well conducted Lectrues and very friendly way to teach with the help of examples.I just loved doing it and looking forward to attempt more in coming days

por Diego P L

3 de Out de 2017

Excellent course, clear and structured. Well based in rigurous references.

To understand social norms and a first approach to measure them. Highly recommended!

por सोच: T V

20 de Ago de 2020

It was an informative course in practical life across the world. All facts and examples were very relevant and very much helpful to understand the society.

por Lilen Q

10 de Fev de 2019

It has been one of the best and most useful courses I have taken in my life. Without doubt, I will be able to put this knowledge into practice in my work.

por Gilbert A A

22 de Abr de 2018

The course was very interesting. Provides an excellent insight on understanding social norms and developing intervention strategies to bring about change.

por Ajay V

25 de Abr de 2018

It was a fantastic course that concisely taught the different expectations that we face in society. Whether it may be our own or of society in general.

por Erme S

16 de Jun de 2017

Very useful to me, a undergraduate student of computer science who love HCI and want to understando complex social domains. Very clear, a nice teacher.

por Varun K S

14 de Ago de 2017

I absolutely cherished whatever I learned through this course. It gave me a perspective to view things from critical, rational and shared perspective.

por Tania A

31 de Out de 2020

I learned a lot! Do not give up after the first week...keep going and you will see how the concepts can be applied to real situations and problems.

por Kamrul H

6 de Nov de 2017

All the topics are elaborated with real life examples. Also designed to be very interesting. I enjoyed every bit of it while learning new aspects.

por Lucie M

20 de Abr de 2021

i have learned so much in this class. the teacher was amazing. she does her job very well. i like her teaching style. thank you miss Christina B

por Maria J S C

9 de Jul de 2020

Cristina is amazing. Everything is very clear and ordered. I believe this should be a compulsory course for anyone interested in public policy.

por Diana M

4 de Set de 2017

I think is a great course, is applicable to any society and very well explain, also Cristina is very nice. I definitely will enroll to part II

por Kristen P

24 de Mai de 2017

The professor was delightful and the material was presented in a nicely progressive way, with a good variety of videos, stories, and readings.

por Niki J R

11 de Nov de 2020

so informative that helps you to be open-minded, understand the various cultures and respect people why they behave or do certain behaviours.

por Catarina B

6 de Abr de 2020

I learing a lot in this course. the only thing that I did not like it was the fact of the week 4 was way more longer than the others. Thanks!

por Yenlik T

13 de Fev de 2020

Amazing professor! Last week is quite dense with many new notions regarding techniques so separating them into more pieces might be helpful.

por Sarah S

18 de Jun de 2017

Excellent course, well delivered and a good balance of detail and insight with laymen terminology. I would definitely recommend this course!

por Nakarin C

10 de Jul de 2020

it s a very good course for any persons who interest the social sci and this course gives me a new len to see how the societies really are

por Pablo G

14 de Nov de 2019

Very interesting and useful course. People should learn about this, so better programming oriented to behaviour change could be developed.

por MD. A R H

2 de Nov de 2019

I have come up with in and outs of social expectation, norms and behaviour responsible to create or abandon these norms. Helped me a lot.

por Haroon A

13 de Jul de 2019

excellent course , helpful , gradual information cascade , sumarrizing from time to another ,practical examples , discussions . thank you