Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
1,497 classificações
378 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

KL

Jun 26, 2019

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 370 Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Olha K

Feb 16, 2017

The course is practically oriented and is connected to the most challenging topics in UNICEF practice. Very useful!

por Marco C

Mar 28, 2020

I am a real beginner in this field, I enjoyed the clear explanations of the basic concepts, definitions and tools

por Saori G

Dec 02, 2017

One of the best courses I have taken online. A must if working for outreach programmes in the humanitarian field.

por Linda v d W

May 18, 2020

Interesting course that provides tools for immediate use to development/international cooperation practitioners.

por Oana V N

Dec 28, 2019

An essential course for helping professionals. I can't wait to read professor's Bicchieri work on social norms!

por Albert B

Jan 16, 2019

An awesome, concise, and detailed introduction to understanding how to approach social norms and social change.

por Xiaoyu H

Mar 25, 2019

This course is quite good for me, a beginner of sociology research, to get to know some theory of the society.

por Brice B

Nov 27, 2016

Socially relevant philosophy and psychology: great material! Crystal clear! Everyone should watch this course.

por Do Q A

Jun 28, 2019

As a person who works in the development field, I found the content of this course is interesting and useful!

por Marzie A

Dec 08, 2019

Great resource for those designing social surveys/experiment and want to enhance their survey design skills.

por Amr M S R

Dec 13, 2018

I was a great course and we learned a lot and learned how to work with society in a different waymany thanks

por Rodrigo S

Jul 23, 2017

Very good course, helped me to understand some of the social behaviors that I am conditioned in my country.

por Nirmal G

Aug 28, 2019

It is wonderful to learn about how our society and the way people living in it behave;cause and effects.

por Lucy D

Oct 18, 2017

I was evaluating the 'manageability' of these types of courses and found it very 'manageable'! so 10/10!

por Sabrina P

May 11, 2019

Very well structured. It is really useful forpeople working in programs where social norms are involved

por Sarah M

Mar 11, 2018

Brilliant course, interactive and broken down manageable pieces of information. Would highly recommend!

por zark b

Aug 07, 2020

Good and basic introduction to people who want to learn about how other people act and why they do so.

por Luz H H

Dec 05, 2019

The content was clear, relevant and contextualized for a better understanding throughout the lectures.

por Nirina A

Sep 28, 2016

It's very interesting for monitoring the Social Change. I's very useful for implementing the programme

por 鈴木日出海

Jan 29, 2019

The professor explain so clear, but the content is so productive and fruitful.

Thank you so much Sir!!

por ANANT S

Aug 04, 2018

Very good course...........Good Experience...........Easy to Operate it online...........Well Drafted

por Kirubhaharan j

Jul 24, 2019

This course social norms and social I can help to understand current situation take in part of world

por Ahmed M E

Feb 10, 2018

Very Important course for all those who work in areas of community development and behavioral change

por Farhad B

Feb 23, 2020

It was a very nice course.

Thank you, Thank Coursera and Thank dear teacher and UNICEF.

Best Regards

por Godwin K

Sep 17, 2017

It has been enlightening and fulfilling! More of what I should have known 10 years ago! So great!