Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
1,664 classificações
433 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE
5 de Mar de 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

KL
25 de Jun de 2019

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 421 Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Ng S M J

4 de Fev de 2020

Excellent course! It is more academic and rigorous than some other courses offered here. Learnt a lot about theories of social norms and look forward to taking the second course to apply my learnings to social change.

por Milecia M

18 de Out de 2016

This class changed my view on the way I look at the world. I didn't realize how much was under the surface of how we interact with each other. This class broke down how we influence each other in the most subtle ways.

por Venkata R M

25 de Mar de 2019

This course is really very helpful to me in improving my academic weightage.It's really helpful to me in gaining the knowledge.It's like studying with the real world scenarios and understanding it in much better way.

por Carmen M M

11 de Jul de 2018

This is an excellent theoretical base for understanding social norms and the complex dimension to be considered in assessing impact on behavior. The lectures are well delivered and compel one toward further reading.

por Riaz A

2 de Dez de 2017

I am grateful to Cristina Bicchieri for her amazing lectures. I enjoyed the lectures and learnt a lot. All those who are interested in social change will surely find the course extremely relevant and useful.

por Rajarajeshwari S

8 de Mai de 2020

I love how simplified the concepts were for anyone to understand topics that have taken so long to research upon. Thank you for constructing such a well-rounded course, it was great fun to stduy!

por Brenda

7 de Jan de 2017

This is an extremely useful course. There is an effective blend of lecture, quizzes, case studies, essays, and student discussion. The content is highly relevant. I highly recommend this course.

por Sam G

8 de Nov de 2017

This course is both informative and practical! It manages to convey the complexity of social norm analysis and measurement while remaining accessible to students with no prior knowledge.

por Melissa J P

4 de Mai de 2017

I loved this course so much! It discussed important topics within Social Norms and Social Change at length, and really strengthened my understanding of each! Thank you so much!

por Sergio A A

28 de Jul de 2020

This course was important to me because offers really good categories to understand the behavior of people in a community. The explanation and the support material were great.

por Sabeen a

5 de Jul de 2020

excellent teacher and videos , helpful literature and easy to comprehend .. thank you .. if possible please provide online certificate for those who cant afford .. bless you.

por Rochelle V

4 de Mar de 2020

It is mind blowing to know that the norms we grew up with could be explained scientifically. It gives me a refreshing view on how we can strengthen or abandon social norms.

por Lisa k

19 de Jul de 2017

i really like this course as it showed the root of some social norms in the community that i live in and i was able to analyses people's motives for behaving in such way.

por Lourdes C

14 de Mar de 2020

Excellent course, fantastic Lecturer, lots of new learning and interesting pointers on social norms and beliefs. Very well taught and structured.

por Keith S

10 de Dez de 2017

I thought that the course was both practically relevant to international development work, and also well supported by theory - a nice combination.

por Mijannur R G

2 de Set de 2019

Madam Cristina Bicchieri your teaching style is mindblowing. I really love your teaching and the course. Thanks for the online opportunity.

por sanjay r

16 de Out de 2017

its an eye opener , please do this course for the pure value of it........i am a better person now, having subscribed to this course.

por George R

10 de Ago de 2020

It really helped to successfully redesign a research proposal on corporal punishment applied to children.

Thank you very much!

por SEHRISH S K

31 de Ago de 2019

one of the most helpful and comprehensive course I have taken online. material and relevant examples made it more inreresting.

por ISMAEIL M S

9 de Dez de 2018

Great course

Provides very important information about human behavior in all its forms

And how to measure behavior

it is fun

por Jessie H

11 de Jul de 2017

Although I had no foundation in sociology, this course gave me an overview of base concepts and examples. Thank you teacher!

por Hassan R

8 de Out de 2016

Very informative and well tailored course. Plenty of real life examples, great lecturer and simple language. Thank you!

por Linda v d W

18 de Mai de 2020

Interesting course that provides tools for immediate use to development/international cooperation practitioners.

por Oana V N

28 de Dez de 2019

An essential course for helping professionals. I can't wait to read professor's Bicchieri work on social norms!

por Albert B

15 de Jan de 2019

An awesome, concise, and detailed introduction to understanding how to approach social norms and social change.