Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
1,665 classificações
434 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE
5 de Mar de 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

KL
25 de Jun de 2019

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

Filtrar por:

401 — 423 de 423 Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Cheryl C

9 de Abr de 2020

The class was well taught; However, I would have preferred more examples. That is more applications across different topics where the need for social change is indicated.

por Danielle G

26 de Mar de 2017

It was alright ..confusing at times an seemed a bit convoluted. someone needs to come up with a better way to explain these concepts so that they are not so jumbled.

por Winnifred R L

11 de Jun de 2017

This course covers a lot of definitions and basics so is less engaging than the second course but it is certainly worth working through. A great enterprise!

por Recep B

22 de Fev de 2020

4.Haftanın videolarında Türkçe altyazı olmadığı için pek anlayamadım.4 haftanın videolarına Türkçe altyazı eklenmeli.Onun dışında güzel bir kurstu.

por Lujain A

28 de Jul de 2019

it was so confusing but I tried my best, not cause the instructor is bad, just cause there were too many similar concepts

por Rishabh S

28 de Abr de 2020

The course is not that interesting but I really like the example from the different countries that was given by UNICEF.

por Gilbert H

15 de Ago de 2020

I think this course in very important for researchers in order to get the right answers from the communities

por Bassel M A A

5 de Jul de 2017

Quizzes are very confusing and English translation is awful and full of mistakes a

por Jan S

10 de Fev de 2018

Ok course, the further you get into the course th better the lectures,

por Ni N

7 de Ago de 2020

the pace is too slow, even for the introductory level.

por Annie

3 de Abr de 2020

Easy and fun!

por Lucia K

27 de Out de 2017

Good course!

por Ibrahima

22 de Mar de 2019

Excellent

por M. P M L

28 de Abr de 2017

Positive: There are a lot of examples and interviews with people in the field that help to understand better. I think the concepts exposed are useful and relevant.

Negative: I think it the course could be done in a much more compact way (the introduction and conclusion of each video, which is just music, take together around half a minute). I think all the concepts could be introduced in half of the time. There is a lot of reiteration and some texts are so similar with one another that more than once I thought I was doing again the same section.

por Suraj k

13 de Mai de 2020

I learnt to critically question how peoples behaviors are motivated. Examples from different communities were good. The language jargon could be lesser so concepts could be understood more easily.

I wish the course could have been more valuable in terms of teaching us how to measure behaviour and also in terms of the hours spent.

por Benjamin C R

21 de Mai de 2018

First two weeks were a waste of time and generally unclear. Could have started straight away with week 3 and would have been clearer. Very academic style.

por Andri A

1 de Ago de 2017

Important topic, important informationBUT, given in a painfully slow pace. All 4 weeks can be summarized in 10 slides and 20 minutes video.

por Mohamed A

15 de Jul de 2017

Very very boring course and old English to understand , i don't recommend it to anyone who isn't interested in those things , if you are not , you will just stuck in it and cannot go through it , hard to understand , lake of info and lake of teaching ability , i really didn't like it , the worst online course i have ever had

por Joy S

30 de Jan de 2017

This is for people doing social work in third world countries. Trust me, videos discussing open defecation and child marriage get old fast. Also, the stuff about social norms is very confusing and hard to understand.

por Spyridon P

23 de Jun de 2016

The quiz in this course is not helping this learning experience to be positive

por vishal a

7 de Jun de 2020

The course is just about terms and jargon not so much about ideas.

por Makawa C

30 de Abr de 2020

How can I access my certificate after course completion