Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
1,558 classificações
401 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

KL

Jun 26, 2019

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

Filtrar por:

301 — 325 de 389 Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Tejaswi M

Oct 17, 2019

Interesting course with valuable theoretical concepts explained. The organization of the content could have been done better, as there seemed to a bit of repetition of some concepts and some concepts not being dealt in depth.

A must-do course for someone interested in Behavior Change Communication. Hoping to learn more in part II of the course.

por Nabaraj G

Jul 25, 2019

The Course has excellently delivered the contents which rightly explain the understanding of Social Norms from global perspectives. The lectures and videos are clear and well guide the course contents too. The social change is inevitable and differ from community to community. It would be better to offer next advanced version of the course.

por Cengiz Y

Jul 17, 2017

Great course.

Nevertheless it should be improved further. Examples are not sufficient to understand the concepts and processes to deal with identifying problems for pluralistic ignorance and how to use vignettes.

thanks for the course, in any case it is very beneficial for the people who are from the outside of the field. Thank you!

por Lærke L G

Aug 16, 2017

Good content and great that you have the opportunity to learn a lot in very short time (I was able to do the whole course in two days, which is great!). The only critique I have is that several of the questions in the quizzes are formulated quite unclearly, which makes you doubt questions you would probably not doubt otherwise.

por Philip H

Aug 12, 2018

Fascinating subject matter, presented in a reasonably easy to follow way with good readings, videos and graphics. Some of the ideas were repeated many times and several of pieces of terminology were so similar in name that it could become a little confusing at times, other than that a very educational and enjoyable course.

por Constanza S

Apr 14, 2020

The course is great, very clear and easy to understand.

It have some spontaneous questions for checking if you understand and also quiz.

The only thing i would make the quiz with others examples so that no matter the memmory, it testes if people can actually recognize this in new examples of situations.

por Rahul K

Apr 01, 2019

I must say that, It is a really well structured and detailed program. It helps me to understand the nuances of the society in regard of the situation and practices that occurs due to the social norms. I would highly recommend this course to all people who wants to work on the ground with people.

por Youra A

Oct 05, 2019

I enjoyed taking the course very much. It was very helpful understanding the social norms. However, some of the concepts that were introduced in the course were very confusing. I had a hard time understanding it and I think I still need to spend lots of time reviewing the materials.

por Jacqui H

Sep 10, 2017

Excellent introduction to the concepts and applications of Bicchieri's social norms theory. I also appreciated very much the grounding in practical examples, and the combination of graded questions and practical questions for us to consider how to apply the theory in our own lives.

por Morgan S

Jul 28, 2017

I found a lot of the information repetitive, so there were times where I felt like it was redundant and disliked hearing the same information repeated multiple times. However, the information I learned was useful and helpful. I just think the course could have been more concise.

por Ricardo H S d S C

Sep 08, 2016

It was a great course. In the first to weeks the concepts were not so clear, but after this, the lessons became more clear and everything fit. It gave me really good insights. I look forward for social norms, social change II. Hope it come soon.

por CHILLUMULLA S M

Dec 29, 2016

This is one of the most interesting and interacting course, makes you not to move from your chair. The course prepares the participants to understand the simpler issues in a broader way and serious issues in a simple and straightforward way.

por Franklin H

Aug 03, 2019

The course was engaging, interesting and informative. I learnt a lot of new things but the information was not too high above my normal level of knowledge and I did not need too much extra reading to understand the content.

por Desiree B

Oct 01, 2017

Overall a great course. The lectures where clear and there was a good ballance in reading and listening material. In the future I would like to see a wider diversity of examples used instead of mainly child marriage and OD.

por Anna K

Apr 02, 2020

Good and understandable introduction to the theory of social norms. Examples used are illustrative and helpful. Sometimes, the readings and lectures were repetitive rather than complementary.

por Nik N A S N M

Jul 01, 2020

Solid concepts to dissect collective behaviours and unpack the phenomenons. Helpful examples by UNICEF. Would be better if slides are also included, but overall, great! Thank you, Prof :)

por Maryann F

Apr 28, 2020

Helpful framework for determining how to shift social norms. The detail in which the instructor teases out the nuanced ways to assess why individuals act the way they do is very helpful

por Mai M A E L

Jul 05, 2017

It's useful , it help me to know more about spreading of any norm,custom ,etc and help me to know ways of distinguish it and helping people to differentiate between good and bad one .

por Ricardo R I

Oct 09, 2016

It's very useful. I think at first lectures there is neccesary a synopsis about the concepts and their classification or relation, because as you deep the relation is more confused.

por Sezin I

Jan 09, 2017

I enroll the course just for listening videos and following the readings,

I really enjoyed it, and learned it, it gives another perspective to see the whole community

thanks a lot

por NEHA P

Apr 28, 2020

Good insights about social problems and how various organisations working hard to change mindset of people living in rural areas. Learned new concepts about norms. Good Work!

por Mahesh J

Nov 08, 2016

It was a good course even though it was a bit theoretical. Its a great start for someone who has no background in social norms. I am glad I took this course though

por Natasha

Feb 06, 2017

The course is very detailed, with a strong methology and useful examples. Nevertheless, it wasn't always simple to follow and the last week was very demanding.

por Armand B

Jul 17, 2019

This is a nice course if you want to chose social science field. In terms of Research, you are be able to how to formulates questions based on this course.

por Mira L

Aug 02, 2019

The content was interesting but some parts were repetitive to the point of some confusion. I really enjoyed the new information! Thank you.