Chevron Left
Voltar para Natural Attenuation of Groundwater Contaminants: New Paradigms, Technologies, and Applications

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Natural Attenuation of Groundwater Contaminants: New Paradigms, Technologies, and Applications da instituição Universidade Rice

4.8
estrelas
445 classificações
101 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Cleaning up the large number of groundwater contamination sites is a significant and complex environmental challenge. The environmental industry is continuously looking for remediation methods that are both effective and cost-efficient. Over the past 10 years there have been amazing, important developments in our understanding of key attenuation processes and technologies for evaluating natural attenuation processes, and a changing institutional perspective on when and where Monitored Natural Attenuation (MNA) may be applied. Despite these advances, restoring groundwater contaminated by anthropogenic sources to allow for unrestricted use continues to be a challenge. Because of a complex mix of physical, chemical, and biological constraints associated with active in-situ cleanup technologies, there has been a long standing focus on understanding natural processes that attenuate groundwater contaminant plumes. We will build upon basic environmental science and environmental engineering principles to discover how to best implement MNA as a viable treatment for groundwater contamination plumes. Additionally we will delve into the history behind and make predictions about the new directions for this technology. Any professional working in the environmental remediation industry will benefit from this in-depth study of MNA. We will use lectures, readings, and computational exercises to enhance our understanding and implementation of MNA. At the completion of this course, students will have updated understanding and practical tools that can be applied to all possible MNA sites....

Melhores avaliações

AS
4 de Mar de 2021

the course covers all the important details and the lecturers explained it very well. I started from scratch for this course and was not in touch with chemistry and related fields for half a decade.

FA
18 de Ago de 2020

Excellent course to provide a broad understanding of scientific concepts and current applications of degradation processes and programs critical to modern environmental remediation programs.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 99 Avaliações para o Natural Attenuation of Groundwater Contaminants: New Paradigms, Technologies, and Applications

por Gabriela G B

10 de Set de 2020

I recommend it to anyone interested in remediation of contaminated areas, investigation of contaminated sites and remediation techniques in general. The three teachers were able to bring together technical and academic issues in a smooth and fun way (they have a great sense of humor), but without losing the complexity of the focus. It is a course with many current references that can be applied in Brazilian territory. The course dates back to 2016, but remains very current.

por Alberto D G

29 de Mar de 2020

The course is perfect for those who want to deepen the world of hydrogeology, environmental engineering and pollutant management. in addition, the course covers many interesting topics and gives new and interesting food for thought and deepening.

por Joshua R C

8 de Jul de 2017

Professionally relevant. Lectures had enough bad jokes to be entertaining and keep it interesting. Seems very current with state of practice.

por Mauricio V

6 de Nov de 2016

The course has provided me with a very up-to-date panorama of the current knowledge and considerations over the evalutaion and application of Monitored Natural Attenuation as a remdial option for contaminated sites. It has also explained and commented on many key processes that are involved in attenuation processes, about which the knowledge for those who are participating in the management of a contaminated site is mandatory. Other than that, Drs. Alvarez, Newell and Adamson showed a very good grasp over the topics discussed, with even a few funny and entertaining conversations along the lectures. Overall, an amazing course.

por Rastko P

13 de Abr de 2020

I`ve taken around dozen of various courses (on different platforms) on environmental engineering/protection/management but this one is by far most up-to-date and best organized. Ok, as a hydrogeologist that`s what I expected from this topic, but lecturers really made a difference. Disregarding their obvious personal heterogeneity, their common trait is charisma and the energy they brought to the course and consequently shared with everyone.

I will definitely recommend this course to every open-minded person, in my area of expertise.

por Worku J N

14 de Dez de 2016

This course was really very well organized and comprehensive in its content. The lecturers are excellent expertise on the topic and they are very engaging. It is an absolute deal to take this course for those who are looking to advance their career in the area of subsurface pollutant remediation and research.

Thanks

Worku J Negawo

por Carlos A S V

29 de Nov de 2020

Excellent course, with very pedagogical audiovisual material. I loved the case studies shown in this course. They should change the questions in the quizzes, or at least their order when are repeated. Since one is already predisposed to know the answers when repeating the same quiz several times.

por Krendon R

12 de Jul de 2020

I highly recommend it for a comprehensive understanding of the state of our industry and as proficient remedial investigators and project site managers. I have gained knowledge and confidence through it and I have already begun to apply my newfound understanding of these subsurface interactions.

por Ross C

4 de Abr de 2019

Very interesting and relevant material. Although the examples were primarily in the US technical and regulatory context, the course was nonetheless very informative. I'd thoroughly recommend it for hydrogeologists, geoenvironmental engineers and environmental consultants.

por austin c

23 de Out de 2019

This course was well designed, interesting and challenging. It successfully held my attention and substantially increased my knowledge on MNA, and New Trends in Soil and Groundwater Remediation. I highly recommend this course to anyone in Environmental Consulting!

por Fabiola N D

22 de Ago de 2019

The course has a good content and lectures are very clear and helpful for the learning process. I really like it. The topic is kind of difficult to me, and obviously I didn't catch all the concepts but it will be helpful to me in the future.

por Peyman H R

26 de Abr de 2020

Tons of information is what you get from this course. If you are working on or studying groundwater / remediation then you should take this course. Brilliantly done by wonderful staff of GSI and Rice University.

Many thanks to them.

por John R A R

12 de Mai de 2019

It really is an advance course that requires the learner to have previous knowledge regarding biology, chemistry, physics, geology, and fluid and soil mechanics to be able to follow with the discussions.

por Anugya S

5 de Mar de 2021

the course covers all the important details and the lecturers explained it very well. I started from scratch for this course and was not in touch with chemistry and related fields for half a decade.

por Fazla Z A

19 de Ago de 2020

Excellent course to provide a broad understanding of scientific concepts and current applications of degradation processes and programs critical to modern environmental remediation programs.

por Mike H

6 de Nov de 2016

Excellent course to provide a broad understanding of scientific concepts and current applications of degradation processes and programs critical to modern environmental remediation programs.

por Rodrigo V V

1 de Abr de 2018

The course was very interesting, a lot of information in short sessions. It improved my understanding of contaminants in GW and I really like that there’s a spark of humor in the lectures.

por Emrah D

2 de Abr de 2020

The knowledge I have gained as a hydrogeology engineer cannot be ignored. I would like to thank you very much for explaining the topics and for demonstrating their applications.

por Daniel M E

1 de Nov de 2016

Great overview of contaminant hydrogeology. It is focused mainly in hydrocarbons and chlorinated solvents, but the methodologies ara applicable in many other situations.

por Reena C

13 de Jun de 2020

This course is apt for all those researchers interested in well compiled knowledge about what's latest happening in the field of groundwater remediation technologies.

por Gulzhan D

12 de Dez de 2020

An excellent course for a broad understanding of scientific concepts and modern applications of groundwater treatment and environmental remediation processes.

por Raul P S

21 de Jul de 2018

Amazing, interesting and entertaining course delivered by some of the best in their field. Highly recommendable. Well done and keep up the great work!

por Umesh C

15 de Ago de 2018

This course is very informative and very good for environmental engineers . It gives the insight of the natural attenuation of groundwater.

por Deivid M

29 de Jul de 2017

Great course!!! It really helped me understand a lot of interesting topics of natural attenuation that I've been dealing with at my job.

por vasanth r

3 de Dez de 2021

A fun and informative course. Best way to develop a interest towards MNA! The course videos are superb fun and I enjoyed it thoroughly