Chevron Left
Voltar para Os Conflitos Constitucionais no Mundo Mulçumano

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Os Conflitos Constitucionais no Mundo Mulçumano da instituição Universidade de Copenhague

4.8
estrelas
652 classificações
198 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Learn what motivates the restive Muslim youth from Tunis to Tehran, what political positions Islamists from Mali to Chechnya are fighting for, where the seeming obsession with Islamic law comes from, where the secularists have vanished to, and whether it makes sense to speak of an Islamic state. Since 2009 there has been a renewed wave of popular unrest sweeping throughout much of the Muslim world. Secular, but generally repressive and inefficient autocracies have come under pressure or been swept aside entirely. At the same, the various Islamic Republics have not fared much better, but been convulsed by internal unrest, economic and social decline. Throughout the Muslim lands, existing constitutional arrangements are being challenged, often very violently. This course is a survey of the constitutional ideas and institutions that have developed since the mid 19th century throughout predominantly Muslim countries, but its focus will lie on the actors that have dominated this discourse and shaped its outcomes. We will look at the large body of classical writings on the Islamic state only in so far as it is necessary to understand the contemporary debate, but concentrate on the legal and political developments of the 20th and 21st centuries. Three common themes will characterise the course:  We privilege the study of the legal and social reality and seek to highlight where it is at odds with dogmatic stipulations, be they religious or constitutional.  We seek to illustrate the practical tensions posed by limited administrative capabilities and political legitimacy that resulted from the incomplete reception of modern bureaucratic statehood.  We seek to examine how popular dissatisfaction with the practical performance of Muslim governments has fuelled demands for greater accountability under the guise of cultural authenticity.  Ultimately, the course aims to equip participants to better understand Muslim contemporary discourse about the res publica, better contextualise the demands for religious law in public life, and to better ascertain the theoretical and practical feasibility of postulated religious alternatives to the still-dominant secular model of governance....

Melhores avaliações

LP
21 de Nov de 2015

This course is really interesting and informative. It gave me a much better understanding for the history and politics behind some of the issues we are all facing today, and really broadened my mind.

NP
27 de Dez de 2015

The course was good. But the real situation has been changing drastically. A supplement or extension of course is required to cover the up to date situation about IS activities, syria Iraq etc.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 195 Avaliações para o Os Conflitos Constitucionais no Mundo Mulçumano

por Olaf D

3 de Dez de 2015

This is most interesting course where I truly learn a lot and get new insights. Prof. Afsah is a wonderful teacher, I do enjoy every minute of this course!

por soren s

22 de Abr de 2020

A very comprehensive course indeed, which ideally, should be mandatory reading for anyone engaing with this potentially floroushing part of the world.

por Carolina B

28 de Jul de 2016

It's a great chance so we get to know important topics that we know very little about! Proffesor Ebrahim is a professional at the topic. Thanks a lot!

por Grace E

15 de Ago de 2017

Great class, the instructor gave a nuances and constructive overview of the different patterns of governance in different Muslim majority countries.

por David L N

8 de Jun de 2016

It has been, by far, the best Coursera course that I have taken (I'm in the middle currently). I'm learning a lot more than I expected. Thanks!

por Tristan G

31 de Mar de 2016

Dr. Ebrahim Afsah is a extraordinary Jurist and well informed about the middle east and the muslim world! I learned a lot it is so worthy! :)

por Dhananjay S

5 de Jul de 2020

A great introductory course for understanding the Muslim world. And many of the current geopolitical / socio-economic problems of the world.

por sweyshenchen

26 de Nov de 2015

well reasoned and thoughtful, and good reading materials handed out for studies. The whole structure and organization is compreshensive

por Glenda T

23 de Fev de 2016

Excelente presentación e información, especialmente para los que vivimos en CA y casi no tenemos acceso a estos temas cotidianamente

por Hala S

10 de Dez de 2015

Simply superb. Excellent instructor and fascinating topic. Many thanks for the professor and his staff for all the time and effort.

por SYED A H

27 de Mai de 2020

A complex yet intresting course which made me end up having more questions and opened my knowledge to the issues in the arab world

por Zakareya M S

22 de Dez de 2015

It is a fascinating and interesting course, and it helped me a lot understand different circumstances of various Muslim countries.

por shishir

23 de Ago de 2016

excellent introduction to the political and social issues that the Muslim and indeed the world at large is still resolving

por Luis C T S

13 de Ago de 2017

I am studying International Relations and this course is an excellent option for me to learn more about the muslim world.

por Инна В

31 de Jan de 2018

Awesome course! Highly informative, analytical and covering a huge span of contrioversial issues in atactful manner.

por Muhammad Z B A M

13 de Jun de 2016

I loved this course. Informative but the only complain i have is the duration of lectures which can get long-winded.

por Daithi M W

13 de Abr de 2016

A fantastic course: immensely interesting, well-presented, relevant to the modern world, and very thought-provoking.

por Juan L P

21 de Ago de 2016

Excelente, el mejor de los seis que he hecho en coursera

Excellent, the best of the six that I have done in Coursera

por Regina Z

11 de Ago de 2016

Excellent Course. It can help you to better understand a region with a complicated past and a troubled presence.

por Irfan M

17 de Nov de 2015

Impressive analysis. This will truly push the intelligentsia to understand the core problems and ask questions.

por K M

3 de Jan de 2017

This course is very comprehensive and eye opening. Concrete historical information but also very theoretical.

por potsang

10 de Out de 2016

Lectures are long but provide very useful information for all that want to know more about the Muslim world.

por Shana

3 de Nov de 2015

So far, an educational and enlightening course about the Muslim world and how it came to be as it is today.

por Armando B M

21 de Jun de 2019

Excelent!!! Promotes knowledge about a very ignored region of the world. Very satisfying and rewarding!!!

por shakiba b

25 de Fev de 2016

It has been an enlightening course that gives us a much more deeper insight into the Muslim World issues.