Chevron Left
Voltar para Musicianship: Chord Charts, Diatonic Chords, and Minor Keys

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Musicianship: Chord Charts, Diatonic Chords, and Minor Keys da instituição Faculdade Berklee de Música

4.9
324 classificações
82 avaliações

Sobre o curso

After a tremendous response from learners on Coursera, Berklee Online has created a Developing Your Musicianship specialization, and this course is the second course in the series. If you have a basic knowledge of music theory or if you have completed Developing Your Musicianship I, this course will continue to help you understand key musical concepts, enabling you to create and perform contemporary music. Taught by Berklee College of Music professor George W. Russell, Jr., the course includes four lessons that delve into the next level of harmony and ear training. The course will introduce you to new key signatures, including minor tonalities, and how they are constructed. You will train your ear to hear minor intervals and 7th chords. You will learn how to build 7th chords, and how to build common chord progressions. You will also learn the major pentatonic scale and how to construct melodies using this scale. The course culminates with an assignment that asks you to compose and perform an 8-measure composition using popular chord progressions and the Major pentatonic scale. Just like Developing Your Musicianship I, the course is designed to impart the joy of creating music and sharing it with others....

Melhores avaliações

MA

Jul 29, 2019

Instructor is charming, didactic, and very fun to listen. Concepts are explained gradually and clearly. You definitely need some prior knowledge, so don't take this as your first music course.

HH

Feb 16, 2017

very cool professor ..feel so happy and good to see you smile while teaching sir.\n\nit was great learning all the music concepts with you in musicianship 2\n\nvery well designed.thank you

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Musicianship: Chord Charts, Diatonic Chords, and Minor Keys

por Jonathan C I

Dec 25, 2018

This course is False and Deceptive Advertising from both coursera and berklee because it lists the level of experience as beginner and "takes 3-5 hr/week" of homework. This is absolutely false and deceptive. It takes far more experience and more hours of work per week than just "3-5". I sent feedback to coursera support about this and they directly admitted that the work was purposely listed that way to attract more students to sign up for the class even though they would not be able to finish properly, /and/ they said they would not change this to reflect the reality of the course. FALSE ADVERTISING. If you can get past that, the course content and structure is very good...but it is impossible to accomplish without experience and more anywhere from 10-25 hours per week (no exaggeration) of homework. 25 hours per week means: 1 hr practice per day, 1 hr study per day (that's 14 hrs per week) PLUS about 4-8 hours on average for the weekly project (more, for the final project).

por Enrico I

Apr 22, 2019

clear and easy to follow

por María J C B

Jan 25, 2019

I love professor Russell's style and simplicity! Mandatory fun :D This course has helped me finally "click" years of theory as a working musician.

por Deleted A

Feb 07, 2019

This course was a lot of work, and at times I thought I was in over my head, but I stuck with it, and I am so glad that I did. I felt extremely accomplished when I finished composing my 8-Measure Song for the final. I was able to not only create the music, but I was also able to correctly notate it, which is something that I had been struggling with.

por wang p

Feb 02, 2019

太牛了!

和这个老师学用不了多长时间就能写歌!

por Karina C

Dec 06, 2018

Amazing course for beginners!!!

por Théo T

Jan 07, 2019

Amazing!

por Sveinbjorn O

Feb 04, 2019

Cool stuff.

por DOUGLAS E O C

Feb 04, 2019

It´s an excellent course and the teacher is very good teacher.

por Rai S S

Feb 13, 2019

rocks!!!

por Ash L

Mar 11, 2019

Absolutely incredible! Super helpful!

por Jonathan P

Oct 07, 2018

Awesome stuff!

por Алена К

Oct 16, 2018

It is amazing! Useful and fun.

por Konstantin V

Oct 28, 2018

As always great job,and thanks a lot to Professor George Jr., he makes everything so simple. Of course, it`s a hard course, but it works.There were some minor mistake(in my opinion) in one of week 4 videos, where professors tell the progression, and says they are seventh chords, but in fact first chord is seventh, but other are usual triads with doubled roots.But it`s a credit to him, that he teached me to understand this.And in one of tests, when there was G-major 161 1451 progressin(it`s week 3 I believe or so), the in the third bar C7 chord doesn`t have E, but it has D. And Carolina Hengstenberg is a great teaching assitant,credit to her=)

por khush

Nov 03, 2018

Awesome

por Sofia R F

Nov 09, 2018

perfect course.

por Mayara S F M

Jun 12, 2017

Great Course!

por Erik P

Mar 31, 2018

I've grown so much musically thanks to this course and the professor.. I feel more confident reading sheet music and hearing musicians talk about music, chords, progressions, etc...

As someone getting into music writing and production I would recommend you use MuseScore to write your later note notation, to save time.

por Carina G

Aug 13, 2017

Great course! Great teacher! Highly recommended!

por Leo A

Apr 20, 2017

George Russell is a blessing. He gave me so much hope for music. I didn't know ANYTHING about piano before his course, now, I have already written about 5 songs with a band.

Mr. Russell is so concise and makes it SO EASY to learn. I would fly to Berklee JUST to take a lesson with him.

Angels come in many forms. Mr. Russell is definitely one of them.

Thank you Mr. Russell.

Leo A.

por Paulo R

Dec 28, 2016

Excellent contents and format, with a balanced relation between theory and practice. Highs for the teacher and the ear training focus.

por Andres B

Jun 09, 2017

de lujo DELUXE!!!

por Odysseas T

Feb 25, 2017

At the beginning I wasn't sure about the teacher but he turned out to be amazing!

por Robert B

May 28, 2018

A

v

e

r

y

p

l

e

a

s

a

n

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

w

i

t

h

a

n

e

q

u

a

l

l

y

p

l

e

a

s

a

n

t

i

n

s

t

r

u

c

t

o

r

.

I

l

e

a

r

n

t

s

o

m

u

c

h

a

b

o

u

t

t

h

e

structure of chords and now really understand the meaning of Diatonic Chords. I will not hesitate to recommend this course

por Bradley

Mar 31, 2018

Great course. A little more work than the first course in this series, but still pretty comfortable in terms of time committed per week. The final project is fun, and really pulls together a lot of the concepts. Professor George Russell Jr. is fantastic. He's enthusiastic, and describes the material well. Plenty of repeating of material to make sure it sticks. Also, the onscreen visuals (scales, chords where appropriate) are well done.