Chevron Left
Voltar para Getting Started With Music Theory

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Getting Started With Music Theory da instituição Universidade Estadual de Michigan

4.5
estrelas
685 classificações
249 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course is a brief introduction to the elements of music theory for those with little or no music theory experience. We will explore pitch, rhythm, meter, notation, scales, keys, key signatures, meter signatures, triads, seventh chords, and basic harmony. If you listen to music or play music by ear, and you want to know more about how music is organized and notated, this course is for you. By the end of the course, you should know all major and minor keys, how to read and write in treble and bass clef using standard meters and rhythmic values, and how to notate and harmonize a simple melody. This course can serve as a stand-alone basic music theory course, or it can be a springboard to more advanced theory and composition courses. Your instructor is Bruce Taggart, Associate Professor of Music Theory at Michigan State University, in the College of Music, where he has taught undergraduate and graduate music theory since 1996....

Melhores avaliações

WV

20 de ago de 2020

Course was quite tough , eventually I had given up on this course, but consistency made me learn and I went through rigorous learning in finding the chords and middle C notes. Yes I made it in the end

CM

22 de jul de 2020

Fantastic lectures and very easy-to-understand, hard to master lessons. This course will leave you with a much deeper understanding of music if you are a beginner to music theory like I am.

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de 248 Avaliações para o Getting Started With Music Theory

por Angelika

15 de jul de 2017

I'm very pleased with this course, although you have to keep in mind that it's packed with lots of information, which can be a lot for a beginner.

por Marco A A Z

8 de mai de 2020

Good course with really good and clear explanations but you really need to learn fast the concepts to continue with each module.

por Tai C

13 de mai de 2020

One of the most difficult but very well done courses out there for anyone with 0 knowledge.

por Hossein S

16 de dez de 2020

It was awesome at first, but it got a little fast and low in quality at the end.

por Outa J

5 de jun de 2022

A very good course for beginners who want to learn music theory

por 梁司其

21 de abr de 2018

thanks for this course, which introduces me to the music theory

por Devis G

1 de dez de 2019

Love this course, gives a 360 degree of music basic knowledge

por Graeme H

10 de abr de 2018

Good, but fairly basic. Useful overview or re-introduction.

por Eric A

2 de mai de 2017

Very useful for a novice! Well explained music principles.

por Caterina F

11 de set de 2017

Very good course! I really enjoyed it! I reccomend it!

por Katherine M F

11 de ago de 2021

i like but for a started it a little hard to catch up

por Angel A A D

19 de jun de 2017

It's too short to get all the info in so little time

por Red S

21 de ago de 2020

some question during the videos didn't appear well

por Tushar M

24 de jul de 2020

This is a amaging course and very helpful.

por Varvara P

25 de nov de 2017

Very well structured and methodical

por Ferry K

10 de mai de 2020

Good Music Theory

por Delphine C

17 de ago de 2020

Really enjoyable

por Alageswaran J

30 de jun de 2020

Very Advanced.

por Ivan W H

1 de jun de 2020

good intro

por Chaitra

3 de ago de 2020

Overall, a good introduction to music theory. I enjoyed the course, and am excited to apply it in practice. Cons: a few parts felt not so beginner-friendly (where we're expected to know certain things by ear). I also think the part about meter & time signatures was a bit rushed. For that section, it was difficult to do the assignments based on the limited things taught in the video. I think it would be clearer to beginners if more examples were worked through, and the quiz did not ask things outside of what was taught it in class.

por Angeliki T

19 de abr de 2021

Overall, it was a really great course, where I gained much deep knowledge on music and how it works. However, I don't think this course suits for someone who has NO experience on music as it doesn't explain theory thoroughly in order for someone completely new to understand it. If I didn't have some basic knowledge I wouldn't have made it through.

por Rhody A

27 de abr de 2020

There's a lot of assumption that the learner just simply "knows" what the lecturer is talking about. If I hadn't had my spouse to bounce these ides off of, I don't know for sure if I would've comprehended everything. That being said, I still learned a lot, but that's because I'm very dedicated and driven to learn this stuff!

por Thomas L S

12 de set de 2020

I learned a lot, but the course could be better. I would have liked to have a text or written material that I could have referenced or followed along in. As it was, I used two computers. In many modules, the answer box would appear and cover the question, so I would skip the question.

por K.O S

25 de jul de 2020

Not sure I would call this a beginner-friendly course. I went in with zero knowledge and unable to read sheet music and struggled all throughout the course. Definitely learn how to read Treble and Bass clef staves before you take this. Being good at math will also help.

por Yikun C

16 de ago de 2020

Sometimes the course feels too theoretical. Not recommend if you have zero music education background/experience in playing an instrument.