Chevron Left
Voltar para Getting Started With Music Theory

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Getting Started With Music Theory da instituição Universidade Estadual de Michigan

4.5
estrelas
689 classificações
249 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course is a brief introduction to the elements of music theory for those with little or no music theory experience. We will explore pitch, rhythm, meter, notation, scales, keys, key signatures, meter signatures, triads, seventh chords, and basic harmony. If you listen to music or play music by ear, and you want to know more about how music is organized and notated, this course is for you. By the end of the course, you should know all major and minor keys, how to read and write in treble and bass clef using standard meters and rhythmic values, and how to notate and harmonize a simple melody. This course can serve as a stand-alone basic music theory course, or it can be a springboard to more advanced theory and composition courses. Your instructor is Bruce Taggart, Associate Professor of Music Theory at Michigan State University, in the College of Music, where he has taught undergraduate and graduate music theory since 1996....

Melhores avaliações

WV

20 de ago de 2020

Course was quite tough , eventually I had given up on this course, but consistency made me learn and I went through rigorous learning in finding the chords and middle C notes. Yes I made it in the end

CM

22 de jul de 2020

Fantastic lectures and very easy-to-understand, hard to master lessons. This course will leave you with a much deeper understanding of music if you are a beginner to music theory like I am.

Filtrar por:

226 — 248 de 248 Avaliações para o Getting Started With Music Theory

por MayTweTarMyintAung

21 de set de 2020

I wish the explanations would be more simple and more understandable. Anyhow, now I know a lot about basic music theory.

por Rachel T

8 de mai de 2020

Definitely more advanced than a beginner course.

por killeraj t

25 de jul de 2020

Confusing but informative

por Rickard S J

29 de dez de 2019

so far

por Caroline B

4 de mai de 2020

Flies through the beginner-level basics and too-quickly goes into complicated notation. Quizzes interrupt the lectures at sometimes illogical points, and the tests have too high of a passing grade with very tough questions for the length and quality of explanation of the lesson content.

Teacher is very knowledgeable and the pace and examples are good... if you can follow what is going on without much of a base to build on. Lessons are broken out into short videos with one topic at a time which makes the duration not overwhelming even if the content can be.

por Tamora K

13 de out de 2018

The instructor made a number of assumptions that were not outlined in the description of the course. It was assumed that the students would be auditory learners. It was assumed that the students would be uninterested in or afraid of the mathematical side of music theory.

I expected a more mathematical approach to the topic of music theory and I kept waiting for explanations that were never presented. There were some links provided to musictheory.net, and that site was a better resource than the class lectures.

por Paul F

28 de fev de 2021

A lot of decent material, but there's not enough explanation for earlier concepts, and a lot of the quizzes in the video are very poorly formatted, making it impossible to answer correctly. There's also very little activity on the forums, so when you get stuck, you're completely on your own. Nice to audit, but not worth the cost.

por Nashra A

11 de mai de 2020

I had to read more and see more tutorials to solve the quizzes. The videos provided weren't enough, especially for the last week

por Frances O

9 de out de 2021

The course is not for beginners. It seems to way advanced for beginners.

por Noah D

16 de abr de 2021

Incomplete and incorrect explanations of some basic concepts.

por Jessica M

19 de abr de 2020

Does not feel like it is for Beginners

por Diana B

3 de jun de 2021

I hope someone was able to get some understanding of chords in a mere 15 minutes, I would not recommend this course, but I'm sure it's not going anywhere anytime soon. Good Luck to all who risk taking this course.

por Peter B

16 de jul de 2020

This course brushes very quick over most topics. It doesn't go fully into depth, and the teaching is very hard to follow if you don't already know something about the taught topics.

por Carlos I B O

23 de ago de 2020

El profesor es pésimo!! sera un. gran músico pero muy mal profesor ! muy dicidil entenderle , se le recomienda. ver las. clases de Theodorus de Berkeley

por Maico C

29 de out de 2019

Payment requirement at the end of the quiz? I'll pay later, but I want to know the course. All the courses I'm doing let me pay in the end.

por Kristina K

20 de mai de 2020

Very simplified explanations that are often simple to the point of being incorrect.

por Mirunalini G

14 de set de 2020

the quizzes are quite difficult that we can't judge what answer they are expecting

por David S

2 de fev de 2022

Not for beginners at all. I was lost within the first few minutes.

por Mal F

13 de out de 2020

I hate this course I cant pay for a diploma so why continue

por Martin O

11 de mai de 2019

Audio exercises not loading no matter which device I use.

por Didier N

12 de jul de 2020

The theory does not take beginners in consideration

por VISHVAS J K

1 de abr de 2021

This is not beginner frindly course.

por Akshay S

9 de abr de 2020

Sadlly this is not for beginners! :(