Chevron Left
Voltar para How Music Can Change Your Life

Comentários e feedback de alunos de How Music Can Change Your Life da instituição Universidade de Melbourne

4.6
91 classificações
31 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever wonder how music works? This course provides free video, audio and journal resources that explain six basic principles about how music can influence individual and community health and wellbeing. From biology and neuroscience, to psychotherapy and politics, the ways we engage with music can make all the difference. Music has always played an integral role in the lives of individuals and communities all around the globe. This course explores the ways that music can be used to achieve positive changes with a particular emphasis on the most vulnerable persons. Six different understandings will be explored, each with their own set of values and assumptions. The greatest thinkers in each approach believe that their way of explaining the power of music is right, but we will show that understanding music in its entirety delivers the best results in each unique circumstance. Once we understand the various ways that music can change the world, we can make informed decisions about how best to employ its extraordinary power. Learners who engage in this MOOC can expect to both deepen and broaden their understanding of how music can be used with individuals, groups and communities. Specifically: • To distinguish between how music works on the body, in the brain, through the unconscious, for bonding, as political action and in reflecting culture, • To design practical programs that utilise music to support individuals, groups and communities based on examples shared in the ‘on-site’ case studies. View the MOOC promotional video here: http://tinyurl.com/jnde3w3...

Melhores avaliações

LY

Feb 04, 2018

wonderfully insightful and completely inspiring! I gained so much from the course and am excited to apply why I have learned in my work context!

SP

Oct 17, 2016

What an amazing course and very productive study materials. Thank you, this really added a lot to my professional development skills.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o How Music Can Change Your Life

por Rosalinde K

Feb 01, 2018

A broad view on how music can benefit the wellbeing of people, through different angles. Clearly, professional, enthousiastic and inspiring!

por annette b

Apr 25, 2019

A wonderful course for anyone wanting an insight into this view and committet to music.

por Montserrat C B

Mar 28, 2019

Este curso me ha parecido sensacional. Muy útil para tener una idea global sobre los beneficios que puede tener la música sobre nosotros. Aporta una selección de recursos de gran valor, tales como artículos, vídeos... Sus creadores se han esmerado en la confección de este curso estructurando muy bien los contenidos, preparando con esmero las actividades, etc.

por Sanjeevani J

Jan 08, 2019

True to it's title, the course comprehensively covers all the possible ways music affects us. Studying it became one of the reasons that triggered me into Musicology. I not only went on to graduate with a master's degree in Musicology, now my professional life revolves around music in education and wellbeing. An excellent course; strongly recommend it to anyone who's exploring ways to delve deeper into music beyond performance.

por Hannah A

Dec 11, 2018

The course was the perfect way to get introduced to the many ways music therapy can impact our lives. Absolutely inspired. (:

por Belén M

Oct 27, 2018

I am loving the course eventhough I think it is too specialized and I can not work as a Music Therapy just with this course. It is a complementary course to people studing music, music therapy or any kind of fisiotherapy. The materials are great and very clear!

por Edwardo V

Sep 12, 2018

I really enjoyed reading and listening to the articles about music. Some of them, to me, seem as common sense, but the extensive readings showed me about a world that I have yet to see. I listen to music from different cultures, but now I have a better understanding about the music and its meaning and form. The music of other culture's diversity contributed to the making of the world. That is, a jig saw puzzle of different communities joined together to form on great world. Thank you.

por Stefania C

Apr 12, 2018

This course is extremely interesting, complete and deepens so many aspects of music and musicking!

it provides a lot of extremely accurate and recent literature and testimonies, and opens your mind to so many aspects and possibilities for applying care through music, both individually and collectively. Every dimension, from the psychoanalytic to the socio-political one, is integrated and presented with seriousness and completeness. It also invites you to deepen the topics and combine them with your personal experience.

For not native speaker it's maybe a bit challenging but it is a challenge worth dealing with.

por Lim Z Y

Feb 04, 2018

wonderfully insightful and completely inspiring! I gained so much from the course and am excited to apply why I have learned in my work context!

por Anna

Feb 01, 2018

Can we follow this up with a degree in Music Therapy online?

por Pamela P

Jan 26, 2018

Very good inspirational class. Well organized with good examples and guest lecturers.

por Bella N

Dec 19, 2017

thank you

por Laura M C

Aug 06, 2017

Amazing! Everyone should do it...Very clear, serious and fun!

por Roberto B

Aug 03, 2017

Superb!!!! Great material. I´ve done several course on ¨Coursera¨and this is by far the top one.The

information and resource provided was such interesting as revealing. Tools you can use from day one! All the course is well structured: videos, audios, pdfs, extra material online... you get so far as you want. Great interviews with currently leaders on Topic. Just Thanks!!!

por Koos J

Jul 23, 2017

Excellent course. Treat yourself to this gem.

por Laci H

Jul 04, 2017

This course is extremely informational and useful.

por Theodoros P

May 27, 2017

A very informative lesson for all of us who teach music to all ages and people with special needs.

por E F

Apr 19, 2017

It is the most complete Music Therapy Online course I have ever seen.

por Pankaj B

Mar 30, 2017

Very informative and put it across very well, covered almost every aspects of music as a tool and can be apply to heal anything, i think this course will be more successful if people like me and us who all participating and learning about How music change life, and not only limiting this knowledge to us but share and spread awareness about How music actually can change life in real, I would be glade to conduct workshop explaining and share everything i learn from this course.

por Michelle S

Feb 07, 2017

This was a wonderfully developed overview of music therapy. The instructors were knowledgeable and their interviews engaging to watch. The plethora of information between the videos, writings and articles were second to none. Well done! Clearly a lot of effort on the part of the instructors. My only difficulty was that for the final assignment, I had so many things running through my head that I had to narrow down and focus what I wanted to present. I could have written a dozen different scenarios with all the information I gathered from this course. It was well worth my time and money for the certificate. I would love to take a followup course.

por Sheryl C R

Jan 20, 2017

The information was very valuable. It's a very interesting field. I could related after having art therapy. If I would have to do anything in that field and psychology, music therapist is top of the list.

por Lorraine M

Oct 23, 2016

Loved the outline of the various areas where music has a strong effect: body, mind, psyche, relationships, community, and culture. I really enjoyed the videos by Dr. McFerrin. She provides excellent overviews of the issues at hand. I also loved learning about the different perspectives coming from presenters from all over the world. This really enriched the overview of research in the field. I would have given it 5 stars except for the fact that the title is very general and therefore a bit misleading. This course has a very strong Musical Therapy slant which is not obvious from the title. I was expecting to learn more about the scientific research about music on the general population (similar to Amelia Collins' approach or the research in Stacy Horn's book "Imperfect Harmony", not in a therapeutic setting. Anyway, if the organisers change the title then participants will know better what to expect.

por Sindhu N

Oct 19, 2016

Very interesting course! Learnt a lot from it.

por Shreeti P

Oct 17, 2016

What an amazing course and very productive study materials. Thank you, this really added a lot to my professional development skills.

por Rodrigo L E

Oct 15, 2016

Complete and extensive, with a great quality of materials. I liked the fact that we had to work on research articles, and the variety of approaches to different ways to use music in social contexts. I consider I have learned a lot.