Chevron Left
Voltar para Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus da instituição Imperial College London

4.7
estrelas
4,775 classificações
850 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Melhores avaliações

DP
25 de Nov de 2018

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

JT
12 de Nov de 2018

Excellent course. I completed this course with no prior knowledge of multivariate calculus and was successful nonetheless. It was challenging and extremely interesting, informative, and well designed.

Filtrar por:

826 — 850 de 853 Avaliações para o Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

por Alkis G

14 de Jul de 2019

There is a decent space for course improvement.

por prudhvi

23 de Jun de 2019

week 6 content is not clear at least for me .

por Ahmad A

22 de Fev de 2021

Too many Assignments and Quizzes to pass

por สิทธิพร แ

12 de Jun de 2020

Week 5 and 6 Lecture quite poor

por Leigh F

29 de Mai de 2019

Concepts not clearly explained.

por Aviv P

6 de Dez de 2018

many topic were explained badly

por Vivek P D

10 de Set de 2019

Explanation is not in depth

por Mahmoud T

30 de Mar de 2020

Dr.Sam Cooper is the best.

por Yap C Y

14 de Mar de 2021

need more explanations

por Abdelftah M

5 de Abr de 2020

Change the bald man.

por Rishabh J

8 de Mar de 2019

Not very challenging

por Reena J

5 de Dez de 2020

contents Are Useful

por Tianchi M (

4 de Jul de 2018

NOT VERY SYSTEMATIC

por itwipsy17

17 de Abr de 2020

It's nice

por Alexander M

23 de Jan de 2020

.,

por Alois H

18 de Fev de 2021

The material is great and very relevant to anything connected to data science, however, I didn't enjoy this course half as much as the first in the series.

It's way too dense, things appearing on the screen where it's not clear where they're coming from, explanations feel scripted and read out at high speed, frequently unclear.

If you're using screen shots for taking notes (as I do), that's not ideal either because they're writing on a glass pane while they're standing behind it.

I'm working full-time and had to take this course stretched out over a long time. Again, the presentation being so dense doesn't help there either.

All in all it feels like a published first draft of the course, it doesn't seem the instructors are trying to improve the course at all.

por norlesh

30 de Mai de 2021

T​here is a total disconnect between what is 'taught' in the videos and what is tested in the questions, and no reference to any written material meaning the student is required to go and learn the tested material somwhere else in order to pass... Perhaps it is good for screening those that have the knowledge, but it is rubbish for teaching it.

por Paul K M

24 de Out de 2019

I am not sure if this course is for people who know calc, and want to learn python coding or people who know coding and want to learn some calc? Frankly it isn't a great course for either group. I knew some calc, and some python going in, and I did expand my knowledge and gain some useful practice. But it left me craving rigor.

por Priscilla V A

27 de Mar de 2021

It's hard for me to do the coding since the course video doesn't provide any coding or any supplemental reading

por Mohammed A A

17 de Jul de 2020

you must first give e more example and intuition

por Indira P

24 de Mar de 2021

Sorry but it is hard to understand

por Mariya O

6 de Mar de 2020

I am extremely disappointed with these classes... if you think you would learn something/ especially as a beginner/, well, you won't...material is not well organized and presented, topics jump from one place to another, the quiz and assignments have nothing to do with the lectures...nothing is well explained...you could get more information/explanation from wikipedia ...if you are here so you can get a certificate- do it...but you are here to actually learn something- run away, you can learn more for free from Khan Academy lectures.

por Steve

5 de Ago de 2020

The ideas the course hopes to present are good and relevant but the presentations are so poor that most of my learning of the material came from finding outside sources like Khan Academy. Often, important new ideas were roughly and quickly explained with not enough detail to give the student the intuitions needed for understanding. Often the practice quizes asked questions that were not properly covered in the videos so you need to go to the forums or elsewhere to gain the understanding needed.

por Hendrik V

5 de Nov de 2020

The time required is not realistic. Had to put in exponentially more hours than suggested. Instructors are not involved in the course. You ask a question and in a couple weeks another student might help.

por Kimberely C

27 de Dez de 2019

Definitely, not for beginners. Just as bad as the last one. They need to have more examples, which walk you through the ones like they give you on the homework as well as an example of how to do Python.