Chevron Left
Voltar para Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus da instituição Imperial College London

4.7
estrelas
2,496 classificações
386 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Melhores avaliações

DP

Nov 26, 2018

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

JT

Nov 13, 2018

Excellent course. I completed this course with no prior knowledge of multivariate calculus and was successful nonetheless. It was challenging and extremely interesting, informative, and well designed.

Filtrar por:

351 — 375 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

por Paulo G

Nov 29, 2018

great content, but the grader software needs some improvement

por Harsh D

Jun 03, 2019

Awesome course, just wish it had more info on hessian.

por Mark R

Jan 03, 2019

Good grounding in fundermental material needed for ML

por William S

Jan 11, 2020

Weeks 1-4 were great, 5-6 felt rushed and confusing

por Shariq A

Dec 25, 2019

Good course ..but need to elaborate a little more

por mnavidad

Nov 25, 2018

This course was super hard but worth it...

por Eric G

Jul 17, 2019

A brief but also very in-depth course

por sreekar

Oct 23, 2018

Great instruction and good materials.

por Julia K

Oct 06, 2019

A challenging but exciting course!

por danthedoubleD

Mar 14, 2019

hopefully it is useful

por Philip A

May 16, 2019

Excellent Instruction

por Stathis

Oct 19, 2019

Good refresher

por Hemant D K

Dec 17, 2018

Its good.

por henry c

Jan 20, 2020

It is ok

por Prof(Dr) S R

Aug 25, 2019

nice

por Long Q

Oct 10, 2018

g

por Maksim U

Jan 03, 2019

I did learn quite a lot throughout the course. The problem is that most of my knowledge came from elsewhere while the explanations by the course instructors were quite unclear till I referred to extra resources. At the same time, some other explanations were on the obvious side, so I'd say the instructions are kind of inconsistent in their difficulty. The real-life examples were relly good though. The same concerns the quizzes, some are absolutely great and intuitive, while the others just leave you puzzled about what you are even expected to do with no extra info offered when failed.

The course is kind of sloppier than the first one and the reviews say the third one is even worse, so I won't be doing it.

Finally, I cannot even complete the last graded assignment and get my certificate as well as some other learners because the thing just throws an error all the time. There is zero reaction from the crew that is supposed to be moderating the forums.

All in all, a fine "guideline" course. But do not expect to be presented much inside the course itself.

por Oliver K

Feb 01, 2020

The first few weeks were a great introduction to derivatives, but the further it got the more the content seemed rushed and the exercises lazy. I will now go back and read secondary literature to really understand those parts, and not just calculate derivatives over and over. Samuel was a fantastic instructor though, kudos!

por Marcin

Aug 13, 2018

It's one of the toughest things that I've done in my life. The content is really interesting and applicable, but at times you might get stuck with quizzes or assignments because there is not enough guidance given. All in all, I'd recommend this course to everyone working in analytics.

por Sam C

Apr 17, 2018

A quick short introduction to multivariate calculus and few machine learning techniques, but without much detail mathematical proofs for some ideas. It's a maybe good introductory course for beginners of calculus. Not recommended for learns who seek for details of ideas.

por Yi Z

Aug 03, 2018

Such a easy course, if you totally a novice in multi-variables calculus, you could take this course, Whereas, if you are familiar with calculus, it will be quite easy for you.

I hope more programming assignment about Machine Learning

por Alfred S

Jan 13, 2019

Course would be prefect if there would not be technical issues with opening notebooks. It slows me down by 1 week. But content was really relevant to ML.

por MAYANK G

Jul 04, 2018

Role of discussion forum is very less. Please improve on that to have healthy participation. Otherwise, course content is really good.

por Nabijonov K T

Dec 07, 2019

first 4 weeks were good. Starting from week 5 course explanation was bad. Was required to watch other videos.

por Lieu Z H

Nov 18, 2019

Lecture videos are quite sparse, and the quizzes test things that they don't teach you in the lecture