Chevron Left
Voltar para Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus da instituição Imperial College London

4.7
estrelas
4,874 classificações
870 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Melhores avaliações

DP
25 de Nov de 2018

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

SS
3 de Ago de 2019

Very Well Explained. Good content and great explanation of content. Complex topics are also covered in very easy way. Very Helpful for learning much more complex topics for Machine Learning in future.

Filtrar por:

826 — 850 de 873 Avaliações para o Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

por Marcin

12 de Ago de 2018

It's one of the toughest things that I've done in my life. The content is really interesting and applicable, but at times you might get stuck with quizzes or assignments because there is not enough guidance given. All in all, I'd recommend this course to everyone working in analytics.

por Sam C

17 de Abr de 2018

A quick short introduction to multivariate calculus and few machine learning techniques, but without much detail mathematical proofs for some ideas. It's a maybe good introductory course for beginners of calculus. Not recommended for learns who seek for details of ideas.

por Kirill N

16 de Ago de 2020

Weeks 1-3 (4) were pretty nice; weeks 5 and 6 were terrible. The harder the topics, the less explanation was given, the pacing by the end was atrocious and course delves into statistical topics while it probably could've dedicated these weeks to other relevant topics.

por Khang V P

22 de Set de 2021

The last 2 modules have very promising content, yet the instructor did not do well enough. I found myself totally lost in the confusing explanation of David, although I've already have experience in Multivar Calc and take this course just as a refresher.

por Yi Z

3 de Ago de 2018

Such a easy course, if you totally a novice in multi-variables calculus, you could take this course, Whereas, if you are familiar with calculus, it will be quite easy for you.

I hope more programming assignment about Machine Learning

por Rob E

11 de Ago de 2020

The instructor for this course actually tried to explain the concepts, unlike the other two courses in this specialization. However, no one is available to answer questions.

por Shivam K

30 de Jun de 2020

I feel that the course was too fast paced. I had to constantly refer to many other website like khan academy and 3b1b. The course skipped many details and lacked intuition.

por pranshu s

17 de Out de 2020

You will get some intuition of mathematics used in Machine Learning as well as there will be less fear in doing ML courses if you would complete this course.

por Alfred S

13 de Jan de 2019

Course would be prefect if there would not be technical issues with opening notebooks. It slows me down by 1 week. But content was really relevant to ML.

por Kumar S

9 de Ago de 2020

Overall average course. Not that much good as expected because of David Dye. He was teaching very poor in this course as compared to course-1.

por TirupathiRao p

21 de Mai de 2020

Last 2 weeks completely diverged. Failed to converge. I wish content was more elaborate.First course of this specialization was far better.

por MAYANK G

4 de Jul de 2018

Role of discussion forum is very less. Please improve on that to have healthy participation. Otherwise, course content is really good.

por Kamoliddin N

7 de Dez de 2019

first 4 weeks were good. Starting from week 5 course explanation was bad. Was required to watch other videos.

por Lieu Z H

18 de Nov de 2019

Lecture videos are quite sparse, and the quizzes test things that they don't teach you in the lecture

por Saurabh M

29 de Set de 2020

A bit fast paced, could be much more beneficial with some added explanations.

por Lee j

23 de Mai de 2019

Too fast to understand what instructors says.. but lecture contents are good

por Erwin M

28 de Abr de 2021

The basics is explained so light, that you wonder if it is of any use.

por Akeel A

29 de Ago de 2020

It was a lot of fun at points. Would recommend to anyone else.

por Gurrapu N

7 de Abr de 2020

Strong disconnect between teaching videos and assignments.

por joseph k

13 de Abr de 2020

Course would enhanced if pdf's of lectures were provided.

por Alkis G

14 de Jul de 2019

There is a decent space for course improvement.

por prudhvi

23 de Jun de 2019

week 6 content is not clear at least for me .

por Ahmad A

22 de Fev de 2021

Too many Assignments and Quizzes to pass

por Yusuf T

28 de Jul de 2021

Need to focus more on the details.

por สิทธิพร แ

12 de Jun de 2020

Week 5 and 6 Lecture quite poor