Chevron Left
Voltar para Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus da instituição Imperial College London

4.7
estrelas
4,254 classificações
761 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Melhores avaliações

JT
12 de Nov de 2018

Excellent course. I completed this course with no prior knowledge of multivariate calculus and was successful nonetheless. It was challenging and extremely interesting, informative, and well designed.

DP
25 de Nov de 2018

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 758 Avaliações para o Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

por Mohit J

31 de Out de 2020

After completing i relate maths with real world ,How hard the topic is but all the teacher complete it nicely in a simpler manner ,I am so happy today i complete one more course

por Arihant J

19 de Jul de 2018

Nice course. Ppl with who don't have some experience with the content may find the instruction too sparse. But for someone with a decent background its a fucking fantastic course !

por Wang Z

2 de Jul de 2018

A wonderful course. I learnt a lot after struggling to finish it. Some foundations of calculus might be needed since the lecturer goes through differntiation in a tremendous speed.

por Shailesh B

11 de Mai de 2020

Excellent contain and I enjoyed a lot during this course. Assignment part was very crucial because there was chance to improve our understanding by giving correct or wrong answer.

por David C

25 de Jul de 2018

I highly recommend this course.

Every Machine Learning student have to do it. Some concepts is so clearly explained that you will be able to perform better in following ML studies.

por Julia G

12 de Nov de 2020

I enjoyed a lot the visualizations and practical examples. They do help to improve mathematical intuition! Thanks a lot to the instructors, the lectures were clear and exciting!

por David M

14 de Jul de 2020

Both instructors explained things very clearly and I felt well-prepared for the quizzes. The subject matter was challenging for me, but isn't that what this whole site is about?

por Nagaradhika

9 de Jun de 2020

excellent teaching very good course for learners thank you so much for giving this pack of three courses . Tahnkyou coursera team, three instructors and Imperial college London

por Dawn D

10 de Mar de 2019

Really good introduction for things like regression and gradient descent. An extremely good refresher for calculus and extension from what is taught in school (in UK at least).

por Marco A P

27 de Ago de 2020

Very challenging course, but if you,re not afraid of numbers this is a great way to remember or "start to learn" advance and esential mathematic concepts for machine learning

por Ramon M T

18 de Set de 2019

Excellent course to understand what is behind the techniques and why not high-level functions that are used in machine learning programming. Thanks for your teaching Dave, Sam

por Marina P

28 de Ago de 2019

Very practical and useful! I got an idea about what neural network is and what is inside of the regression algorithm. I enjoyed the course, although it was quite challenging.

por Rishabh A

9 de Jun de 2019

Loved the course. Backpropogation section needs more elaborate explanation, where are we doing dot products, where are we doing matrix multiplications, things go confusing.

por THIRUPATHI T

21 de Mai de 2020

Excellent course for learners who likes self-learning. They will enjoy a deep understanding of the multivariate notions like the Hessian, Taylor series, and Regression.

por Marwa A E K M A Z

12 de Nov de 2019

This course is really informative and builds intuition for the topics covered, I'd like to specially thank Sam for his amazing way of teaching and his visualizations :)

por Вернер А И

17 de Mar de 2018

Excellent course. The material is taught in a precise, clear and intuitive manner. It would be great if a summary of the course will be given in form of some document.

por VARUN S

8 de Nov de 2020

It was way difficult compared to what I thought. Though I did not understand 100%, it gave me confidence to dig deeper if required. Thanks for this wonderful course.

por Shammunul I

12 de Abr de 2020

One of the best courses on mathematics for machine learning. I already knew Calculus but this course reinforced and clarified many of these already learned concepts.

por Chi W

17 de Mai de 2018

Excellent course! It helps understand to take the sandpit as an example for learning Jacobian, Hessian and steepest algorithm stuff. More than boring math formulas.

por Aya H

6 de Ago de 2020

I really like this series so far and felt in love with instructors and the way they teach ,and i am so excited to the third and last course of this specialization.

por Akshaya P K

2 de Jan de 2019

Thank you! This was an excellent course. I think it would engage learners of any level. quality of the content, delivery, exercises and assignments were impeccable.

por minsq n

10 de Abr de 2020

Great course, and i'm able to use these concepts more intuitively and confidently. The last 2 weeks were not as clear and a bit of a rush, but the rest was great!!

por Catherine L

21 de Nov de 2020

A great calculus introduction course that guides me into the world of machine learning, it was a great experience studying calculus with imperial college London!

por Fadillah A

31 de Jul de 2020

This is a great course! The materials covered in this course are explained very very simply and profoundly. However, several terms are not explained in detail.

por James D

16 de Mai de 2020

A very fast-paced course that managed to make light work of some seriously heavy maths, although it was still very challenging. Overall, it was a lot of fun!