Chevron Left
Voltar para Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus da instituição Imperial College London

4.7
estrelas
4,916 classificações
881 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Melhores avaliações

JT
12 de Nov de 2018

Excellent course. I completed this course with no prior knowledge of multivariate calculus and was successful nonetheless. It was challenging and extremely interesting, informative, and well designed.

DP
25 de Nov de 2018

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

Filtrar por:

751 — 775 de 884 Avaliações para o Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

por Chika

9 de Jul de 2019

Feedback on assessment could be improved, and there could be more practice questions relevant to the final assessments

por Jose V R

4 de Jun de 2018

I think I've improve my understanding of mathematics for ML, mainly, I've understand much better the concepts involved

por thedoctor

4 de Mai de 2021

More focus on concrete data centric machine learning instead of abstract function definitions would have been helpful

por Arun I

2 de Mar de 2019

Good course to understand the basic mathematics terms and a refresher for high school math with some technical terms.

por ADITYA K

12 de Mai de 2020

It is a beautifully designed course to get knowledge of how to apply various types of calculus to machine learning.

por Adam N

12 de Nov de 2018

Very nice and concise, definitely review normal calculus and look up materials to get the most out of this course.

por Mohammad A K

6 de Jul de 2020

good math course for learning derivatives, there could have been a better way to summarize and explain the course

por Rachel P

28 de Mai de 2020

An amazing course for beginners in Machine learning and brushing up your Mathematics skills at the same time.

por Manan S

29 de Mai de 2021

more on optimization techniques like in-depth concepts of gradient descent would have helped, rest was great

por Eileen Y

17 de Abr de 2020

It seems that the lecture is not quite closely connected with the quiz, which may bring great confusion.

por Sharan S M

9 de Jan de 2020

Great course If you want to learn Multivariate calculus. Teaches a lot of topics and is a bit rigorous

por Ilyes S

4 de Nov de 2021

It is a great course But the English accent of the bald teacher is very difficult to understand

por AKASH C

15 de Jun de 2020

this course is not for beginners but some good concepts are there which was needed for progress

por Olena K

21 de Mai de 2018

Not enough detail in the explanations and little to no instructor participation in the forums.

por Srinivas A

25 de Jul de 2020

Topics are taught well for most part but there needs to be more help on answering questions.

por José D

18 de Out de 2018

Very instructive, good refresher of multivariate calculus in the context of machine learning

por Sourav K B

23 de Jan de 2020

A nice tour of multi-variate calculus starting from basics. Good for initial understanding.

por Davide F

12 de Set de 2019

Some complex topics were explained a bit too fast. The course on Linear Algebra was better.

por J N B P

19 de Ago de 2020

Good for those who already know a lit bit of Calculus, beginners might feel it difficult.

por Sharad K L

18 de Mar de 2020

It is hard course and time required is much more than estimated time given in the course

por tishat a

23 de Abr de 2020

Very helpful to understand the topics.But last two weeks was a bit tough to understand.

por Jue C

26 de Out de 2020

The last module is quite fast and ambiguous, but besides that, everything is perfect.

por Styven G A

13 de Dez de 2019

un enfoque interesante, un buen repaso de matemáticas y una excelente apacibilidad.

por Suraj S

3 de Mai de 2020

Week 6 was not easy for a complete beginner, but all the other weeks were amazing.

por Eduardo A G M

10 de Out de 2021

The materials reviewed are excellent, but the time for each one wasn't enought