Chevron Left
Voltar para Mountains 101

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mountains 101 da instituição Universidade de AlbertaUniversidade de Alberta

4.9
estrelas
2,321 classificações
870 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Melhores avaliações

SK

22 de dez de 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

DA

11 de fev de 2021

Great fun, I really enjoyed this course. Sometimes the dialogue was somewhat repetitive but overall you can see a lot of effort went into finding experts and giving quality, accompanying video clips.

Filtrar por:

851 — 871 de 871 Avaliações para o Mountains 101

por Sanjana T

8 de fev de 2021

A very engrossing and deeply engrossing course. Loved my classroom!

por Kenny C

4 de fev de 2017

Highly recommand it to do it if you love Canada and its Mountains!

por Andrea G

21 de fev de 2021

Very interesting and informative course on mountain environments.

por Edgar B

5 de mai de 2017

Buen curso para iniciar en el conocimiento de las montañas.

por Ian L A

28 de out de 2020

A fascinating overview of all aspects of mountains.

por Tanya F

23 de jun de 2017

Very education and well done, easy to do/understand

por Johnny M L

14 de jun de 2022

Everyone should take this course.

por Richard K

18 de ago de 2017

very interesting and informative

por Shirley K

9 de jul de 2020

fun course, really enjoyed it

por Micheline D

1 de fev de 2022

W​ell done, learned a lot

por Elita Y

9 de jun de 2020

Very comprehensive

por Rahul S

17 de jan de 2018

A complete one!

por Diane W

23 de dez de 2020

A good introduction and interesting case studies. Many interesting parts to the course but I found it a little easy (that was probably due to my background as a geography teacher) I would also have liked to see a little more encouragement to investigate further on the topics - perhaps suggesting websites or additional reading. I found I was rather a passive learner and would have preferred to be more involved with finding things out.

por Sandy J M

23 de jun de 2021

The material in this course was excellent, but I avoided the videos and did it by reading the transcripts only. The music accompanying the lectures and other bits is distracting and annoying. I spent 10 years at university and never attended a serious lecture that was accompanied by elevator music.

por Jonathan G

30 de jan de 2018

and Justin course. However, a lot of what was being covered with redundant. You can easily learn the stuff covered in the course on a camping trip or from a mountain climber.

por Baral P

28 de mai de 2021

Much focus was on the alpine mountains, whereas mountains are found on all climatic zones. Very less was taught about the mountains beyond alpine mountains of North America.

por Alexandropoulou C

9 de set de 2019

It was good at the basics but I was looking for information about caves in mountains and bats!

por John W S

14 de fev de 2017

Got as far as lesson six. Took test and received 78%. Have been trying without success to retake the test. There does not seem to be anywhere to try and find out how to fix this.???????????????????????

por Carl I

29 de abr de 2021

Well done! Facts on Avalanche re WW1 Austria /Italian are not correct. 10,000 soldiers did not die in one day. Please correct this factoid.! Otherwise excellent course!!

por Javier J

6 de mar de 2021

The course started well with amazing photography but it was ruined in last week by making it political.

por Olivier D P

16 de mai de 2021

too long and should focus on mountains and nothing else