Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.9
estrelas
4,479 classificações
882 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

SS
1 de Jul de 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS
16 de Set de 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filtrar por:

851 — 873 de 873 Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por Abhishek T

10 de Mai de 2021

professor ian is so good

por HIMANSHU R

9 de Mar de 2019

very good and intresting

por Goh W L T

8 de Jan de 2021

Helpful and resourceful

por B. P k

22 de Jun de 2020

very helpful topic

por Francesco M

10 de Mar de 2021

Engaging Course!

por Pourush D

16 de Jun de 2020

very informative

por Chanmyae T

17 de Out de 2018

good lecture

por Hans H

26 de Set de 2015

Very clear

por fabian c

1 de Set de 2020

well good

por Godwin C M

23 de Abr de 2021

Good

por ADI S P R

27 de Jun de 2020

Very Difficult to understand for an amateur. But way of organizing the course is good.

por MADHUMITA L 2

29 de Out de 2020

I think this course has helped me thank you for this course.

por Shivam P

5 de Jun de 2019

Its explained well but gets a little boring towards the end.

por Jiayi W (

10 de Mar de 2016

Not that interesting

por leen a h

16 de Nov de 2020

the disadvantages were: there are no written ideas in the background, the black and white video, and the dialogue between the dr. and his students

por Tabitha H

11 de Nov de 2020

A lot of white people talking about white people! Can we please develop curricula that addresses history inclusively?

por Kirsten W

11 de Jul de 2019

In video discussions distract from the message. I'd prefer to be able to listen to the instructor talk about what he knows, rather than be forced to sit through fumbled questions and unrelatable conversations. There is a discussion forum to address people directly that tends to have higher quality conversation as a result. This method of shoehorning students into the video is frustrating and unnecessary.

por Heloisa Z C

8 de Set de 2020

The course really didn't follow my expectations at all, I don't think the subject was explained as well as it could have been, there was a lot of potential.

por Deleted A

21 de Jun de 2020

Iam unable to submit assessment and there is no one responding when I ask questions about assignment in groups

por Firdosh K

20 de Mai de 2020

The content was very poor and difficult to understand. Also, it lacks engagement, especially who is listening.

por Александра И

21 de Nov de 2020

I can't get my sertificate!!!!!!

por Bhaskar M

20 de Mai de 2020

Very Poor Content

por Huzaifa M S

26 de Out de 2019

Disappointed me!