Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.9
estrelas
4,259 classificações
849 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

SS
1 de Jul de 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS
16 de Set de 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filtrar por:

801 — 825 de 841 Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por MARIANA L

14 de Fev de 2016

Very interesting! I just didn't like the conversation format of it, but the professor is great. Thank you!

por Maria S

29 de Nov de 2016

Really informative and interesting. Thank you Coursera and Professor Sharpino for making this possible!

por Alfred M

30 de Jul de 2019

The course is a bit too long and unorganized. It would be better if concepts are separated in chunks.

por Edmund S R

24 de Jun de 2020

It was the best course with full of fun and learning. The more you go the brighter you become.

por Lucas S d O

24 de Nov de 2020

Pra quem tem afinidade ou faz algum curso na área das ciências políticas é realmente bom!!!

por Maria E H

8 de Mai de 2017

The content of the course is valuable and well your worth the time spent on the course.

por Reuben M

28 de Abr de 2017

Conversational format is really helpful, great real world examples and connections.

por ANTO.C.S

13 de Mai de 2020

This course is also helpful you know basics or the foundation of political science

por Harsha S R

14 de Mai de 2020

overall a most comprehensive course on the foundations of politics!

por CHONG Y C

12 de Jul de 2020

very interesting course to introduce you to the idea of politics

por Sophea C

29 de Mar de 2016

It help me to understand about political situation and analysis.

por Geetika G

31 de Jul de 2020

I honestly enjoyed the entire course, it was quite insightful.

por Diego M G

1 de Set de 2020

Me encantó el curso. Me hubiera gustado aprender mucho más.

por RUSHIKESH S I

10 de Abr de 2020

Very Nice Course. Clear Understanding About Politics.

por Louis A

11 de Ago de 2019

Very in depth and fruitful, I enjoyed it very much.

por Shirley K

4 de Jul de 2020

great course,taught me some things I didn't know

por Ruoshi C

22 de Ago de 2017

The video is too short. I was expecting more.

por Joy S

9 de Abr de 2018

good info, quizzes of reasonable difficulty

por Syed F R

15 de Out de 2016

Covers the basics. Quite Good.

por N.SATHYA V I 1 V C

27 de Mai de 2020

such a good course to learn

por B.VEGESH

26 de Jul de 2020

good for politics students

por HIMANSHU R

9 de Mar de 2019

very good and intresting

por Goh W L T

8 de Jan de 2021

Helpful and resourceful

por B. P k

22 de Jun de 2020

very helpful topic

por Pourush D

16 de Jun de 2020

very informative