Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.9
estrelas
4,267 classificações
850 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

SS
1 de Jul de 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS
16 de Set de 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filtrar por:

301 — 325 de 841 Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por Deleted A

2 de Dez de 2019

Ian Shapiro is very detailed in his lecturing of political theory. However the ebook in ?Cengage? link is expensive

por Aleksandra L

16 de Jan de 2017

I strongly appreciate a clarity of the lectures. The course was prepared honestly and in an elegant way. Thank you!

por Sergey A

8 de Abr de 2018

Very concise course in history of political philosophy. Cover a wide area and provocative questions for beginner.

por Marcello L D

12 de Dez de 2017

Excelent Course. It introduces the mainly concepts in each tradition and give more deep discussions in each topic

por Martijn S

2 de Nov de 2016

excellent course, very high educational value and insight. Would definitly recommend it to others

-Martijn Spruijt

por Fernanda d O V

10 de Jul de 2020

Great course! I would recommend to those who appreciate learning more about the philosophical basis of politics.

por Aaron K

31 de Mar de 2019

Fascinating and clear exposition of some of the deepest roots of the questions of morality inherent in politics.

por Aspasia B

24 de Mai de 2020

Great course, I m sad it has finished. It helped me in a fun and easy way to understand basic politic concepts

por Antoine R

22 de Dez de 2015

Great course and teacher! The format is really cool for the topic. Hope there will be some kind of "part 2".

por Emmanouela T

7 de Dez de 2020

Very beuatiful made an eye opening! Thank you for this experience! And special thanks to Professor Shapiro!

por Ofentse L

10 de Ago de 2020

I learned a lot in this course, was my favorite actually. The lecture makes things, everything was perfect

por ljdover

13 de Set de 2019

Wonderful class that helped to clarify the different political theories for me. I would highly recommend t

por Jeffrey H

3 de Ago de 2018

Great and challenging course. Will provide you an introduction to the tools to analyze political systems.

por Miguelina R V

5 de Jun de 2017

Very interesting course !! helped me a lot to know more about Politics !!! Thank you Professor Saphiro !!!

por Cristina A G

23 de Mar de 2019

An excellent course with a perfectly sequence of ideas, the explaining of the professor is just suitable.

por Alan E

6 de Ago de 2016

Ian Shapiro is a true master of the subject. The format of this course sets a high standard for Coursera.

por Kenroya C B

3 de Jan de 2021

With thanks and highest gratitude for the basic Moral understanding and foundations of decisions making.

por Bryan S Q M

12 de Nov de 2020

It was a great course. Recommended for people who are into political philosophy and politics in general.

por Ankita P

20 de Set de 2020

Totally loved the course. Thank you for this amazing 8 weeks. So grateful to have completed this course.

por Paul C

25 de Fev de 2021

A wonderful course, mainly because of the deep knowledge of Professor Shapiro that he wears so lightly!

por Apoorva S

24 de Fev de 2021

I found the course very interesting. The real life examples helped me understand the principles easily.

por Ilaha Y

27 de Jul de 2020

In addition to being instructive, the course was more effective with the materials it shared. Thank you

por Andres

8 de Jun de 2020

Amazing path that collects elements from different traditions and joining them to a wonderful final !!!

por Wong Z X

30 de Out de 2020

Rather content heavy yet enjoyable module. Learnt a lot of different perspective and argument pointers

por Regene L

16 de Jun de 2020

This course was detailed without being draggy and was easy to follow even for a politics noob like me.