Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.9
estrelas
4,125 classificações
816 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

SS
1 de Jul de 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS
16 de Set de 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filtrar por:

276 — 300 de 809 Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por C M C M G

25 de Jul de 2020

Thank you so much. It helps to better understand and approach this subject in greater depth with more inclusive thinking.

por Yochai W

11 de Ago de 2017

Fantastic course. I felt I needed some basic introduction to political thinking, and this course is exactly what I needed.

por Robert K

17 de Jun de 2016

Great course taught in a solid and easily accessible fashion. Just the right balance of theory and practical application.

por 林京芮

25 de Out de 2017

Great! I'd cherish this experience for my whole life and apply the viewpoints of it to analyze current political problems

por Gustavo A T M

6 de Ago de 2020

Muchas gracias por la oportunidad brindada y por la ampliación de conocimientos en todo el ámbito relacionado al curso.

por Val S

10 de Fev de 2020

Ian Shapiro is an amazing teacher. Abundance of knowledge and discoveries that make us reflect and review our concepts.

por Paz O

12 de Mar de 2019

Muy buen curso, me sirvió mucho para la reflexión y poder plantear mis inquietudes de mejor forma con mayor fundamento.

por Terry Y

25 de Jun de 2018

It is an amazing course that provides you an understanding on the different political traditions and how are they used.

por Jorge M C

1 de Jun de 2017

Extraordinario curso, para quienes estén interesados en una guía para profundizar en el mundo de la filosofía política.

por Maisarah B A L

12 de Jun de 2020

great starting point if you are looking for an introductory course to politics from a western (mostly USA) perspective

por Justin D

30 de Nov de 2016

It's a great course. You'll wish that you could take a course from Shapiro on anyone of these traditions to go deeper.

por Liyuan F

29 de Nov de 2020

Very in-depth lessons and explanations on the foundations of politics. Definitely an eye-opening course to enroll in!

por Dominica C

20 de Mar de 2020

This course was incredibly engaging and managed to effectively convey the content in a unique, conversational format.

por JIANG C

20 de Jun de 2020

The lectures are easy to follow!! Definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to start learning politics :)

por Ernesto M P

12 de Jun de 2020

Extraordinario curso, sin duda contribuirá en el desarrollo de mi formación personal y profesional. ¡Muchas gracias!

por Deleted A

2 de Dez de 2019

Ian Shapiro is very detailed in his lecturing of political theory. However the ebook in ?Cengage? link is expensive

por Aleksandra L

16 de Jan de 2017

I strongly appreciate a clarity of the lectures. The course was prepared honestly and in an elegant way. Thank you!

por Sergey A

8 de Abr de 2018

Very concise course in history of political philosophy. Cover a wide area and provocative questions for beginner.

por Marcello L D

12 de Dez de 2017

Excelent Course. It introduces the mainly concepts in each tradition and give more deep discussions in each topic

por Martijn S

2 de Nov de 2016

excellent course, very high educational value and insight. Would definitly recommend it to others

-Martijn Spruijt

por Fernanda d O V

10 de Jul de 2020

Great course! I would recommend to those who appreciate learning more about the philosophical basis of politics.

por Aaron K

31 de Mar de 2019

Fascinating and clear exposition of some of the deepest roots of the questions of morality inherent in politics.

por Aspasia B

24 de Mai de 2020

Great course, I m sad it has finished. It helped me in a fun and easy way to understand basic politic concepts

por Antoine R

22 de Dez de 2015

Great course and teacher! The format is really cool for the topic. Hope there will be some kind of "part 2".

por Emmanouela T

7 de Dez de 2020

Very beuatiful made an eye opening! Thank you for this experience! And special thanks to Professor Shapiro!