Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.9
estrelas
4,121 classificações
816 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

SS
1 de Jul de 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS
16 de Set de 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de 808 Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por Avishai B

12 de Set de 2020

I feel much smarter having taken this course. Kudos to Professor Shapiro for providing a detailed snapshot on where we, as the human race, are currently at with regards to political theory.

por William C T J

22 de Jul de 2020

A fantastic course as Professor Shapiro really analyzes his point clearly and it is a really enriching course for anybody with an interest in learning about the dynamical world of politics.

por Ignacio E

31 de Mai de 2020

Probably an introduction to Political Philosophy, more than to the moral foundations of politics (which is addressed in just a couple of lectures). Great course, though, highly recommended!

por William E B

9 de Set de 2015

One of the most thought provoking and important course any student could take. It is fundamental to almost all humanities and (especially) law. I give the highest possible recommendation.

por Tejaswini V

28 de Ago de 2020

Hands down one of the best courses one can spend their time on. I have absolutely no regret studying this course because of how thoroughly engaging, deeply insightful and inspiring it was.

por Siddhi N

17 de Mai de 2020

It was by far the most insightful journey I have ever had in Political Science. I can't thank enough all the people who were involved in putting the course up here for us to grow. Cheers!

por Ana L L

3 de Jun de 2019

Excellent course, a great opportunity to learn about the main political theories and to reflect upon current political systems and practices in regards to their legitimacy. I recommend it

por Gabriella F

17 de Mar de 2019

This is such an interesting and useful course! It presents many possible paths to explore political philosophy and increase knowledge in the field. I am glad I had the chance to take it.

por Zhaolin L

4 de Abr de 2016

Absolutely brilliant course and Prof. Shapiro really helps me understand important aspects of politics, morality and influential ideologies from first principles. Thanks from Australia!

por Armando B M

14 de Nov de 2019

The course offers a very significant view of the foundations of politics since early enlightenment. Precious knowledge. Thanks to the teacher Ian Shapiro and all that made it possible.

por Andrew G

1 de Nov de 2015

Excellent Course. Really enjoyed this and learnt a lot. Put a lot of areas I have read about in context for me and linked them together. Would really enjoy other MOOCs by Prof. Shapiro

por DHANANJAY K T

29 de Ago de 2020

I would like to give thanks to Prof. Shapiro sir for designing such an excellent course. It will be a good lesson while learning about the politics.

Warm regards,

Dhananjay kumar Tiwari

por Shree N

17 de Jun de 2020

This Course is very useful for Political Science students as it gives overview of the contemporary politics,deep thinking of different traditions and what makes government legitimate.

por Zhao Y

24 de Abr de 2020

Extremely insightful course. I like the modules about Rawls and Nozick. The last module about democracy a bit of hasty. I hope the Professor will make another course about democracy.

por J. Q A

13 de Out de 2019

Awesome course! If you want to know more about the ethical and political theories that underlie politics, this is the course for you. I can't say enough good things about this course.

por Κεχαγιάς Σ

19 de Jan de 2021

It was an excellent course. The structure and the professor made it so interesting. The content was on point and it was very engaging. Looking forward to many more courses like that!

por Charuta G

30 de Mai de 2020

It's been highly educational, more so because I'm a history student. Studying these traditions provided a philosophical and theoretical backbone to a lot of my education in history.

por Sanja J

27 de Nov de 2018

It is an excellent course. I personally recommend it for those who want to get an essential view on the topic. An interactive course, which for me is indispensable when e-learning.

por Karina L

16 de Mai de 2020

Professor Shapiro is the teacher you've always dreamed of, that is capable to make every concept understandable and makes you to want keep studyng to understand better the world.

por Andres C E

17 de Out de 2016

Great course, some weeks are loaded with lots of material so can be hard to keep proper track.

Prof. Shapiro 's lectures are clear and easy to understand.

I recommend this course.

por Цой В В

27 de Set de 2020

One of the most important and interesting courses I have ever had. Very structured and entertaining for those who want to know more about politics. Thank you for a great course

por Vianis J F R

31 de Mai de 2020

I loved the course and I am very satisfied because I understood the perspectives of theoretical thinkers and their evolution in the moral of politics until today. Thank you!!!!

por Nguyen H P U

16 de Set de 2020

The readings and lectures were so informative and the professor is able to explain difficult concepts in such simple terms that it made the course very digestible. Thank you!

por Franziska M

10 de Jan de 2021

Thank you so much for this very interesting course. Prof Shapiro and the students made an awesome job. I really enjoyed it and will recommend it to friends and co-students.

por Aakash C

12 de Mar de 2016

It is a pleasure to see the way Prof. Shapiro connect the different ideas in this course. And the best part is you can apply these ideas to understand the world around you.