Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.8
estrelas
2,498 classificações
533 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

ES

Jun 29, 2020

Such a great course! I have learned so much, the teaching was really incredible. I am hoping to use this course to go on to study a Masters in Politics so this education has been invaluable to me.

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de 530 Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por Hao Z

Nov 16, 2015

This course is both rewarding and a bit challenging. Strongly recommended for anyone interested in political issues and moral philosophy.

por Vilmos F

Jun 30, 2020

This course made me understand the general political philosophies better. Prof. Shapiro explained all of the course's topics very well.

por Carlos F C J

Feb 12, 2016

Ótimo curso, o melhor do tema que já tive conhecimento, vou tentar completá-lo pela segunda vez. Parabéns professor, e muito obrigado!

por Neringa B

Jun 04, 2017

Great course, lively presentation, interesting ideas and one afterthought of mine: " Existential knowledge cannot be monopolised ".

por daren a

Nov 27, 2015

It is a wonderful course and the professor is excellent.

I really learn too much and I hope to take another course about this topic

por Leila A

Oct 16, 2016

A very systematic and comprehensive course. Thank you for the new insights into the moral underpinnings of contemporary politics.

por Skirmante Z

Jan 22, 2020

Outstanding and very informative course, touching fundamental questions that every politician or research should ask. Well done!

por Felipe I C A

Jun 20, 2020

Un muy buen curso, que me entregó herramientas y argumentos muy importantes en cuanto a los fundamentos morales de la política.

por manuel e v s

Feb 21, 2019

Excelente curso que analiza en profundidad grandes temas relacionadas con la política y el pensar filosófico de algunos autores

por Tom T

Apr 10, 2017

I enjoyed this course. The information was presented in an interesting way, and the student dialogues reinforced the knowledge.

por Kabo F G

May 10, 2020

The moral foundations in politics are true guidance to understanding the political approach in this dispensation of modernity.

por Tilen

Nov 14, 2015

Since i finished philosophy studies and continue economics, this is a big insight of the development of liberal thought. Great

por Sebastian K

Jun 15, 2020

120/5000

It´s an excellent course, really very complete and interesting. It provides the necessary knowledge in a short time.

por Miguel A

May 24, 2020

Muy informativo. Te saca muchas dudas sobre las diversas corrientes políticas que han dominado al mundo durante su historia.

por Shah F

Sep 27, 2018

The introduction was great! His pronunciation and method of teaching is matchless. I hope to learn a lot in the coming weeks

por Esther P

Apr 28, 2018

This course is very interesting, and complete. I highly recommend it to everyone and I am grateful it was available online.

por Yochai W

Aug 11, 2017

Fantastic course. I felt I needed some basic introduction to political thinking, and this course is exactly what I needed.

por Robert K

Jun 17, 2016

Great course taught in a solid and easily accessible fashion. Just the right balance of theory and practical application.

por 林京芮

Oct 25, 2017

Great! I'd cherish this experience for my whole life and apply the viewpoints of it to analyze current political problems

por Valquiria C d s

Feb 10, 2020

Ian Shapiro is an amazing teacher. Abundance of knowledge and discoveries that make us reflect and review our concepts.

por Paz O

Mar 12, 2019

Muy buen curso, me sirvió mucho para la reflexión y poder plantear mis inquietudes de mejor forma con mayor fundamento.

por Terry Y

Jun 25, 2018

It is an amazing course that provides you an understanding on the different political traditions and how are they used.

por Jorge M C

Jun 01, 2017

Extraordinario curso, para quienes estén interesados en una guía para profundizar en el mundo de la filosofía política.

por Maisarah B A L

Jun 13, 2020

great starting point if you are looking for an introductory course to politics from a western (mostly USA) perspective

por Justin D

Nov 30, 2016

It's a great course. You'll wish that you could take a course from Shapiro on anyone of these traditions to go deeper.