Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.8
estrelas
2,543 classificações
546 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

SS

Jul 02, 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 540 Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por Yoonyoung C

Jun 25, 2020

As someone without much initial interest/knowledge of politics, this course provided an excellent foundation for understanding the moral basis and arguments surrounding political theories. Overall a very engaging and organized course.

por Lee M

Jun 03, 2020

Fantastic, challenged a lot of my ideological foundations. Highly recommended to anyone who is seeking to test their political and moral perspectives and learn a bit more about the historical battleground of ideas that produced them.

por Chianh J X

Jun 16, 2020

Professor Shapiro provided a very comprehensive review of the past and current political regimes. This was a very thought-provoking course that allowed me to gain a better understanding of the current political scene. Thank you!

por Himmat S

May 01, 2017

The course gives an excellent insight into the topic of a legitimate government.The examples which are discussed before every theory provide thought provoking dialogue and knowledge thus its equally entertaining and intriguing.

por Bernard G

Jun 02, 2019

This course introduces you to the variety of philosophies and political ideologies. It has left me with a much better understanding of political arguments as well as the ability to analyze better interrupt many current issues.

por José M O L

Jun 22, 2020

An excelent introduction to the main aspects of the most important political ideological traditions in our modern history. It is indeed an essential course most people interested or actually involved in politics should take.

por Brenna M

Jun 15, 2020

I loved this course. It was the right amount of challenge and allowed me to learn things that I had never thought of before. Shapiro has a way of holding your attention which is really good as there was never a dull moment.

por Andrea

Jun 22, 2017

Love this course. Getting through the first couple lectures gets you hooked on the sharp insights of Prof. Shapiro and takes you though the intricacies of politics, economics and justice. Very interesting. Very stimulating.

por Juan C B

Jun 10, 2020

I really liked it, I really appreciated being able to read authors again from different points of view and refresh the different perspectives of contemporary aspects within life and politics.

Very thankful

Sincerily,

Juan

por Hazard G W

Jan 08, 2016

Superbly taught and enlightening course - this material seems to include a lot of the foundations of today's public discourse. The small seminar and occasionally Socratic method by a master teacher is highly effective.

por Yuri P

Sep 28, 2015

La forma en que el profesor Shappiro es capaz de hacer teoríapolítica desde la inferencia es n slo grandilocuente, además es movilizadora, didactica y un punto eterno de inflexión y reflexión de los tópicos a tratarse.

por Jaminson A M C

Jun 27, 2020

It is an excellent course, the teacher knows very well how to present the subject, I try to be objective, the careful way in which he chose the students is wonderful, courses like this open up the panorama for you.

por Berna ö

Mar 04, 2019

thank you for this course İt was really so enlightening to compare the period of political thought on public policy . I really appriciated Shapiro's guide for understanding with the examples of everyday life.

por Jaime A

Apr 25, 2020

Maravilloso curso, una acertada manera de conectar a los pensadores clásicos con los modernos, un visión amplia de la filosofía, la sociología, economía y de la política para entender la democracia moderna.

por Cassiano P C

Jun 28, 2017

Great course. Professor Shapiro is very friendly and clear, and this facilitates the compreension and the adhesion to the course. That's a person I'd like to be a friend and student. Thank you very much.

por Olaniyi O A

Oct 16, 2019

A great person, who always there for his students and very easy to understand. I love him and I have no word to explain his intellectual. I look forward to meeting him in the future! Thanks for everything.

por Peter L

Oct 08, 2016

Really good. Prof. Shapiro, thanks a lot for a very clear communication, very good structure and perfect lessions. I can really recommend this way of online courses and I´m very happy with having taken it.

por Leonid P

May 09, 2020

Thank your for this course! Actually, it is one of the best and constructive online courses in the world! I am so interested in international relations and world politics so I knew a lot of information.

por Saif

Jul 02, 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

por Eleanor S

Jun 29, 2020

Such a great course! I have learned so much, the teaching was really incredible. I am hoping to use this course to go on to study a Masters in Politics so this education has been invaluable to me.

por Ishita P

Jun 08, 2020

Professor Shapiro's explanation of the concepts was excellent. This course gave me a clearer understanding of many theories and the perspective of many prominent political thinkers and economists.

por Ellen C

Jul 02, 2020

Extremely insightful, interesting and engaging, coming from a person that has shallow knowledge of the world of politics. well paced and easy to follow with well-structured quizzes for each week.

por Miranda D

May 26, 2020

This is an extremely interesting and engaging course. The lectures delivered by Prof. Ian Shapiro were articulate and lucid. Looking forward to a more advanced version of this course in coursera.

por MAHIMA S

Jun 11, 2020

Wonderful course. All political developments are taught in a chronological way. Professor is very engaging. Its not live any other course but more of a discussion between students and professor.

por Yury F V

Jun 22, 2016

O Curso de Fundamentos Morais da Política está me ajudando muito a compreender como se dá o processo político na essência de sua natureza. Parabéns aos professores e desenvolvedores deste curso.