Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.8
estrelas
2,543 classificações
546 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

SS

Jul 02, 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 540 Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por Camila A T L

Apr 21, 2020

El curso me resultó sumamente completo y educativo. Me inspiró a seguir indagando acerca de ciertas problemáticas sociales actuales así como sobre el desarrollo de distintos autores allí nombrados. Muy recomendable. Me sirvió como introducción a mi segundo año de la Licenciatura en ciencias políticas.

por Bishwa N U

May 26, 2020

I have taken around 10 courses on Coursera so far. But I found it to be the best of them all. Really appreciate the format of delivery. Participation of the 2 students made the lectures more engaging. I think all online courses should be made this way where you don't feel its one-way affair.

por Rebecca M

Jul 04, 2020

not at all what i expected, but was AWESOME , i now have realized that there is so much i thought i knew about well marx and others was not complete at all and in some ways wrong, I will be continuing my studies of this all on my own, also found out i have a philosophical mind

por Samantha C

Sep 16, 2017

I really liked the course and felt that Professor Shapiro was very professional and also personal while explaining our coursework. I would recommend this class to anyone looking to learn more in depth politics, as well as some history into how politics came to be as they are now.

por Patrick W

Jun 15, 2017

I loved this course. It was highly interesting, thorough, and relevant. Prof Shapiro takes abstruse philosophical content and boils it down to the bare bones. Also, the method of including the two students in the lectures made the online process more organic. Highly recommended!

por Kiran L

Aug 20, 2019

Professor is nuanced and pays attention to all streams. Quizzes are not overly simple and test the understanding. I have immensely benefited from this course as it has provided me introduction to important readings about democracy and philosophies underlying government actions.

por Franco A M

Sep 21, 2017

very good overall view and the specific information with no to much of talking the argue the fundamentals of theories, in my perspective the only thing was missing was a view of morality of Aristotle and i think Thomas Aquinas is brightest figure to really argue about morality.

por Josh R

Sep 06, 2017

This is a mind opening course. Professor Shapiro explains the concepts clearly and simply. I've never taken a philosophy course or knew much about the thinkers talked about in this course, but he did a great job of giving me a primer to the minds that shaped our modern society.

por Tang L

Sep 10, 2019

I was looking to learn more about international relations, before stumbling into this course. I think this course serves as a good foundation of moral philosophy and political science. I really like the discussion format of the videos as well, instead of just a lecture series.

por Hrishikesh V K

May 20, 2020

Its was excelent learning experience and professor is very knowledgeable and very excellent in teaching.

Also whole course desgin is so excellent with course content and interactive learning by involving two students in video.

I am very much satisfied and enjoyed lots.

Thanks

por Syeda S

Nov 29, 2018

This course was no doubt a great and full of knowledge course.Teaching method and especially the engaging method of professor Shiparo wad ausome.Before study of this course i had nothing knowledge about world politics especially interm of throries and their application.

por Azara E N

Nov 17, 2016

A fascinating and well taught course... Would recommend it to my friends. The course has helped in further expanding my sociopolitical horizon and my circle of experiences and references. I was able to discover some missing links that were previously puzzling to me.

por Joseph P W

Nov 08, 2019

This course was as engaging as it was informative. The format of the lectures made them easy to understand, and easy to follow. As I neared the end of the course, it was much like nearing the end of a good book. I was excited to finish, but I didn't want it to end.

por Dr J N c

Oct 08, 2019

This course is so powerful. I have learnt a lot of things to help in my political career as political philosopher.

I encourage every citizen to take this course so that we can have a good knowledge on politics and how these politicians behave when they are in power.

por Carlos A F

Jan 09, 2017

Great course. Professor Shapiro's ability to digest philosophical arguments to then synthesize them in easier to comprehend terms is exceptional. I am extremely please with the content and the course dynamics that invites to develop a critical thinking perspective.

por Fabiana C C

Aug 11, 2019

What an amazing course: engaging, cohesive, well-structured and impeccably delivered by Professor Shapiro. The format of the course, in which Professor Shapiro interacts with two students, is superb. I learned, loved and highly recommend taking this course. Bravo!

por Amjad M

Nov 25, 2018

I learned a lot. The course has very much widened my understanding of the subject. The way Sir Ian Shapiro elaborates is fascinating. I just loved! I'm thankful to Professor Shapiro, Coursera and also to DLSEI.PK who offered this course for free. A lot of love.

por Alexandr N

Mar 11, 2016

This course is really important to me because it is the first one I'm taking. So, the choice was just right as it made me literally addicted to Coursera. Thank a lot for this course to Coursera and Yale University! Prof. Shapiro is a great lecturer. Thumbs up

por Diane N

Oct 01, 2015

So far this is a fascinating subject. I know nothing about politics and only have undergraduate work and I love this class. Anyone interested in politics, even with the lack of knowledge I had should take this course. Thank you Yale University and Coursera

por C. m

Nov 25, 2018

Professor spiritual manor provokes a high level of awareness of a higher motivation above “interests “ raising a possibility for a student to feel what they think and their actions can make a more understanding , accecpecting, and peaceful community.

por Judith H

Nov 20, 2015

Almost without exception, the best courses of my life have been those that were built by an extremely knowledgeable professor bringing in diverse and original sources of material and organizing them in a unique way. This is one of those courses.

por Niina N

Mar 10, 2020

As a non-native speaker, some parts were difficult to understand. However, the instructor cited a number of examples and an easier language

to explain terms that I had never heard of. The quality and quantity of this course were so satisfying.

por Miroslav P C

Jan 25, 2017

Es un curso excelente para familiarizarse con distintos temas concernientes a la teoría política y sus fundamentos filosóficos. Entregan contenido con el que uno puede tener las bases para entender distintos debates o asuntos de interés.

por caterina c

Nov 24, 2016

This is the course that helped me realise what it is that I am actually interested in, A brilliant overview of some of the most relevant discussions in the field. I did it during a busy time in high school but enjoyed every minute of it.

por Thomas H L T

Jun 07, 2020

The course is excellent! Particularly I had a little frustration because in some classes I thought they focused a lot on the Philosophy of Law and I didn't enjoy it so much, despite that the course is excellent. Thank you Prof, Shapiro