Chevron Left
Voltar para Economics of Money and Banking

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Economics of Money and Banking da instituição Universidade Columbia

4.9
estrelas
1,297 classificações
354 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

Melhores avaliações

BG
16 de Jul de 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

PM
26 de Jun de 2020

Extremely helpful is understanding the money view of banking system. One of the best courses. A small suggestion - it can be interspersed with more examples especially from the emerging markets.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 350 Avaliações para o Economics of Money and Banking

por Carlos G S

3 de Jul de 2021

Fundamental for the understanding of the banking and financial world, the crisis, and how dealers play an important role in the economy

por Peter A S

23 de Jan de 2021

Great course providing insight into the money view of the world! A much needed realistic alternative to the finance and economics view.

por Michele C

6 de Set de 2020

Very interesting and unusual course on banking system held by a good professor who is also inspired by the history of economic thought.

por Thoshitha

2 de Jan de 2017

The basics were well taught and understandable in 1 time view of video and the standards of the university are great! Thanks coursera!

por Sushant G

8 de Jun de 2020

Excellent course by Professor Perry G Mehrliing. Learned a lot on money and banking. I can read FT now.

Thanks to Columbia University.

por Atulya S

11 de Jun de 2017

Amazing insights into the evolution and working of money markets.Last chapters tying to economic theory could have been more detailed

por Ilias M

10 de Jan de 2018

Professor Mehrling will make you connect the dots. Masterfully conceived and delivered. Many thanks and much appreciation Professor.

por Juho V

3 de Ago de 2020

Enlightening stuff and really well presented! The second half was occasionally hard to follow without without economics background.

por Ian J M G

14 de Jul de 2020

Fantastic work by Dr. Mehrling, this course should be a priority for anyone looking to develop a profound macro view of the world.

por Pablo S

6 de Out de 2018

Incredible teacher. A lot of useful information that provides you with an eagle view of monetary and financial markets as a whole.

por M. L G

1 de Abr de 2020

Very progressive, interesting, maybe too complex for my goals in the last weeks. Highly recommended to understand today's world.

por Parth G

20 de Set de 2017

Mind Blowing approach to teach. Got the new angles of the economy and banking. Expanded the vision significantly on the subject.

por Erik M

6 de Set de 2018

Really interesting. Sometimes a bit difficult to follow and vague, but yes, certainly a pleasant and worthwhile experience.

por Jiao S

7 de Abr de 2018

Probably the most amazing course I have ever taken in economics and finance. I would definitely recommend to every student!

por Salmina A

11 de Jan de 2021

Brilliantly paced, explained and integrated lessons all throughout the course. I am an absolute fan of Professor Mehrling!

por Pavlo L

20 de Out de 2020

Great course overall

It gives you insight into what is banking about as well as what is considered to be money and credit

por sarah a m a a r

7 de Jun de 2019

An amazing course that show the light on many economic monetary polices and banking and many more overall very usefull

por Yiannis B

27 de Ago de 2017

One of the best courses I have followed!

I am expecting an update on the course.

Thank you for this wonderful experience.

por Bernardo R S

24 de Mai de 2020

Amazing course. Thanks Coursera and teacher for this fantastic classes. I´m Brazilian and enjoy this opportunity a lot.

por MARIA M

2 de Mar de 2021

HOW CAN I UNENROLL FROM THIS COURSE? I AM TRYING BUT I CAN NOT MANAGE IT. PLEASE HELP ME

MY EMAIL m.mandouvalou@acg.edu

por Jack W

18 de Abr de 2020

Teacher is really great and the content is amazing. really opened my eyes to the economy from a financial perspective

por Matthew L

11 de Jul de 2020

This is an excellent course and very helpful for anyone who wishes to learn about the 21st century financial system.

por Borja P O

5 de Jun de 2019

he content of the course is very complete and rigorous and the teacher is excellent. Very good additional resources.

por tomer z

5 de Out de 2017

Excellent professor and intersting topic. the reading material is unique and expands on the material in the course

por Ammar S A

1 de Out de 2020

Interesting and challenging course! Highly recommended for all despite having various background of education. :)