Chevron Left
Voltar para Economics of Money and Banking

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Economics of Money and Banking da instituição Universidade Columbia

4.9
estrelas
780 classificações
193 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

Melhores avaliações

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Economics of Money and Banking

por SAURABH K

Nov 09, 2017

The course extremely helpful for people who are interested making their career in Banking.

I like this course.

por Alan F

May 03, 2019

So far just extremely insightful, inspiring and life-changing. Plus well-organized and well-explained.

por Sebastian A H

Sep 09, 2019

This course gives a very broad framework of banking with a clear explanation of how the system works.

por de f h

Aug 10, 2018

The best course I've ever had. When will Prof. Mehrling's History of Economic Thought be broadcasted?

por Jeremy A

Apr 28, 2019

Excellent course! Highly recommended for anyone interested in understanding the financial crisis.

por Jagannathan I

Jun 21, 2018

Amazing course to learn more about the nitty gritty of money markets that keep the world running!

por Luc M

Oct 13, 2017

This is one of the most favourite course I have ever come across in Coursera. Highly recommend!!!

por Zongxi Y

May 19, 2017

This course is really useful and help me know more about the relationship between Money and Banks

por Roussille A

May 06, 2017

Great course !! Very interesting and the teacher is great. The understanding is quick and simple.

por Cristian E E N

Feb 12, 2020

Very good course and excellent teacher! You can see his passion for the subjects he teaches.

por Shahab M

Jan 24, 2019

Exceptional. Really fascinating course for a regular person to understand money and banking.

por Joviano C d P J

Dec 23, 2019

This is a very good course, with a whole perspective about how the banking system works.

por Rene F

Dec 08, 2019

A staple for those that want to understand the current mechanics of money and banking

por Gustavo G

Oct 29, 2018

Es excelente. Por su teoría, por su fundamentación y por la metodología de enseñanza.

por Panchio R

Apr 04, 2019

Such great and complete course. Professor extremely professional and knowledgeable.

por Alexander L R Y

Mar 03, 2017

Fantastic course and Professor Mehrling is an incredible mentor with great insights

por Dmytro H

Aug 06, 2017

Excellent course providing in-depth understanding of modern finances and banking.

por Cagdas R O

Jan 11, 2017

awesome professor interesting lectures thank you columbia university and coursera

por Jimena M M

Oct 14, 2018

AS an economist working in external statistics at the national bank of Belgium

por Beau B

Jan 19, 2017

One of the most interesting and fascinating courses I've watched on Coursera!

por KARTHI

May 11, 2019

THIS COURSE HELP ME TO GAIN NEW KNOWLEDGE AND HELPS ME TO IMPROVE MY PROFILE

por Roberto A A Z

Apr 24, 2018

great teacher great understanding , but do you have courses on spanish?

por Oleg

Aug 05, 2019

Unbelievable course, one of the most enlightning! Thank you very much!

por Ibrahim N

Sep 04, 2018

The best course on my entire Coursera experience. Really recommend it.

por Franklin M

Apr 10, 2017

Fantastic, it is rare to found a course as profound as this in a MOOC