Chevron Left
Voltar para Economics of Money and Banking

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Economics of Money and Banking da instituição Universidade Columbia

4.9
estrelas
1,370 classificações

Sobre o curso

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

Melhores avaliações

BG

16 de jul de 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

PM

26 de jun de 2020

Extremely helpful is understanding the money view of banking system. One of the best courses. A small suggestion - it can be interspersed with more examples especially from the emerging markets.

Filtrar por:

326 — 350 de 367 Avaliações para o Economics of Money and Banking

por Grigoris K

21 de nov de 2020

Excellent!

por Holger R

4 de set de 2017

Very good.

por 彭小杰

8 de mar de 2017

wonderful!

por Mohamed A R

26 de out de 2020

very nice

por Zaza G

13 de ago de 2020

Excellent

por Javier N

9 de set de 2017

Wonderful

por Evaldas J

24 de nov de 2021

AMAZING

por Otar K

5 de mai de 2017

Sublime

por Ziqi C

11 de jul de 2021

Nice!

por Taras V

17 de jan de 2018

A

f

t

e

r

por HEYRAMB T

22 de ago de 2019

Nice

por Eray

26 de jan de 2017

good

por EMMANUEL Q

18 de out de 2016

goo

por Nusrat J

22 de jul de 2020

I

por Jacqueline K

25 de ago de 2020

Having not been present in money, finance or the world of economics for some time the first couple weeks of this course were rather intimidating. As the weeks progressed and the progression of the course became more clear, I found the course very interesting and insightful. I took this course as a personal interest course and not as a "credit" course and learned a great deal not only about the differing views regarding money, but also about the events surrounding money and the powers of banks.

por Fred V

17 de abr de 2021

This is an excellent course, delivered by a professor avid of economic tradition and old books, who shows a deep and personal understanding of historical views on money economics. This course is based more upon readings than on personal, direct experience of moeny and banking. The course, from 2015 or about, is already in needs of an update, though. Overal, this is an excellent course.

por Biagio B

16 de jul de 2017

Overall I really liked the course. Many real world examples are provided, the course covers all topics mentioned during the examples and it gives you insight in many world's banking mechanism. Negative aspects: too long, some chapter can be cut off, you need a minimum background in economics to fully enjoy the course.

por Jun X

9 de mai de 2020

The content of this course is very relevant to the real-world financial system, and provide an alternative way to understand how the financial system works and how they relate to each other. This is the biggest difference from those standard books of the money and bank. Overall, it is a very good course.

por Поморина М А

28 de out de 2019

The course content is very interesting and provides a broad view of the history of the development of the theory of money and banking.

However, tests are not always correct. The choice of answer is often ambiguous. We need slides that briefly present the essence of the problems under consideration.

por Maximilian S

27 de mai de 2020

I learned so much about an important topic and Prof. Mehrling keeps you interrested in the course throughout all lectures. I enjoyed the connection to the real world through the real world examples. Just 4 stars, because I missed some balance sheet quizes or more mathematical questions

por SAFA P A

6 de dez de 2021

Thank you for the course! The many cases and topics are general and international ones which were so useful. However, as natural and reasonable, some cases were directly related to The US market dynamics and legislations. These parts were hard for Non-US students.

por Ryan K

27 de abr de 2018

Excellent Course.

Well crafted syllabus and text that builds on material and continual ties ideas together.

Stay Liquid and Survive!

Negatives:

Dated materials, article links that do not work, some of the video editing. Quizes are not really benficiall to learning

por Julian H F

24 de fev de 2017

Very good course, teacher is great and content is very insightful.

On the less good side, students should not expect all concepts to be clarified from the beginning, so a good deal of research has to be self made.

por umwoosung

9 de jan de 2017

I can get the useful knowledge on origin of Fed and other basic source about American finace.

So I want to deeply recommend this course to all of you. Thanks