Chevron Left
Voltar para Economics of Money and Banking

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Economics of Money and Banking da instituição Universidade Columbia

4.9
737 classificações
181 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

Melhores avaliações

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Economics of Money and Banking

por Fahad Y

Jan 25, 2019

Excellent explanation of the way money moves the world we live in today. Brilliant professor who's passion and depth of understanding adds to the fascination of the world of money & banking.

por Faisal n K

Mar 24, 2019

I have learned a lot from this course. This course has completely changed the way I see economy and finance. I remeber once warren buffet said in his AGM"few teachers can completely changed the way you see world for me it was ben graham".professor mehrling could be my ben graham. It was evident from professors lectures the amazing knowledge and skills he has. Specially the way professor interprets FT articles is superb.Sometimes this course do get tough and confusing and to clear that confusion you have to revise old lectures. This course has helped me to get better understanding of how global financial system works

por Kevin S

Oct 07, 2017

Super insightful, I wasn't able to do a course in Money and Banking in university and I'm very glad I got to do this updated view on how banking works in the modern age. Excellent course

por Vatsal G

Apr 06, 2019

Working at a bank, I realized that economics and finance are in reality more driven by liquidity and money hierarchy than fundamental values. This course has given a very practical perspective on how the entire system evolved. The economics and finance they teach in schools need to come over the assumptions of perfectly liquid markets. The world is different. Let them prepare the coming generation about this since early age.

por Vishwesh R

Mar 10, 2019

Some really complex topics explained in really simple and fundamental terms

por Georgios D

Aug 30, 2019

Although I hold a BSc in Economics and an MBA, I have to admit that before taking this mooc I only had some vague macro-based ideas about the actual mechanics of banking. This mooc is an eye opener to the realities of our modern money & credit markets and institutions. I finally understood some heavilly complicated concepts, like derivative financial instruments, that are presented in a manner that builds intuition easily around their usefulness as tools, despite their heavy quant mathematics that always deterred me!

por BHAVYA K

Jul 02, 2019

I think EMB is the best course out there if you'd like to learn how money markets and capital markets interact in the modern times. This is something very unlike what is taught in your regular macro or fin courses, which will start making much more sense after you've done well in this course. Highly recommended.

por Addison L

Dec 11, 2018

Fascinating course that has well-explained in depth information about viewing the financial and economic landscape from the "Money View" and studying the evolution of banks, hierarchy between money and credit, liquidity vs solvency, the survival constraint, and more.

por Kaustubh T

Feb 16, 2019

so much to learn

por Shahab

Jan 24, 2019

Exceptional. Really fascinating course for a regular person to understand money and banking.

por Panchio R

Apr 04, 2019

Such great and complete course. Professor extremely professional and knowledgeable.

por Jose M C

Dec 24, 2018

It was great!

por Sheraz K

Feb 05, 2019

Simply the best. A well constructed course with some excellent reading material. Professor Mehrling was excellent. Thank you Professor, Columbia University and Coursera for making this wonderful course available to thousands of students all over the world.

por Jesus S

Sep 17, 2018

Great course, substantial breadth. Explains many details usually left out in standard International Finance/Money courses. Thank you Profr. Mehrling

por de f h

Aug 10, 2018

The best course I've ever had. When will Prof. Mehrling's History of Economic Thought be broadcasted?

por Benjamin F

Aug 19, 2018

Really good, but because English is not my mother tongue I will maybe go trough the course a second time. The second half of the course is more demanding, but nonetheless interesting. To be honest I did not read all the articles by due time, some of them are quite long. This is the best course I finished so far on coursera.

por Ibrahim N

Sep 04, 2018

The best course on my entire Coursera experience. Really recommend it.

por Pablo S A

Oct 06, 2018

Incredible teacher. A lot of useful information that provides you with an eagle view of monetary and financial markets as a whole.

por Gustavo G

Oct 29, 2018

Es excelente. Por su teoría, por su fundamentación y por la metodología de enseñanza.

por Jimena M M

Oct 14, 2018

AS an economist working in external statistics at the national bank of Belgium

por ANNI G

Sep 06, 2018

It really gives you some deep facts of money.

por Erik M

Sep 06, 2018

Really interesting. Sometimes a bit difficult to follow and vague, but yes, certainly a pleasant and worthwhile experience.

por Carlos A D J

Apr 24, 2017

I indeed appreciated this course! Now I can build a general view for both money and capital markets in an evolutionary and in a global perspective. I am able to understand and talk about all the players, their funtions and perspectives in the macroeconomic environment.

por Alejandro J A

Jan 06, 2018

Excellent!!!!

por Issa A

Oct 10, 2016

this is very well informative and well presented course