Chevron Left
Voltar para Modern Robotics, Course 1: Foundations of Robot Motion

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Modern Robotics, Course 1: Foundations of Robot Motion da instituição Universidade Northwestern

4.7
estrelas
483 classificações
111 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Do you want to know how robots work? Are you interested in robotics as a career? Are you willing to invest the effort to learn fundamental mathematical modeling techniques that are used in all subfields of robotics? If so, then the "Modern Robotics: Mechanics, Planning, and Control" specialization may be for you. This specialization, consisting of six short courses, is serious preparation for serious students who hope to work in the field of robotics or to undertake advanced study. It is not a sampler. In Course 1 of the specialization, Foundations of Robot Motion, you will learn fundamental material regarding robot configurations, for both serial robot mechanisms and robots with closed chains. You will learn about configuration space (C-space), degrees of freedom, C-space topology, implicit and explicit representations of configurations, and holonomic and nonholonomic constraints. You will also learn how to represent spatial velocities and forces as twists and wrenches. This material is at the core of the study of anything that moves (e.g., robots). This course follows the textbook "Modern Robotics: Mechanics, Planning, and Control" (Lynch and Park, Cambridge University Press 2017). You can purchase the book or use the free preprint pdf. You will build on a library of robotics software in the language of your choice (among Python, Mathematica, and MATLAB) and use the free cross-platform robot simulator V-REP, which allows you to work with state-of-the-art robots in the comfort of your own home and with zero financial investment....

Melhores avaliações

AC

Jan 03, 2019

This is the place to start your journey into robotics. But stick to the entire 6 courses. This course is about laying out the basics so don't expect making robots straightaway. All the best!

PG

Jun 10, 2019

it was good intro to the field of robotics. this course has intrigued my interest to learn further in the area of robotics. I would recommend this course for aspiring roboticist

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 111 Avaliações para o Modern Robotics, Course 1: Foundations of Robot Motion

por Abhijith R

May 16, 2020

Good course. Excellent instruction videos supplemented by an easy to jump in textbook material. I think it was a perfect mix between theory and practical experience (considering practical experience in Robotics can be difficult to provide for an online course). Thank you for putting together this course!

por Osama A A

Jun 13, 2020

Amazing course, covers the basis of kinematics that are needed to analyze robot motion.

Some of the math concepts are tough to grasp, but very well put and delivered.

Reading in the book is a must for optimal understanding of the course material.

por Muslim A

Apr 26, 2020

This course is very good as it introduces you to the basics of robotics control and motion. Nice and Interactive Tutors too. However, I suggest you have a sound fundamentals of Linear Algebra, matrices and Calculus. Good for Robotics basics

por Ahmed A

Feb 17, 2019

Very insightful course and you will learn the essentials of robotics science. The skills you acquire here is indispensable if you interested in studying more advanced topics in that field such as robotics control and motion planning.

por John M

Dec 06, 2018

Excellent course. I learned a lot. The assignments are challenging.

Of the Coursera offerings I've taken, this one gets the closest to my (admittedly failing) memories of a real undergraduate course with some meat to it. Well done!

por 黄玉轩

May 08, 2018

Very Great Robotics Course, much more systematic than any other course available on coursera robotics course. It will be better if the exercise and assignments are more challenging. Also the available text book is a big plus!

por anita j

Mar 31, 2019

The videos were very usefull ,at first I watch the videos carefully ,with that short video I understand that what is the subject of this part . the summary of the formulas was very usefull and it makes the learning easy.

por Tri W G

Aug 15, 2018

Very nice and compact explanation. Love the teaching style! You have to read the book to really grasp the material, if you're planning on taking this course, you have to take it seriously. It's pretty though.

por Hemanth k

Aug 20, 2018

course content is little hard to understand for newies like me. but still following the modern robotics book makes it easier because that book has a lot of problem to solve by which we can gain confidence

por Giulio C

Aug 08, 2019

Awesome introduction to robotics fundamentals. It's worth the effort!

Every lecture is well documented and, at the same time, the quizzes challenge your comprehension (you cannot just check some boxes).

por Alexander O

Nov 26, 2018

This course very accurately and consequently introduces mathematical base of robot position and kinematics. I suggest there was a great work behind to make this complicated things convenient to learn.

por Sichun X

May 17, 2020

Really well structured and organized. The material can be slightly overwhelming at times because of the concepts, but once you get a hang of it, it becomes much better!

por José P L A A

May 29, 2020

Excellent introduction to the course, for someone who has been 4 years out of academic life I found it challenging yet satisfying to retake linear algebra concepts

por Abdelrahman S S E

Aug 20, 2018

An excellent introduction to Screw theory and to Parallel manipulators in general for any one who wants to start developing or working on closed chain robots.

por Lucas H W

Jun 23, 2020

It was a great course. Easy to get started. The material is not that simple though. Make sure you know your linear algebra and geometry well before starting.

por Jérôme L

May 27, 2020

I learned a lot and quickly thanks to professor Kevin Lynch . This is the beginning, don't expect to program robots yet, follow the full 6 courses

por ricardo p

Jul 09, 2020

The course looks very good, but it is a pity that they do not have the possibility of taking it in other languages such as Spanish, for example

por sridath k

Jun 09, 2018

I think building the foundation strong is very much required and the planning of starting it with basic concept of D.O.F could greatly help.

por Mayur T

Jun 29, 2020

Excellent teaching!I recommend watching 'Essence of Linear Algebra' series by '3Blue1Brown' on YouTube before starting this course.

por Neyvin D L

Jul 07, 2020

Worth every penny. The instructor explains the concepts very well and the materials and quizzes really help the concepts stick.

por Thomas S

Mar 06, 2019

It takes a fair bit of work and there are a lot of details, but the class is very enjoyable and well worth the time to take it

por Ayush G

Sep 12, 2019

A relatively harder course but completely worth it. Have patience, write and learn, and you will be able to complete it.

por Willian A C B

Nov 11, 2019

Pienso que este curso es muy acertivo en cuestiones de enseñanza básica...... en lo personal me ha servido mucho.

por Dhrumil P

May 28, 2020

The best part was conceptual questions after every video which made sure that we understood each part properly.