Chevron Left
Voltar para O Surgimento do Oriente Médio Moderno - Parte 1

O Surgimento do Oriente Médio Moderno - Parte 1, Universidade de Tel Aviv

4.7
650 classificações
169 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

This course will review the emergence of the modern Middle East from the fall of the Ottoman Empire, at the end of the First World War to the present. We will discuss the Ottoman legacy in the region and the Western imperial impact on the creation of the Arab state system. The course will review the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. We will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that there is a second part to this course which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-2/home/info)....

Melhores avaliações

por MP

Sep 11, 2016

I really like the professor and his narration, quite engaging and interesting course. The only suggestion I have is to improve the quizzes with more analytical rather than fact-based questions.

por TP

Apr 30, 2016

An excellent introduction to the formation of what we know as the Middle East. This course offers great insight and context into this area, its peoples, cultures, economy, and politics.

Filtrar por:

165 avaliações

por Gary

Apr 14, 2019

Informational and inspirational, the course was clearly illustrated by Prof. Asher Susser. In this first part, the history and establishment of every country in the Middle East are explained meticulously. I was amazed by Prof. Susser's comprehensive knowledge and sources of citation, and interested even more in every aspect of the Middle East.

por Adwait Bhushan Athawale

Mar 31, 2019

Brilliant depiction of Modern Middle East. Definitely going to cover second part too.

por Mahmoud Mohammed Mostafa

Feb 23, 2019

Its carry a lot of hidden secrets about history of Middle East

por Paula Barrios

Feb 17, 2019

Fantastic course! Professor Susser has a very engaging way of teaching history and the course materials (videos, course readings and quizzes) are very high quality

por Beatriz merchan Diaz

Feb 07, 2019

Ha sido un curso excelente,dentro de poco empezaré la segunda parte.

por Ben Grinyer

Jan 20, 2019

Very well explained and hugely interesting. I highly recommend to any history enthusiasts.

por Liudmyla

Dec 02, 2018

Before taking this course I had rather preliminary understanding of what the Middle East is, how come the Ottoman Empire managed to last for four centuries, why were there some many continuous conflicts in the post Ottoman countries in the XXth century, etc. So many questions I have answered. Thank you for the well-tought lectures and well-structured material.I higly recommend this course.

por Yaniv Balderman

Nov 03, 2018

A must take course for anyone that want to understand the middle east.

por Johnny duran sanabria

Oct 12, 2018

the professor was great with him everithing was more easy, ok not that easy becouse i make my effort but a like it very much

por Tayfun Karabagli

Sep 16, 2018

Great course!