Chevron Left
Voltar para The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I, Tel Aviv University

4.7
624 classificações
163 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

This course will review the emergence of the modern Middle East from the fall of the Ottoman Empire, at the end of the First World War to the present. We will discuss the Ottoman legacy in the region and the Western imperial impact on the creation of the Arab state system. The course will review the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. We will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that there is a second part to this course which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-2/home/info)....

Melhores avaliações

por MP

Sep 11, 2016

I really like the professor and his narration, quite engaging and interesting course. The only suggestion I have is to improve the quizzes with more analytical rather than fact-based questions.

por TP

Apr 30, 2016

An excellent introduction to the formation of what we know as the Middle East. This course offers great insight and context into this area, its peoples, cultures, economy, and politics.

Filtrar por:

159 avaliações

por Liudmyla

Dec 02, 2018

Before taking this course I had rather preliminary understanding of what the Middle East is, how come the Ottoman Empire managed to last for four centuries, why were there some many continuous conflicts in the post Ottoman countries in the XXth century, etc. So many questions I have answered. Thank you for the well-tought lectures and well-structured material.I higly recommend this course.

por Yaniv Balderman

Nov 03, 2018

A must take course for anyone that want to understand the middle east.

por Johnny duran sanabria

Oct 12, 2018

the professor was great with him everithing was more easy, ok not that easy becouse i make my effort but a like it very much

por Tayfun Karabagli

Sep 16, 2018

Great course!

por Carolyn Allebrodt

Sep 02, 2018

Great course with lots of information. I only wish that it was slightly longer and had time to go into some areas in more depth, but looking forward to part 2.

por Mahmoud El-Bshlawy

Aug 24, 2018

very good

por Robert Alexander Johnson

Aug 08, 2018

A very good course to understand the beginning of the modern Middle East. This course allows a novice to understand the important players that would shape future events and we can see the impact of the actions taken by the key figures in this course in the present day.

por Wendy Phillips

Aug 05, 2018

Well-told story of the modern Middle East. Professor Susser does an excellent job of providing ethnic and religious background, characterizing the many and varied groups. and weaving in foreign influence. Appreciated the even-handed presentation of difficult issues.

por Marie-Louise Isabelle Ankringa

Aug 01, 2018

Very interesting. Enlarged my understanding of how this region became what it is today and its current day events. Links events throughout modern history. Would definitely recommend!

por Cesar Alberto Gonzalez Zuarth

Jul 10, 2018

Realmente estoy muy contento de haber tomado este curso. Mis conocimientos sobre el medio oriente mejoraron considerablemente.