Chevron Left
Voltar para O Surgimento do Oriente Médio Moderno - Parte 1

Comentários e feedback de alunos de O Surgimento do Oriente Médio Moderno - Parte 1 da instituição Universidade de Tel Aviv

4.7
estrelas
1,040 classificações
254 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course will review the emergence of the modern Middle East from the fall of the Ottoman Empire, at the end of the First World War to the present. We will discuss the Ottoman legacy in the region and the Western imperial impact on the creation of the Arab state system. The course will review the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. We will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that there is a second part to this course which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-2/home/info)....

Melhores avaliações

MP
10 de Set de 2016

I really like the professor and his narration, quite engaging and interesting course. The only suggestion I have is to improve the quizzes with more analytical rather than fact-based questions.

TP
29 de Abr de 2016

An excellent introduction to the formation of what we know as the Middle East. This course offers great insight and context into this area, its peoples, cultures, economy, and politics.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 250 Avaliações para o O Surgimento do Oriente Médio Moderno - Parte 1

por Claudia

5 de Fev de 2016

A very clear, rigorous and ENJOYABLE presentation of a very complex subject. Definitely everyone interested in the roots of the modern Middle East troubles should take this primer.

por Anna W

21 de Jul de 2019

I have taken many courses through Coursera, and this one is by far my favorite. The content is easy to understand, the lectures are concise, and the professor does not waste a second of your time in his lectures. I cannot recommend this course enough!

por Meri P

11 de Set de 2016

I really like the professor and his narration, quite engaging and interesting course. The only suggestion I have is to improve the quizzes with more analytical rather than fact-based questions.

por TMinsk

29 de Mai de 2016

This class was so informative and it brought to mind many thoughts and questions about how we interact globally. If you're not familiar with the area, you probably should bring up a few maps to refer to during the lectures -- he has plenty of graphics but that wasn't enough for me.

The history of this area has always been so convoluted (in my mind at least); this class has taught me a lot and kept my interest throughout. Too many names but taking actual notes helps. I'm starting the next part now! Very worthwhile class.

por Armand R

26 de Jun de 2017

I'll be honest. I had ignored taking this course since I worried that learning about the Middle East from an Israeli professor would be filled with bias. How ignorant I was! Professor Susser was an obviously incredibly knowledgeable and objective lecturer. It was apparent that living in the Middle East really enhanced, and in no way diminished, his presentation of the history of this area.

Professor Susser and staff I thank you for putting together this fantastic course!

por Jenny P M A

29 de Jun de 2019

Este curso superó mis expectativas siento una gran afinidad por el Medio Oriente y gracias bajo el direccionamiento del Profesor Asher Susser siento y se que tuve una adquisición de conocimiento o aprendizaje del mejor. Muy bueno, Excelente Gracias a la Universidad de Tel Aviv por su compromiso y su educación de calidad y por supuesto muchas gracias Coursera.

JJENNY MORENO AVELLANEDA

por Gabriela R S F

11 de Jun de 2019

Excelente. Absolutamente todo de un nivel de excelencia. Completo, dinámico, y accesible a cualquier persona sin conocimiento previo en el tema. Felicitaciones.

por Carolyn A

2 de Set de 2018

Great course with lots of information. I only wish that it was slightly longer and had time to go into some areas in more depth, but looking forward to part 2.

por Angel V

26 de Mai de 2017

I recommend this course to anyone interested in learning about the Middle East. (I took Part I and Part II of this course) The Middle East is a very hot topic of discussions these days, but sadly a lot of people don’t know much about the region. Most of the people learn about the Middle East trough media. Popular (mainstream) media creates an image of the region that only involves terrorism, autocratic governments and civil war. Even though most of the Middle East contemporary problems are extremely complicated, this course will help you understand a little about the region’s modern history, culture and ethnic/religious diversity. Understanding Middle East’s history (especially its modern history) will help you a great deal to understand the region’s contemporary issues. The Middle East is much more than what we see in the news. This course will greatly expand your knowledge regarding the history and culture of the region. I recommend people to take both, Part I and Part II, of this course. You will not regret it.

por Analia C C

10 de Mar de 2020

Es un curso fantástico, me ha ayudado a comprender mucho mejor la importancia del Imperio Otomano y todos los acontecimientos que llevaron a su disolución, así como el papel que jugaron las grandes potencias después de la Primera Guerra Mundial y los intereses que movían a cada una de ellas en la formación, muchas veces arbitraria de los estados que hoy forman Oriente Medio; el rol de las religiones en cada uno de ellos, las diferencias entre las distintas ramas del Islam y las posiciones que adoptaron algunas minorías que han causado en muchas ocasiones situaciones muy críticas que ocasionaron enorme cantidad de pérdidas en vidas humanas. Comprender históricamente el rol que tuvieron ayuda a ampliar la visión que tenemos en Occidente.

por Kyle C

9 de Jun de 2017

This course taught me more about the Middle East than anything I encountered in my undergraduate education. I feel like this should be a mandatory class in US colleges to explain the middle east to an otherwise ignorant populace (counting myself in this as well). This class was worth everything for explaining the differences between Arabs and Non-Arabs, the different sects of Islam, and why many middle eastern cultures object to foreign or Western influence.

por Michael K

28 de Jun de 2018

Extraordinarily helpful course. Impossible not to be impressed by Professor Susser's knowledgeable and even-handed treatment of the final century of the Ottoman Empire and the Middle East resulting from the end of World War I. Very much looking forward to Part II of the course.

por Wendy P

5 de Ago de 2018

Well-told story of the modern Middle East. Professor Susser does an excellent job of providing ethnic and religious background, characterizing the many and varied groups. and weaving in foreign influence. Appreciated the even-handed presentation of difficult issues.

por Marcy H

18 de Nov de 2015

An outstanding course -- provides a great depth of information and explanation of how and why the Middle East was shaped. I recommend this and Part II to anyone interested in understanding the Middle East and its complex development.

por Aakash A

8 de Set de 2017

A complete breakdown of the Middle Eastern States emergence from the Ottoman Empire's rule to the Mandates imposted by the European Powers post WW1.

Looking forward to part 2.

por Weber L

17 de Abr de 2016

Great intro to understanding the modern middle east, although some introduction to the history of Islam, it's achievements and culture and the ottoman empire would also have been useful to understand more of an overall picture

por Kasra S

7 de Fev de 2020

first I should say I was impressed by the great information about historical events presented in this course but unfortunately the lecturer put so much emphasis on the ottoman empire, Egypt and Arab states and almost neglected the important role of Iran in the emergence of the modern Middle East.

por Hilde v d B

5 de Dez de 2015

The course material was very interesting! The videos were a bit too lengthy, however.

por Gladiston C

20 de Jul de 2021

Boa noite, meu nome é Gládiston, sou brasileiro e moro em São Paulo, Brasil. Sou professor da rede pública e resolvi fazer este curso porque é muito importante pra minha formação contínua. Os conteúdos aprendidos serão muito úteis para as minhas aulas. Gostei de todos os módulos do curso, pois cada um abordou o tema de uma nova perspectiva. Agradeço, profundamente, pela oportunidade, pois, certamente, poderei contribuir para formação de seres humanos dignos e responsáveis.

Good evening, my name is Gládiston, I am Brazilian and I live in São Paulo, Brazil. I am a teacher in the public network and I decided to take this course because it is very important for my continuing education. The contents learned will be very useful for my classes. Enjoy all the modules of the course, as each one approached the theme from a new perspective. I deeply thank you for the opportunity, for I will certainly be able to contribute to the formation of worthy and responsible human beings.

por Deborah C

19 de Mai de 2016

Thorough, insightful and taught with passion, this course gave me the understanding of the middle east conflict that I was looking for. They say experts can explain a complicated subject and make it feel simple and easy to understand and that is what Prof. Susser did with this course. Truly a "do not miss" course for any level if you want to gain insights into the history or get a simple and real understanding of the modern middle east. Really a great course.

por Hanno H

1 de Fev de 2017

Very nice presentation; clear and with frequent references to people or events discussed in earlier lectures to provide a growing net of connected facts. As with many courses, my only objection is that it could be so much more detailed ... but that is not the aim of the course (and thus just a comment from me). Very nice course, easily taken in a few evenings (lectures) and over a few weeks (readings). I would recommend this to anyone.

por Pablo S S

14 de Abr de 2017

Such a wonderful course! Clear and concise, but entertaining, deep and thorough at the same time. If you love history, this is your course: you will finish it understanding why the Middle East looks the way it does in the present. And, indirectly, comprehending in a new way recent developments in the Syria, Egypt, Turkey and Iran. Thank you so much, Professor Susher, for illuminating us with this course!

por Liudmyla

2 de Dez de 2018

Before taking this course I had rather preliminary understanding of what the Middle East is, how come the Ottoman Empire managed to last for four centuries, why were there some many continuous conflicts in the post Ottoman countries in the XXth century, etc. So many questions I have answered. Thank you for the well-tought lectures and well-structured material.I higly recommend this course.

por Miriam C G R

29 de Set de 2016

Es un curso que se ve muy interesante y me gustaría poder continuarlo. Desgraciadamente mi obstáculo para esto es el idioma. Aunque los vídeos están subtitulados las lecturas que dejan son en inglés. Mi conocimiento de inglés es muy bajo y tardaría muchísimo en leer los documentos. Espero pronto mejorar este aspecto y para entonces siga este curso para poderlo tomar.

Muchas gracias.

por Ying X

27 de Set de 2017

this course covered a lot of Middle east history in such a compact and concise and clear way(compare to reading books on amazon by yourself.....) .Highly recommended.....I never know about the French influence in Syria, and British advocacy for Arab nationalism before...also the Turkish reform....this course is easy to understand with lots of resources and you learn a lot~