Chevron Left
Voltar para Arte moderna e novas ideias

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Arte moderna e novas ideias da instituição Museu de Arte ModernaMuseu de Arte Moderna

4.8
estrelas
4,934 classificações
1,258 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Modern Art & Ideas! This course is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. Over the next five weeks, you will look at art through a variety of themes: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects works of art from The Museum of Modern Art’s collection to the theme. You will hear audio interviews with artists, designers, and curators and learn more about selected works in the additional readings and resources. Throughout this course you will discover how artists: -- represent place and take inspiration from their environment, -- create works of art to express, explore, and question identity, -- use everyday objects to challenge assumptions about what constitutes a work of art and how it should be made, -- and respond to the social, cultural, and political issues of their time through works of art. Through the discussion forum prompts and peer review assignment, you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with your own life and experience....

Melhores avaliações

TT
7 de Jun de 2020

Really enjoyed this course! Well organized/developed, and even for a museum buff, like me, offered great ideas, and perspectives in ‘looking’ and ‘understanding’ art, and particular artist’s process.

AM
14 de Jan de 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

Filtrar por:

1176 — 1200 de 1,246 Avaliações para o Arte moderna e novas ideias

por Sree H V N

25 de Abr de 2019

I enjoyed learning this course thoroughly............

por Sai K

1 de Jun de 2020

i love the videos, easy to understand and lively : )

por Carla L F V

28 de Mai de 2018

very complete course. Different perspectives

por YingCai

13 de Mai de 2017

Good introduction of modern art! I like it!

por Fangyan S

9 de Ago de 2017

Materials and subjects are well chosen.

por Pepe L

1 de Abr de 2017

very nice introduction for artist mind

por Sheng L

17 de Mar de 2020

Good time spend reading about stuff

por Kolawole J k

26 de Set de 2020

I really appreciate this course

por Clara M

4 de Out de 2020

Very complete and inspiring

por Maria M S G

12 de Ago de 2020

Me encanto y aprendí mucho.

por Ema E Y

31 de Ago de 2019

me gustaria mas pruebas

por Luke R

13 de Jan de 2019

Very insightful course.

por Hyun-Woo L

24 de Nov de 2015

I've just started, but

por Preethy A M

12 de Set de 2017

I liked the course.

por Patricia

14 de Jul de 2020

Interesting Class.

por Sijie H

28 de Fev de 2019

Very nice classes!

por Willem F

19 de Jul de 2017

so far really good

por Sandra P C

18 de Mar de 2016

Great material!

por David D S ( D

2 de Jul de 2020

muy buen curso

por möm'ß q d d

17 de Mai de 2020

Learned a lot

por Manojkumar P

29 de Dez de 2015

Nice Course

por Kate

25 de Dez de 2015

This course is designed for school teachers and, perhaps, for art museum's workers. I'm neither, but I took this course because I'd like to know more about the modern art.

The course is essentially a merge of two independent parts, namely, videos about artworks and papers about different theories of education in art. I took this course because of artworks, so I was not interested in papers.

Videos were great; especially the first one in each lesson. Even my husband, who isn't fond of art in general, found these videos interesting. In videos, lecturer explains history and meaning of each piece of art.

Required reading was dramatically different. First, students are required to read at least 10 pages (art papers) about approaches in teaching AND at least 4 articles in museum's website PER WEEK. Actually, careful reading not just browsing does take a lot of time, in fact, it takes way more time per week than claimed. In addition, these reading were not useful for me! I am not interested in teaching art, and reading same facts about artworks that I've heard in lectures is waste of my time. Seriously, I and most of people grasp most of the ideas from the first time; even if not, I would watch the video again. Why should I do extra reading that brings me no extra knowledge?

On a good side, one can pass quiz without any reading. Just a bit of thinking process, and you pass with 5/6 or 6/6 score.

Overall, the course is attractive because of amazing videos. However, I believe that this course must be reorganized in two different courses - one would be about artworks and understanding of art, another would be about teaching techniques in art.

por Felix C

2 de Jan de 2017

I very much enjoyed the setup of the course, that is the short introduction and then the discussion of different artworks per theme. However, I must say that I expected the course to be more thorough in the discussion of the different themes and artworks. I believe the course would benefit from a more in depth discussions of the artworks. This could for example include more background information about the artist or a comparison of different pieces by the same artist to better understand the artists' views and development through history. Such additions would elevate the level of the course and also help identify certain themes and events that often recur in art. To conclude, it was a very enjoyable course that help grasp basic concepts of modern art.

por kyle v

26 de Fev de 2019

This class is great for learning about modern art, but it lacks a touch in what started the modern art movement. I would like to see a line of where modern art came out of and how it progressed with a set of ideas. Art history is more about the development of artists through their times with their medium; problem solving, not just a set of dates and factual information on the artist. The course does touch on development, but it is not enough to keep me interested. Also, I did not think the assignment's were that great. It reminded me of a middle school art assignment. Would not take it again. Could find better, more in depth information on modern art elsewhere.

por Kathrine I

7 de Jul de 2020

I did enjoy the course information with mixed reading and videos, however....there were glitches in some of the modules. Make sure you recheck your weeks when you're half way through to make sure you've done everything required (2 quiz's suddenly appeared that I had not seen). Trying to download the final project was a challenge. Very confusing since they don't tell you there are 2 different finals. Took me hours to figure out why I was doing one final only to log in and getting instructions on a completely different one. And the cherry on top? I paid $49 to get a certificate only to find out it's one you print out yourself. What exactly was the $49 for?