Chevron Left
Voltar para Modelos de Pensamento

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Modelos de Pensamento da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.8
estrelas
2,084 classificações
473 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We live in a complex world with diverse people, firms, and governments whose behaviors aggregate to produce novel, unexpected phenomena. We see political uprisings, market crashes, and a never ending array of social trends. How do we make sense of it? Models. Evidence shows that people who think with models consistently outperform those who don't. And, moreover people who think with lots of models outperform people who use only one. Why do models make us better thinkers? Models help us to better organize information - to make sense of that fire hose or hairball of data (choose your metaphor) available on the Internet. Models improve our abilities to make accurate forecasts. They help us make better decisions and adopt more effective strategies. They even can improve our ability to design institutions and procedures. In this class, I present a starter kit of models: I start with models of tipping points. I move on to cover models explain the wisdom of crowds, models that show why some countries are rich and some are poor, and models that help unpack the strategic decisions of firm and politicians. The models covered in this class provide a foundation for future social science classes, whether they be in economics, political science, business, or sociology. Mastering this material will give you a huge leg up in advanced courses. They also help you in life. Here's how the course will work. For each model, I present a short, easily digestible overview lecture. Then, I'll dig deeper. I'll go into the technical details of the model. Those technical lectures won't require calculus but be prepared for some algebra. For all the lectures, I'll offer some questions and we'll have quizzes and even a final exam. If you decide to do the deep dive, and take all the quizzes and the exam, you'll receive a Course Certificate. If you just decide to follow along for the introductory lectures to gain some exposure that's fine too. It's all free. And it's all here to help make you a better thinker!...

Melhores avaliações

YK

6 de abr de 2018

The course presents a multitude of models that enable us to analyze human and systems behavior and interactions. By making implicit assumptions explicit we can understand real world processes better.

GK

24 de fev de 2017

Great content and lectures, that possibly provides new dimensions to look/explain the situation in context, I guess I will comeback for references to continue with this journey in to 'Model Thinking'

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 466 Avaliações para o Modelos de Pensamento

por Joerg P

29 de jun de 2019

The course touches on a wide variety of topics, while keeping a clear focus. The presentations are fun to watch and Prof. Scott presents with enthusiasm and presents interesting examples where the models apply in day to day life. The syllabus adds some interesting leads for those who want to dig a bit deeper in that matter. I'm happy to have learnt some new models, deeper understood some models I used to know and eager to see how to apply this in the future. Mental note: Be open to switch chairs, but be careful to switch rooms ;-)

por KShah

17 de ago de 2020

One of the best classes for a "thinking" person to understand complexity in human society. How does complexity arise from "simple" interactions among people, culture, nations? The instructor (Scott E Page) is a gifted with magical ability to explain complex ideas through "simple" examples, yet preserve the "complexity" of problems. Quizzes and exams are also well thought out. Thank you to all (Professor, teaching staff, forum contributors and moderators) for putting together the amazing experience of "Model Thinking"!

por Stefano G

8 de fev de 2017

This excellent course provides a broad overview of the main models for decision support. Arguments are too vast to be treated in a single course, each of them would deserve at least one special course. But what is important is the knowledge of these opportunities. The course provides the basic tools in several areas, leaving the opportunity to deepen to the interest of each participant. A special praise to the teacher, proficient in triggering the audience's interest and attention, with a good dose of sympathy and irony.

por Tom B

13 de jan de 2016

Barely in and it's one of the very best most fun courses I've taken. Scott is hugely enthusiastic and articulate in just the right ways. I hope I'm learning as much as I'm having fun letting model patterns float through my brain. I guess that is learning, sorta. I'm excited to complete the course and build on it. A very good sign. Thank you all so much for putting these courses out there. It's fucking fantastic. Okay, it doesn't really get more emphatic than that from me. Thank you again. Tom Bauer.

por Annabelle W

4 de fev de 2021

This is, hands down, the best course I've ever taken - in-person or online! It is incredibly stimulating, engaging, well-presented and it will challenge you. Not only will it challenge you, but it will change how you view the world, and will give you a profound excitement for things you've never considered before. Anybody and everybody will benefit from this, whatever your career or personal life - this is a course that ascends academia into real-world living. Thank you!

por jim.carfrae

5 de mai de 2021

Open new doors to you view on the world and be a better person for it.

Model Thinking is an amazing introductory course. You will be exposed to many new ideas that are taught in simple and understandable lectures. Scott Page is a great lector and a passionate evangelist for Model Thinking. He rightly shows the many ways these many models can be applied to multiple situations.

It is not imaginable that you will not improve in multiple areas because of this course.

por Juris S

28 de jun de 2021

Greetings from Latvia, Riga!

For all who are thinking to start the course. I have just completed a very good course and if you want to expand your horizons and become a better thinker. Take it, the course will help you to make clearer decisions.

I will continue to learn some course topics individually.

Thanks to Coursera who provide an excellent course from the University of Michigan and specially thanks to the professor.

Best regards,

Juris Scheps

por Balint P

31 de jan de 2017

Very useful and engaging course in general! There were a lot of interesting parts in it. Especially, because it showed that the "many model thinking" is a useful "tool" in various fields of life. There were some trivial parts/ lectures, but it was still useful to go back to some basics for deeper understanding. Scott Page was also a great lecturer and I liked the whole structure of the course. Thanks for the great course, keep up the good work!

por Deleted A

25 de mar de 2016

An enlightening course. Opens my mind to a wide vista of new ways of thinking and living. Practical with seemingly endless tools for the mind. Prof. Page provides a wide variety of examples that are relatable.

The best thing for me is how Prof. Page feels relatable and approachable in his teaching style - he seems to really want students to understand what he's teaching and meeting us where we are, providing excellent scaffolding along the way.

por Mawabo M

23 de dez de 2015

I have a Masters degree and until I took this MOOC I had somehow gotten used to the ridiculous notion that I had learned everything that I needed to know. I am pleasantly amazed at how much I still don't know and I am very excited to learn more. I have even started reading journal articles by Page and Zellner because I am very facinated by the models shown to me in this course.

Thank you very much for making this material available.

por Diogo A

6 de out de 2020

This course is a true delight. You will not learn advanced mathematics of programming skills: for that, there's plenty available. More critically, this course will give you the motivation to face that sometimes daunting math with a smile on your face. It will also give you critical skills to think about topics such as elections, forest fires, randomness and strategy. I cannot recommend this enough. Also, the professor is amazing.

por H. F

21 de jan de 2018

This class is just absolutely fantastic. I learned a ton and ended up getting a few of Scott Page's books, which go into even more detail (but still not at a level where someone like me, with a minimal math background, couldn't get it). Thank you for making this course. I'm a PhD student in Philosophy and this class (and Page's books) helped me work on an epistemology paper I would have been unable to do otherwise. Thank you!

por Кучумов В А

27 de jun de 2017

It is hard to imagine that a huge amount of information, which Scott collected, structured and offered as a finished course. I have learned a lot new data about natural phenomena, the behavior of the group of people and individuals in different social and economic conditions. I think that course is very useful to any person who want to expand his horizons and become truly "an intelligent citizen in the world". Thanks a lot.

por Adail M R

10 de mai de 2021

This was a very insightful and fun course! Using models to enhance our thinking and applying it to our daily life is a big lever for higher levels of performance and satisfaction! Professor Page does a great job at explaining this essential topic, with lots of examples and his engaging style! I took it twice, with some years in between, and I learned a lot every time! Highly recommended to anyone who thinks!

por Vijay S S

4 de jun de 2020

One the finest course I had ever opted for. Professor Scott E Page is a true genius. The learning community needs more such courses especially from the legend himself to make a better sense of the things happening around us. It is highly recommended to purchase the books written by Professor Scott E Page for that every book worth its weight in gold. With profound regards to Professor Scott E Page. Cheers.

por Eric W

18 de jan de 2017

This course blew my mind week after week. Professor Page's excitement for the topic combined with an amazing ability to communicate clearly and concisely made this an awesome 12 week journey. The double edge of the course is that after 11 weeks my brain is carrying so many new models, it can be hard to keep them straight ... that's what practice and refreshing is for. Awesome class!

por Phil M

16 de ago de 2019

Models are the stuff of knowledge: we propose simplified versions of how the world works and consider how well they match reality. Scott answers the philosophical question "What are models for?" and gives an introduction to several engaging models. Anyone who wants to become a lifelong learner will do well to develop the skill of designing, refining, and applying their own models.

por Zakhar K

1 de jan de 2020

A great intro to mental models - interesting, provocative and thought-inducing. Scott lays off the foundation by breaking complex processes into simple equations and deriving the formulas (the formulas that really work!). This course will definitely help one start looking at our world in models - getting a clearer understanding of what's happening around us.

Thanks, Mr. Page! <3

por Marta K

6 de jun de 2017

An eye opening walk through different models that govern our lives, both personal, political, social, economic and... [insert any industry, academic discipline]. It'll help you become a more rational person, pay attention to fallacies and patterns that appear around us. Might also turn you into a selfish bot evaluating everything rationally, unless that's just me ;-)

por Udaya R

13 de nov de 2016

This was a very well structured course. Prof. Scott has delivered wach lecture with great clarity. As introduction course, it had a very good range of topics and models to learn from. The content is intuitive enough to apreciate the "fertility" of these models and apply them in various contexts.

Many thanks,

Looking forward to more such courses on modeling,

Udaya Ranga

por Yi D

28 de jan de 2017

Great course for quantitative social science, focusing on modeling. I recommend anyone who are interested in social science to take it to know something beyond the traditional reasoning method. I really think quantitative is the future of social science though it is not mature enough. Anyway, this course gives a great introduction, and the content is plenty.

por Nastaran A

4 de jul de 2020

There's something really amazing about having a class with Professor Page. He deeply knows how to keep a class alive! He ends his class sessions with "thank you", and now, I want to say him thank "you"! This class helped me to find my true way. I found the very thing I was seeking. I deeply appreciate it. Thanks for this great opportunity! :)))

por Ali M

14 de jul de 2019

This is a brilliant course taught by an exceptional instructor who is a passionate innovator in his field. This course not online provided me with just the right amount of "stretch" in terms of the intellectual effort needed, it also expanded the boundaries of my knowledge. You will become smarter if you take this course, I highly recommend it.

por Mariem B H

1 de mai de 2022

Thanks a lot Teacher! The course is awesome though it is an introductory one. I would recommend it to anyone who would like to get an overview about different mathematical models. The math inside is not complicated. The quizzes are well designed and can help you to understand better because there are explanations with each of them. Good luck!

por Prabal G

14 de abr de 2020

Its an excellent introductory course to develop model thinking capability in an intuitive and practical manner. The course is designed to supplement you cognitive abilities to analyse a variety of decisions people take in life. The instructor, course content and reading material are exceptionally good and I learnt a lot by taking this course.