Chevron Left
Voltar para Modelos de Pensamento

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Modelos de Pensamento da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.8
estrelas
2,096 classificações
477 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We live in a complex world with diverse people, firms, and governments whose behaviors aggregate to produce novel, unexpected phenomena. We see political uprisings, market crashes, and a never ending array of social trends. How do we make sense of it? Models. Evidence shows that people who think with models consistently outperform those who don't. And, moreover people who think with lots of models outperform people who use only one. Why do models make us better thinkers? Models help us to better organize information - to make sense of that fire hose or hairball of data (choose your metaphor) available on the Internet. Models improve our abilities to make accurate forecasts. They help us make better decisions and adopt more effective strategies. They even can improve our ability to design institutions and procedures. In this class, I present a starter kit of models: I start with models of tipping points. I move on to cover models explain the wisdom of crowds, models that show why some countries are rich and some are poor, and models that help unpack the strategic decisions of firm and politicians. The models covered in this class provide a foundation for future social science classes, whether they be in economics, political science, business, or sociology. Mastering this material will give you a huge leg up in advanced courses. They also help you in life. Here's how the course will work. For each model, I present a short, easily digestible overview lecture. Then, I'll dig deeper. I'll go into the technical details of the model. Those technical lectures won't require calculus but be prepared for some algebra. For all the lectures, I'll offer some questions and we'll have quizzes and even a final exam. If you decide to do the deep dive, and take all the quizzes and the exam, you'll receive a Course Certificate. If you just decide to follow along for the introductory lectures to gain some exposure that's fine too. It's all free. And it's all here to help make you a better thinker!...

Melhores avaliações

YK

6 de abr de 2018

The course presents a multitude of models that enable us to analyze human and systems behavior and interactions. By making implicit assumptions explicit we can understand real world processes better.

GK

24 de fev de 2017

Great content and lectures, that possibly provides new dimensions to look/explain the situation in context, I guess I will comeback for references to continue with this journey in to 'Model Thinking'

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 470 Avaliações para o Modelos de Pensamento

por Bart H J

1 de mai de 2019

If you're interested in thinking more accurately, this course exposes you to a variety of models to help with that. Terrific!

por Godwin K

22 de out de 2016

Broad & Simple to follow - some basic math is required. Many models introduced and extremenly useful to have in your toolbox.

por Din K

16 de mar de 2019

Very good introduction to model thinking. Thanks for providing this free course and the excellent delivery from Scott Page.

por Ellen P

22 de out de 2016

I definitely will recommend it to some other friends! It made me understood much better with great and detailed examples.

por Jinghao C

21 de mai de 2016

It is a great class. Please keep moving on if you could not understand some sections. You will get it in future sections.

por Соколова Д А

7 de dez de 2017

Super informative and in some cases even entertaining.This course helped me to look at our lives from a different poi

por Lim K B J

3 de mai de 2020

Excellent course , very clear lectures by Professor Scott and an intellectual course. Learned a lot and thank you !

por Adrià C A

24 de mai de 2019

Really useful course. Recommended to everyone who want to be introduced to models and acquire a new way of thinking.

por 任喆

2 de out de 2016

I would love to watch the videos again! They are helpful and you will find that they can be used in your daily life.

por Artem S

4 de nov de 2015

Excellent overview of a wide variety of models with nice and easy tasks and great examples of real life application.

por Danilo B S

19 de jan de 2017

Excellent course, it helps understanding the world around us and creating logical ways to solve complex problems.

por Udai T

7 de jan de 2021

Terrific, well-designed course! It gives us a lot of tools to use for daily problem-solving and decision-making.

por Avi

23 de abr de 2019

A truly exceptional course with a passionate lecturer. I do not hesitate in recommending this course to anyone.

por Ashwin P

7 de nov de 2015

This is an awesome course. Just would like to have some advanced courses that discuss creation of more models.

por John H

22 de dez de 2018

Best high level modeling course! The course uses Interesting important examples for each category of model.

por Scott H

30 de mai de 2020

A great introduction to various models and how to use them as a grounding to understanding complex systems.

por Vusi M

7 de out de 2021

I would suggest this course to anyone who wants to have a clearer and methodical approach to complexities.

por Maharaja P S

15 de dez de 2020

One of the best courses I've come across. Really looking forward to seeing advanced courses on the topic.

por Черепанов Г М

5 de abr de 2022

V​ery useful course that provides a great introduction to many concepts from game theory and statistics.

por Konstantinos D

19 de out de 2021

Amazing work. I have seen many videos in youtube of that course before get it here. Recommended for sure

por Alex L

27 de out de 2015

Scott E is wonderful to learn from! Very exciting and interesting material, worth taking the deep dive!

por Shahnawaz S

19 de fev de 2017

The instructor does a very good job in explaining difficult concepts and is amazing in his teaching ..

por Zina P

26 de jun de 2018

This course is changing the way I looked at analytics and modeling for businesses. Great experience.

por Кондрашова Н А

26 de abr de 2022

​прекрасно разработанный курс, структурированно выданные знания , я буду пользоваться ими в будущем

por Andrzej S

16 de set de 2021

Great introduction to model thinking / mental models! It was a pleasure to listen do Prof. Scott :)