Chevron Left
Voltar para Modelos de Pensamento

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Modelos de Pensamento da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.8
estrelas
1,876 classificações
410 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We live in a complex world with diverse people, firms, and governments whose behaviors aggregate to produce novel, unexpected phenomena. We see political uprisings, market crashes, and a never ending array of social trends. How do we make sense of it? Models. Evidence shows that people who think with models consistently outperform those who don't. And, moreover people who think with lots of models outperform people who use only one. Why do models make us better thinkers? Models help us to better organize information - to make sense of that fire hose or hairball of data (choose your metaphor) available on the Internet. Models improve our abilities to make accurate forecasts. They help us make better decisions and adopt more effective strategies. They even can improve our ability to design institutions and procedures. In this class, I present a starter kit of models: I start with models of tipping points. I move on to cover models explain the wisdom of crowds, models that show why some countries are rich and some are poor, and models that help unpack the strategic decisions of firm and politicians. The models covered in this class provide a foundation for future social science classes, whether they be in economics, political science, business, or sociology. Mastering this material will give you a huge leg up in advanced courses. They also help you in life. Here's how the course will work. For each model, I present a short, easily digestible overview lecture. Then, I'll dig deeper. I'll go into the technical details of the model. Those technical lectures won't require calculus but be prepared for some algebra. For all the lectures, I'll offer some questions and we'll have quizzes and even a final exam. If you decide to do the deep dive, and take all the quizzes and the exam, you'll receive a Course Certificate. If you just decide to follow along for the introductory lectures to gain some exposure that's fine too. It's all free. And it's all here to help make you a better thinker!...

Melhores avaliações

AA
23 de Nov de 2020

very informative and insightful on how to use the various models at our disposal to take optimal decision. Also, was nostalgic to go back in time where these models were part of my university degree.

GK
24 de Fev de 2017

Great content and lectures, that possibly provides new dimensions to look/explain the situation in context, I guess I will comeback for references to continue with this journey in to 'Model Thinking'

Filtrar por:

326 — 350 de 401 Avaliações para o Modelos de Pensamento

por SHENQUNCE

18 de Fev de 2020

great

por liry

16 de Nov de 2018

Great

por yashar k s

11 de Set de 2017

best

por Sergio A C

23 de Out de 2016

good

por Bigfoot

18 de Jun de 2016

cool

por Дышко В А

30 de Out de 2018

Top

por Ana R N A

23 de Ago de 2017

...

por George B

2 de Mai de 2016

A+

por 林光杰

2 de Ago de 2016

I

por gaocen

23 de Jun de 2016

S

por Inga U

17 de Mar de 2016

S

por Amir M S

26 de Fev de 2016

T

por Percy B

21 de Out de 2015

A

por Andreas S

30 de Dez de 2019

Scott E. Page has conducted a great online course on Model Thinking that helps in order to be an more intelligent citizen of the world, to make us clearer, better thinkers and sort out logical inconsistencies by using models, to better understand data as well as to better to decide, strategize, and design. The lecture style of Mr. Page is very entertaining, calm, pleasurable and congenial - he explains very good and is able to get complex and abstract things to the point and makes them transferable to the real world. Some issues are related to the transcript or material style and some smaller errors, for example. Anyways: Thank you very much, Mr. Page. I would appreciate working with you and visiting other lectures.

por Les S

26 de Nov de 2016

This is a a really good intro course. As a short introduction to lots of different models, you come away with a full appreciation of how the reduction of the complex into simple models can advance your thinking, help better understand why people make the choices they do and make sense of situations that otherwise would be obscure. The only reason this is not a five-star rating is because there are a few points in the class where there is a break in the logic (i.e. a missing piece) and there are slides and text below the video that contain typos or mistakes. Individually, none of these are a big deal, but collectively, they take the professionalism down a notch.

por Pavlo V

7 de Ago de 2017

The course is interesting as it shows some new ways of thinking. It has some fun models which seem to be interesting to play with. The concepts given in the course may be used in many different ways. Nevertheless, too much time of the course is wasted on simple calculations like 1/3+1/3 = 2/3 which doesn't help to undrestand the concepts or to memorise them. Some practice in building own models would make the course more difficult maybe, but funnier and more memorable for sure.

por Vince L

1 de Jun de 2017

Dr. Page provides engaging and informative lectures, explaining models I've found useful in my work and personal life. I enjoyed the readings, lectures, and quizzes in this course although I found the content around week 8 or so dragged a bit for me (could've just been fatigue). I have and gladly would recommend this course. I've enrolled in a NetLogo course on Agent-Based Modelling to supplement what I learned here.

por Michel D

10 de Out de 2015

I wasn't planning to follow the whole course and doing assessment and homework. It end up being a good learning and I watched most of the videos. I skipped known information and skimmed to relatively familiar ones / or when there was too much examples. I understand the course was built for common denominator student. Thanks for making this free course. It's much appreciated. - Michel

por Mário C

7 de Dez de 2015

Contents of the course are very diverse, clearly changes your way and ability to identify patterns, and fit real world in to models to extract additional information ...

It does not have a very in depth, description about most models, but enough to understand them, because there are so many different concepts that are fit together ...

Its an excellent introductory course to models.

por Gehazi B

19 de Mai de 2019

This is a very comprehensive course of modeling, with excellent explanations, slides, readings and exercises. However, it's heavy based on rational economic models and intuition. This approach can be a barrier if you have come from a less deductive background like Behavioral and Biological Sciences.

por Xavier

20 de Jul de 2017

I rate 4 stars for the originality of the theme of his course ... not really an academic thing as far as I know. Doesn't get a 5 stars because I would have wished something more formal and rigorous. Indeed many models are covered and the lack of proper definitions make some concepts "blurred"

por Nikita B

31 de Ago de 2019

This course let me unserstand basic things about models, I think it was the target of this one. I would prefer to have more mathematics, more depth, but I think it is perfect for beginners, all topics in this course are quite easy understandable for the majority of people. Thank you!

por Andrew C

29 de Jun de 2017

An fascinating but difficult course, especially if you are just doing it out of interest rather than having a background in the subject. There is a fair bit of maths which isn't difficult but is rather swept over if you haven't done any for the last 30 years!

por Samuel D

10 de Jan de 2020

Broad range of modeling topics covered relatively quickly. Depending on your background, some of the concepts will be more or less difficult to understand. Nice way to familiarize and challenge yourself with new material at the same time.