Chevron Left
Voltar para Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.8
estrelas
984 classificações
235 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Most professions these days require more than general intelligence. They require in addition the ability to collect, analyze and think about data. Personal life is enriched when these same skills are applied to problems in everyday life involving judgment and choice. This course presents basic concepts from statistics, probability, scientific methodology, cognitive psychology and cost-benefit theory and shows how they can be applied to everything from picking one product over another to critiquing media accounts of scientific research. Concepts are defined briefly and breezily and then applied to many examples drawn from business, the media and everyday life. What kinds of things will you learn? Why it’s usually a mistake to interview people for a job. Why it’s highly unlikely that, if your first meal in a new restaurant is excellent, you will find the next meal to be as good. Why economists regularly walk out of movies and leave restaurant food uneaten. Why getting your picture on the cover of Sports Illustrated usually means your next season is going to be a disappointment. Why you might not have a disease even though you’ve tested positive for it. Why you’re never going to know how coffee affects you unless you conduct an experiment in which you flip a coin to determine whether you will have coffee on a given day. Why it might be a mistake to use an office in a building you own as opposed to having your office in someone else’s building. Why you should never keep a stock that’s going down in hopes that it will go back up and prevent you from losing any of your initial investment. Why it is that a great deal of health information presented in the media is misinformation....

Melhores avaliações

JM
28 de Jul de 2019

This course is great! I recommend it to anyone who wants to be able to reason better and have more capabilities in making decisions. Thank you Dr. Nisbett and Coursera for providing this course.

MK
7 de Abr de 2020

Anyone beginner can take this course and be 100 times more understanding of information via any media while also perhaps understanding what is the best choice in some give scenario IRL.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 232 Avaliações para o Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

por Sergey L

11 de Mai de 2020

Brilliant! I constantly felt a great emotional uplift during this course and I am very grateful to Mr. Nisbett for everything that I learned

por Segizbay A

31 de Jul de 2020

Very informative. Thank you! I would want to come back to this course's lectures from time to time to refresh my knowledge. It is worth it!

por Gianluca A

15 de Mai de 2017

This course is really helpful to start thinking in a critical way.

It open your mind to a new kind of reasoning, a right kind of reasoning.

por Haoming L

25 de Nov de 2019

Useful course! Dr. Nisbett will quote many cases and examples to help you better understand many interesting concepts and phenomenons.

por Christos G

6 de Set de 2017

Excellent collection of mistakes we make during decision making and logical reasoning. A valuable companion for the rest of your life.

por Vijay S

20 de Jul de 2020

Great Course

Personal life is enriched when these same skills are applied to problems in everyday life involving judgment and choice.

por Noemi G

24 de Mar de 2020

I loved every part of this course. Enlightening and easy to follow even for people who never or almost never studied these subjects.

por Anand G

13 de Jun de 2017

Great course. liked the content as it will help in making decision and understand, analyze situations problem in much better light.

por Prisanti P

16 de Out de 2020

It's a great course suitable for everyone. The course is often bite-sized and interesting, making you want to learn more and more.

por Steven B

28 de Abr de 2019

The course was very informative and paced just right. It was a light introduction to a lot of concepts that all tied together

por Ameer U A K

5 de Mai de 2020

An excellent course. A handy worksheet like describing all the principles and a small definition of them would be great too!

por Justin C

21 de Abr de 2020

Clear lecturing and interesting tests, definitely recommend anyone who would want to think better and make better decisions

por Frank F

3 de Jun de 2020

One of the most interesting courses I have ever taken. It will change the way you read every news article and work report.

por Subrata N

23 de Mar de 2021

If one your decesion went you on wrong way don't be upset. Change your decesion and choose another path for right way.

por Luara P L

31 de Out de 2020

Material is very easy to go through, lots of pratical examples. It will surely help me make better decisions in life.

por Md R K

18 de Set de 2020

This is my first course on Cousera, Richard Nisbett is amazing with his course. It's been amazing learning with him.

por Leonardo A

9 de Abr de 2017

This is exactly what I needed in my field of work. Have been looking for this for several years and glad I found it.

por Oleksandr O

14 de Set de 2018

Excellent course! The 6th lesson was quite difficult to get it, but others are awesome. Thank you so much!

por Naz

27 de Mar de 2021

Our professor was very nice. I won't forget what I've learned. Thank you for a smooth and great course!

por Aron T B

12 de Nov de 2020

Amazing course! The content is very complete and at the same time very straightforward, very practical.

por Javier M

1 de Jul de 2020

Everyone should get this course. It's like knowing how to read and write. I must for every human being.

por Melchor S M

4 de Jun de 2019

Excellent course, the explanations by Dr. Nisbett were very clear and engaging. Highly recommended!

por Ervinas J

3 de Ago de 2019

Amazing course, going to purchase audio version of your book to listen while I commute! Thank you.

por ALESSIO F

10 de Mai de 2020

A refreshing review of common thinking fallacies and biases, with practical hints to reduce them.

por Viviana L

28 de Ago de 2018

Game-changing. Probably life-changing, too -- but I can't base my evaluation on a single event :)