Chevron Left
Voltar para Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.8
estrelas
1,046 classificações
253 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Most professions these days require more than general intelligence. They require in addition the ability to collect, analyze and think about data. Personal life is enriched when these same skills are applied to problems in everyday life involving judgment and choice. This course presents basic concepts from statistics, probability, scientific methodology, cognitive psychology and cost-benefit theory and shows how they can be applied to everything from picking one product over another to critiquing media accounts of scientific research. Concepts are defined briefly and breezily and then applied to many examples drawn from business, the media and everyday life. What kinds of things will you learn? Why it’s usually a mistake to interview people for a job. Why it’s highly unlikely that, if your first meal in a new restaurant is excellent, you will find the next meal to be as good. Why economists regularly walk out of movies and leave restaurant food uneaten. Why getting your picture on the cover of Sports Illustrated usually means your next season is going to be a disappointment. Why you might not have a disease even though you’ve tested positive for it. Why you’re never going to know how coffee affects you unless you conduct an experiment in which you flip a coin to determine whether you will have coffee on a given day. Why it might be a mistake to use an office in a building you own as opposed to having your office in someone else’s building. Why you should never keep a stock that’s going down in hopes that it will go back up and prevent you from losing any of your initial investment. Why it is that a great deal of health information presented in the media is misinformation....

Melhores avaliações

JM
28 de Jul de 2019

This course is great! I recommend it to anyone who wants to be able to reason better and have more capabilities in making decisions. Thank you Dr. Nisbett and Coursera for providing this course.

MK
7 de Abr de 2020

Anyone beginner can take this course and be 100 times more understanding of information via any media while also perhaps understanding what is the best choice in some give scenario IRL.

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de 255 Avaliações para o Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

por RT2020

6 de Ago de 2021

i

por Ritesh A

30 de Jul de 2020

H

por Sachin P

20 de Jul de 2019

G

por Jonhny G G R

12 de Jan de 2021

Veeeery interesting the course, really! If you enroll, be aware that you'll learn some very basic ways to approach any given event and be able to reason it out with confidence that you are using your brain effectively. I will not give 5 stars because the course is soooooooo rhetorical and its format is very parochial... so don't expect a lot of examples and graphics... usually is the slide of the script or the camera pointing to the professor. But the professor really understands the topic and can take hold of your attention most of the time. In general, It was worthwhile.

por Monib S

24 de Ago de 2018

Highly relevant and useful content,Being IT Professional I believe this will help in managing people more effectively without cognitive bias and also making critical decisions on go no go /feasibility studies with better overall understanding and best outcomes ! BIG Thanks Prof. Nisbett your presentation style is apt and simple to understand ,duration of each module and quiz makes this highly interesting and engrossing course

por Sujata S

8 de Jul de 2017

I think the professor was kind and laid-back. I like the ample use of examples. I would recommend it to anyone who needs an intro to logical reasoning. I am an LSAT tutor and might even recommend that some of my students watch this course before working on their LSAT to keep their mental senses open before they read anything. Thanks Dr. Nisbett.

por Isha D

14 de Ago de 2021

I STRONGLY RECCOMEND THIS COURSE TO EVERYONE OUT THERE. THIS WAS THE MOST IMPORTANT COURSE FOR ME. I INITIALLY TOOK THIS ONLY FOR CRITICAL THINKING BUT IT COVERED MANY MORE IMPORTANT TOPICS LIKE STATISTICS,OPPURTUNITY COST,PSYCHOLOGY AND LOGIC. I AM FULLY SATISFIED WITH THIS COURSE!!

por Chi P

21 de Ago de 2021

I learned statistics, economics, philosophy, and psychology - all in this course. That was certainly much more than I had expected. The examples used were very practical. Yet I find some explanations unclear and not comprehensive enough and had to google to understand better.

por Enrique M L

15 de Dez de 2020

I enjoyed a lot this course. Is an opportunity to learn about basic concepts and applications of statistics, data analysis, skills to take decisions and logic.

por Sabikun A H

6 de Set de 2020

Good course. Relates on a lot of topic. Psychology majors may benefit specially if they're just starting their psychology course.

por Gao X

30 de Ago de 2020

Quite innovative and interesting which makes me reflect on the essence of the science study

por André R S

6 de Jan de 2020

Good to recall some logics, statistics and human behaviours biases that we tend to forget.

por Abdullah A

25 de Jun de 2020

it's so great and surprising, but, for my age (17), needs more explanation

por Abhimanyu K

11 de Abr de 2020

Nice course. Basic knowledge of decision making and some basic statistics

por Tania T

18 de Mai de 2020

Great videos and cover a reasonable range of critical thinking theories.

por Chidube V E

20 de Ago de 2020

A phenomenal course presented in digestible bits. Brilliant!

por Jasmin A

10 de Nov de 2018

Very interesting course I just found it to be dry at times

por Meshal A N A

16 de Abr de 2019

Excellent instructor. Course is full of examples

por Bhavesh L

2 de Jul de 2020

Excellent content with such a experienced tutor

por Kadambeswaran B

4 de Out de 2020

good overview with good examples

por Stefano E

1 de Mar de 2019

Interesting course.

por Aikaterini T

31 de Dez de 2020

I really like it

por Edward A

30 de Ago de 2018

great... easy to

por Om G

20 de Abr de 2020

Great course 👍

por Samuel C

25 de Set de 2017

Great content