Chevron Left
Voltar para Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.8
estrelas
964 classificações
232 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Most professions these days require more than general intelligence. They require in addition the ability to collect, analyze and think about data. Personal life is enriched when these same skills are applied to problems in everyday life involving judgment and choice. This course presents basic concepts from statistics, probability, scientific methodology, cognitive psychology and cost-benefit theory and shows how they can be applied to everything from picking one product over another to critiquing media accounts of scientific research. Concepts are defined briefly and breezily and then applied to many examples drawn from business, the media and everyday life. What kinds of things will you learn? Why it’s usually a mistake to interview people for a job. Why it’s highly unlikely that, if your first meal in a new restaurant is excellent, you will find the next meal to be as good. Why economists regularly walk out of movies and leave restaurant food uneaten. Why getting your picture on the cover of Sports Illustrated usually means your next season is going to be a disappointment. Why you might not have a disease even though you’ve tested positive for it. Why you’re never going to know how coffee affects you unless you conduct an experiment in which you flip a coin to determine whether you will have coffee on a given day. Why it might be a mistake to use an office in a building you own as opposed to having your office in someone else’s building. Why you should never keep a stock that’s going down in hopes that it will go back up and prevent you from losing any of your initial investment. Why it is that a great deal of health information presented in the media is misinformation....

Melhores avaliações

JM
28 de Jul de 2019

This course is great! I recommend it to anyone who wants to be able to reason better and have more capabilities in making decisions. Thank you Dr. Nisbett and Coursera for providing this course.

MK
7 de Abr de 2020

Anyone beginner can take this course and be 100 times more understanding of information via any media while also perhaps understanding what is the best choice in some give scenario IRL.

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de 229 Avaliações para o Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

por Sujata S

8 de Jul de 2017

I think the professor was kind and laid-back. I like the ample use of examples. I would recommend it to anyone who needs an intro to logical reasoning. I am an LSAT tutor and might even recommend that some of my students watch this course before working on their LSAT to keep their mental senses open before they read anything. Thanks Dr. Nisbett.

por Enrique M L

15 de Dez de 2020

I enjoyed a lot this course. Is an opportunity to learn about basic concepts and applications of statistics, data analysis, skills to take decisions and logic.

por Stephen d

9 de Mar de 2018

I found it very interesting. I knew some of the concepts, but it was put together in an interesting way with a congenial lecturer.

por Sabikun A H

6 de Set de 2020

Good course. Relates on a lot of topic. Psychology majors may benefit specially if they're just starting their psychology course.

por Gao X

30 de Ago de 2020

Quite innovative and interesting which makes me reflect on the essence of the science study

por André R S

6 de Jan de 2020

Good to recall some logics, statistics and human behaviours biases that we tend to forget.

por pradeep v

14 de Mar de 2021

Small and beautiful. For more, I think the book used for this course should be read.

por Roberto

27 de Nov de 2020

Interesting topics, easily transferable to everyday life. Recommend the book too.

por Salvador M

23 de Dez de 2018

Really interesting and useful to get better decisions in the future, I hope ;)

por Prabhakar

27 de Mai de 2017

Very nice course with real life examples, where one needs to think critically.

por Abdullah A

25 de Jun de 2020

it's so great and surprising, but, for my age (17), needs more explanation

por Abhimanyu K

11 de Abr de 2020

Nice course. Basic knowledge of decision making and some basic statistics

por Tania T

18 de Mai de 2020

Great videos and cover a reasonable range of critical thinking theories.

por Fhuad B

4 de Jul de 2019

Great teachings and I like the way he chooses the words he uses.

por Chidube V E

20 de Ago de 2020

A phenomenal course presented in digestible bits. Brilliant!

por Jasmin A

10 de Nov de 2018

Very interesting course I just found it to be dry at times

por John N H Y M

10 de Jun de 2018

the book should be available More simplicity will be good

por Meshal A N A

16 de Abr de 2019

Excellent instructor. Course is full of examples

por Bhavesh L

2 de Jul de 2020

Excellent content with such a experienced tutor

por Kadambeswaran B

4 de Out de 2020

good overview with good examples

por Stefano E

1 de Mar de 2019

Interesting course.

por Aikaterini T

31 de Dez de 2020

I really like it

por Edward A

30 de Ago de 2018

great... easy to

por Om G

20 de Abr de 2020

Great course 👍

por Samuel C

25 de Set de 2017

Great content