Chevron Left
Voltar para Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.8
estrelas
1,001 classificações
241 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Most professions these days require more than general intelligence. They require in addition the ability to collect, analyze and think about data. Personal life is enriched when these same skills are applied to problems in everyday life involving judgment and choice. This course presents basic concepts from statistics, probability, scientific methodology, cognitive psychology and cost-benefit theory and shows how they can be applied to everything from picking one product over another to critiquing media accounts of scientific research. Concepts are defined briefly and breezily and then applied to many examples drawn from business, the media and everyday life. What kinds of things will you learn? Why it’s usually a mistake to interview people for a job. Why it’s highly unlikely that, if your first meal in a new restaurant is excellent, you will find the next meal to be as good. Why economists regularly walk out of movies and leave restaurant food uneaten. Why getting your picture on the cover of Sports Illustrated usually means your next season is going to be a disappointment. Why you might not have a disease even though you’ve tested positive for it. Why you’re never going to know how coffee affects you unless you conduct an experiment in which you flip a coin to determine whether you will have coffee on a given day. Why it might be a mistake to use an office in a building you own as opposed to having your office in someone else’s building. Why you should never keep a stock that’s going down in hopes that it will go back up and prevent you from losing any of your initial investment. Why it is that a great deal of health information presented in the media is misinformation....

Melhores avaliações

JM
28 de Jul de 2019

This course is great! I recommend it to anyone who wants to be able to reason better and have more capabilities in making decisions. Thank you Dr. Nisbett and Coursera for providing this course.

MK
7 de Abr de 2020

Anyone beginner can take this course and be 100 times more understanding of information via any media while also perhaps understanding what is the best choice in some give scenario IRL.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 239 Avaliações para o Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

por Nazia H

25 de Abr de 2021

I enjoyed taking this course and would like to acknowledge Professor Nisbett's excellent method of teaching new and formerly known concepts. The course has helped me in imbibing life enhancing skills which I intend to apply heavily in life henceforth and as Professor says in the concluding lesson that the concepts learnt in this course will prove to be beneficial the more we use them in our every day lives. Thank you for putting this course together and I highly recommend it.

por Markus W

24 de Jun de 2020

Fantastic course by one of the best psychologists in the field. Great structure, highly relevant content, good quizzes and a great ROI for 10 hours. The book by Nisbett is a great addendum, as it allows to further pursue the topics covered in the course. Well done, Professor Nisbett. Great that a high-standing academician does such a course and thereby helps to fight the enemies of reason. Thank you to edx, too! This course might be the best 10h you'll invest this year.

por Radu C

9 de Jan de 2018

Well structured course and very helpful. It presents the matter of critical thinking in a pretty abstract away allowing to cover a lot of subjects while also presenting the most important aspects. I observed changes in my way of analyzing information in every day life. The course does not provide in depth mathematical / logical concepts but it teaches you when to observe the need to use such a concept and how to search for it which is more valuable in my opinion.

por Lenka S

22 de Fev de 2018

Thank you Mr. Nisbett! I live on the other side of the planet, currently on maternity leave spending most of the time at home taking care of my baby and I must say that taking up your course was very refreshing for me and I enjoyed it a lot! It was not hard on definitions as promised, yet the course gave me a lot of inputs to think about and I find it very relevant these days. I will definitely participate in lot more courses from your University in the future.

por Kavya S

10 de Jun de 2019

Sir Richard Nisbett ensures an enjoyable learning experience full of anecdotes and surprising facts. This is a course everyone should do irrespective of the stage in their careers. The quizzes are the perfect difficulty level- questions are thought-provoking but not so difficult that the learner needs to rack their brains too much. They also have the perfect length of 4-15 questions which prevents quizzes from being burdens on the learner.

por Chia C L

24 de Jul de 2017

I really enjoyed this course. While going through the course materials, I get to apply some of the things I have learned and reflect them in my life e.g why we tend to generalize someone's behavior with just one observation, ...etc. I will want to continue to apply concepts I find important esp. to my daily life. In short, this course is not just useful;

it is transformative! Thank you! May you be well and happy ^^.

por Eren J G

20 de Out de 2019

Mindware: Criticial Thinking of the Information Age is a great fundamentals course that helps you learn by heart some very important concepts. It is a great primer about anyone who wants to delve further into statistics. The fact that it is not at all math - heavy prepares you for any statistics course that you might take. The implications of the concepts talked about in the course tie in with psychology really well.

por Dinara S

4 de Ago de 2017

This is one of the best courses for everyone. It describes very common life situations and give you the right answer on them. The course is built very interesting. First you should answer the questions or make exersices and afterward the professor explain to you your mistakes (if you made them) and describes the logic of conclusions in a very clear way. I definitely recommend this course to all. Thank you!

por Henry D

25 de Jun de 2017

I found this course very useful and informative in many ways. The content is particularly relevant for the current "information age". Learning and applying the thinking skills and analytical tools outlined by Dr. Nisbett have a tremendous positive effect on how I look at things in both a business and personal situations. Thank you for providing this course through Coursera.

por Regina K

23 de Jun de 2017

The course was very helpful to deal with the huge amount of unfiltered information in an appropriately critical way. I have now a much higher awareness of judgment errors and feel better prepared for conluding the right things from the information that I get. Thank you very much, the course helped a lot and it was especially easy to handle because of the many examples.

por Stefan V

16 de Ago de 2017

This is a great course for anyone who wants to improve the way they approach problems and choices. It introduces topics that are useful in everyday life but are generally accessible only in higher education (Behavior and Social Sciences, Economics, Philosophy). The video materials are great and the course is fun to go through. I definitely recommend it to anyone!

por Lara G

3 de Out de 2020

Great course and great instructor. Excellent for those interested in data and critical thinking. Covers a range of topics from stats to cognitive biases to logic, which can help us think more critically about the information we're presented with and make better decisions. Definitely worth doing - it will make you think about your life in a different way!

por Lukáš H

19 de Jul de 2017

This course gives you the skills you will need in the 21st century. It helped me to understand data and filter out the noise from relevant information. If you want to know what is really going on, what works and what is not and make up for your cognitive limitations and heuristics, go for it. One of the best courses you can take in the information age.

por Jameel C

2 de Abr de 2019

A very Practical and Real life skiIls course. I found this course very well structured in terms of organising the way to use the thinking tools that I discovered in the course This is a must course for everyday thinking. Also Professor Nisbett brings a very warm and engaging way to his lectures that makes you come back for more.

por Danica B

28 de Abr de 2017

It's an amazing course designed to help us think better in the world we live in. I'd recommend it to everyone as a basis to start evaluating your own ways of thinking, finding the flaws and creating new ways and healthier habits when making decisions.

It's fully worth the time. Thank you for such quality content.

por Gabriel M

23 de Jun de 2021

This is a fantastic course that delivers with high quality lectures and learning materials. Professor Richard Nisbett has synthesised his expertise of social psychology in a course that is intellectually engaging but organised so it can be completed with a couple of weekly hours over a 4-week period.

por Vera

17 de Jul de 2017

It's really great! It's my first course I've completed so far, and I admit I just scratched the surface. I will learn more about logic and principles of making choices on my own, but this course gave me the initial spark of interest.

You should definitely consider it useful for your life!

por Harinath V

11 de Jun de 2020

This is a distinguished course. Very practical, simple, and lucid. The course opens you to several new perspectives and sure to enhance your decision making. If you ever wonder, why you are hurting someone or loosing money or making poor decisions, check this course & stick to the end.

por Damawa J

16 de Fev de 2021

This course is amazing! It exposed me to new concepts out of my comfort zone and deepened my knowledge on psychological & statistical subjects. Once you push through and allow yourself to understand the material you realize how important it is and can be used in real life situations.

por Narita R

10 de Jan de 2019

Excellent course. Everyone should know the basics of the critical thinking especially in today's world when most of our decisions are influenced by news and social media. This course gives a new perspective of thinking critically about the big and small decisions in our lives.

por Domantas Ž

1 de Nov de 2020

Very light and easy course to deepen your understanding about critical thinking in the real world. Easy to get into, assignments are very easy, but the lectures have a lot of useful information and are very accessible to any people with any educational background.

por Alexandre Z R

25 de Abr de 2017

This course was very successful in bring to light many concepts we need to carefully understand to don't evaluate everyday problems. It's based on explanatory examples that are much more acessible to everyone that complex mathematical notations. It worth to do.

por Sharena R

10 de Jun de 2017

Thanks, Dr. Nisbett! This was my first Coursera course, and I am happy that I came across it when I was planning on reading the book "Mindware" anyway. I enjoyed the book very much and took this course as a companion to the book, rather than vice versa.

por Belinda K

13 de Mai de 2021

Very informative, and even as a psychology student who has encountered many of these statistical and cognitive concepts before, I feel like I have learned a lot of useful skills that can be applied in everyday decision-making scenarios.

por Deepali D

23 de Abr de 2020

Extremely insightful with great examples and applicability in daily life. Special take away for me is the statistics on mean and deviation from the mean and probability also the standard 2 *2 table to best judge based on data available.