Chevron Left
Voltar para Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential da instituição Universidade McMaster

4.8
estrelas
8,601 classificações
2,496 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Melhores avaliações

LV

May 01, 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

SM

Jun 22, 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

Filtrar por:

2251 — 2275 de 2,482 Avaliações para o Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

por Prashant M

Apr 30, 2020

One of the best courses available in coursera. I deeply thanks the instructors of this course and the people who made this possible for us to access this course for free in this time of the pandemic covid-19. Thank you.

por Kassie-Anne K

Apr 29, 2020

This course has been very impacting and a big help in shifting my perspective to a better one. There were a couple traits I overlooked which I can now use to my advantage. Thank you for creating this course!!

por Winston M

May 16, 2020

The professor is really good and she has made a few good points throughout the course. The course sometimes veers of its main objective but overall a very good course and very encouraging. would recommend

por Jai B

Sep 26, 2018

Good for learning some tips here and there to more effective learning, but a little too redundant and a little disorganized at times. No real "aha" moment, just a collection of some useful/non-useful tips

por Melanie P

May 04, 2020

I enjoyed taking this course as I begin taking online courses again. It was a refreshing way to engage myself and re-learn the proper tools to be successful in both online learning and a career change.

por Margarita M

Dec 11, 2018

LE DARÍA 5 ESTRELLAS, PERO EL PROBLEMA ES QUE AÚN NO ESTÁN TRADUCIDOS LOS CUESTIONARIOS Y ESO IMPLICA QUE UNO TARDE MÁS TIEMPO EN RESOLVERLOS, PERDIENDO ASÍ ATENCIÓN A LO QUE SE ESTÁ ESTUDIANDO

por Alicja R

Aug 27, 2017

It's a nice light course, that gives you a sense of accomplishment. There could be more practical tips, but overall it's great to watch the videos once a week and think about their meaning.

por Poonyaban S

Apr 14, 2020

This course does not your mind-shift only but also makes your brain opened and ready for learning new things. Including creativity and self-discipline. That is so awesome and fantastic!!

por krisli h

Jun 10, 2019

While this course doesn't have as many specific aids to the process of learning new skills, it is excellent at showing why broad lifelong learning is a practice that enhances your life.

por Sílvia I

Mar 11, 2018

This course allows you to overcome some obstacles and beliefs that are limiting, creating the perception of the possibility of anyone being able to change their thinking and their life.

por Eric M

Jul 06, 2017

I am a big fan of Barbara and her approach. This course seemed like a worthy sequel to learning how to learn - but not quite as eye-opening or challenging. It seemed like a sequel ...

por Aneta J

Jan 01, 2018

There were quite many information from the previous course (Learning how to learn) repeated at the beginning. It was quite boring for me. However, it´s done in interactive and fun way.

por Daniel S

Aug 26, 2018

I enjoyed this course and found it to be useful in helping me see the various aspects of learning. It was good for self reflection on how I learn and ways I can improve my learning.

por chace

Apr 02, 2020

In fact, some topic overlaps with Learning how to learn, so it has no new idea if you have spent time on Learning how to learn. But, how to select one's career has some inspire.

por Rusmawati S

Jun 04, 2020

It might be fundamental to take this course before you take any other course in this MOOC, it provides you with a proper mindset to start to learn and improve yourself better.

por Vasu J

Apr 17, 2020

A course truly made from heart and passion. Helped in creating vital new perspectives. I'm glad I enrolled. Many things learnt. Thanks to the professors who created this MOOC.

por Matthew B

Jul 08, 2018

Good, but overlapped with Learning How to Learn and wasn't as informative, but would 100% recommend. It still gave me valuable life insight that I will use for my whole life.

por Digby D

Nov 08, 2017

Highly recommended for non-traditional students, first generation college students, recreational learners, and students who feel otherwise underprepared for starting college.

por Anne S M

Aug 02, 2019

This MOOC, introduced me to breaking through obstacles, how to follow and complete a mooc. This was really inspiring, and helped me mindshift to reach my highest potential.

por Benjamin M W

Sep 17, 2017

The course had some great mental and memorisation tricks in it. Really liked the tutor's style and honesty. I wish more tutors would present their material in the same way.

por Oleksandr T

Feb 20, 2018

Creat course! If you want to find out some tips to improve your learing process in whatever, of you are just shifting into another field, this course is exactly for you.

por IMAD E M

Jul 26, 2017

Amazing course, I really loved the way of deliviring insights and concepts in a funny way, as well as it discuss very important concepts about learning and memorization

por mary o

Aug 14, 2017

I finished this course because it was interesting. What made it interesting was the incorporation of visual stimulations and also because the videos were not too long.

por Héctor R R M

Apr 14, 2020

Nice course! I liked the videos, the examples and the always fresh aproach of the teachers. The only sugestion I have is to spend less time taking about MOOC design,

por Kim W

Jun 28, 2020

Covers a lot but strangely was so spot on for where I am at this moment in my life. I found it very helpful and will be implementing many of the suggestions.