Chevron Left
Voltar para Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential da instituição Universidade McMaster

4.8
estrelas
9,592 classificações
2,791 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Melhores avaliações

EC

Aug 27, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I am 64-years-old and this course taught me that you can learn anything new no matter what age you are. I am now broadening my passions and learning is a lot more fun.

SM

Jun 22, 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

Filtrar por:

2501 — 2525 de 2,771 Avaliações para o Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

por Christian M F

Apr 30, 2018

The course has allowed me to optimize my learning tools and motivate myself in the use of new technologies. It is the continuity of the saga of Learning how to learn with better audiovisual resources and the experience gained in the first developed course.

por Cheng R

Dec 09, 2019

The course gave me more guiding for learning experiences. As a love learner, I can participate learning even I have job and kids. I can review lesson as many times as I can and I can stop when I am busy at work then restart my class again. It is perfect.

por Alfred G

Jul 01, 2020

Visual effects and music need work on. Distracting. ie the staff having tools and don't know quite how to use them appropriately to move script forward. Trying out new toys. Too bad not up to extraordinary talent of the co-teachers. Please re-do.

por Pamela M

May 30, 2017

Loved the course. It was a great experience as my first completed MOOC. It was however, a little easier than I expected to complete. I absolutely loved the Memory Tip videos. Would have been great to have some take home articles, references, etc.

por Pavan K

Jun 21, 2020

Last week was a bit boring. I feel it talks a lot about MOOCs which is unnecessarily. The other weeks were amazing. Learning about Focused and diffused mode, how to approach learning new skills and what benefits they can give us was really good.

por Fabio P

May 11, 2020

I really liked this course. It's filled with interesting and useful tips on how the mind work as well as how we can leverage the natural human inclinations and brain functionalities to expand beyond our daily rut into a broader self. Or career.

por Ashraf M A S

Jun 01, 2018

The course aims as boosting your confidence in learning through reframing personal weaknesses into assets. It does a very good job in convincing you about that. It also offers a number of useful tips and concepts based on scientific evidence.

por Nadir C

Aug 01, 2017

As far as the promise of the course goes, it delivered on it.

Easy to follow, and get through, insightful, fun, and most of all helpful and relevant.

Will leave you with a zeal to learn, and some useful tips and hacks to go down that route.

por Carlos A d M

Jun 02, 2017

The course topics are very interesting and enlightening. I got good results and the expectation that I had regarding the course was overcome. I liked it a lot and I am adopting the philosophy of constant learning for the rest of my life.

por Kousay a

Apr 25, 2017

This is an important course for your own personal development. Personal and professional challenges have to be dealt with effectively and rationally . Take this course and enjoy new ideas and techniques for developing yourself.

por Bryan E

Aug 26, 2017

Builds on the material from the 'Learning to Learn' course. The crucial message of lifelong learning in view of personal and professional lives is worth exploring especially since people don't pay a lot of attention to it.

por Nabil J

Jun 27, 2020

I gained many interesting insights from this course. I must also praise the great communicative skills of the facilitator (Mrs. Barbara). I highly recommend this course to those starting or continuing a path or learning.

por Tatsiana S

Feb 11, 2019

Thanks for a good job! Although, the first course "Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects" was more interesting, contains more research data, more interviews with great scientists.

por N P

Sep 10, 2020

I enjoyed this course. Overall learnt useful tips to train the brain to keep learning new things. it's ok to be slow learner but actively practice. Some topics were a technical and a bit of challenge to understand them.

por Prashant M

Apr 30, 2020

One of the best courses available in coursera. I deeply thanks the instructors of this course and the people who made this possible for us to access this course for free in this time of the pandemic covid-19. Thank you.

por Kassie-Anne K

Apr 29, 2020

This course has been very impacting and a big help in shifting my perspective to a better one. There were a couple traits I overlooked which I can now use to my advantage. Thank you for creating this course!!

por Sarina S

Aug 26, 2020

Very useful information! I think some of the info in week 3 was okay, and I didn't agree with everything in that week, but it was still useful. The skills and techniques shared in weeks 1 and 2 were great.

por Winston D M

May 16, 2020

The professor is really good and she has made a few good points throughout the course. The course sometimes veers of its main objective but overall a very good course and very encouraging. would recommend

por Jai B

Sep 26, 2018

Good for learning some tips here and there to more effective learning, but a little too redundant and a little disorganized at times. No real "aha" moment, just a collection of some useful/non-useful tips

por Melanie P

May 04, 2020

I enjoyed taking this course as I begin taking online courses again. It was a refreshing way to engage myself and re-learn the proper tools to be successful in both online learning and a career change.

por Margarita M

Dec 11, 2018

LE DARÍA 5 ESTRELLAS, PERO EL PROBLEMA ES QUE AÚN NO ESTÁN TRADUCIDOS LOS CUESTIONARIOS Y ESO IMPLICA QUE UNO TARDE MÁS TIEMPO EN RESOLVERLOS, PERDIENDO ASÍ ATENCIÓN A LO QUE SE ESTÁ ESTUDIANDO

por Alicja R

Aug 27, 2017

It's a nice light course, that gives you a sense of accomplishment. There could be more practical tips, but overall it's great to watch the videos once a week and think about their meaning.

por Poonyaban S

Apr 14, 2020

This course does not your mind-shift only but also makes your brain opened and ready for learning new things. Including creativity and self-discipline. That is so awesome and fantastic!!

por krisli h

Jun 10, 2019

While this course doesn't have as many specific aids to the process of learning new skills, it is excellent at showing why broad lifelong learning is a practice that enhances your life.

por Sílvia I

Mar 11, 2018

This course allows you to overcome some obstacles and beliefs that are limiting, creating the perception of the possibility of anyone being able to change their thinking and their life.