Chevron Left
Voltar para Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential da instituição Universidade McMaster

4.8
estrelas
9,601 classificações
2,794 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Melhores avaliações

LV

May 01, 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

EC

Aug 27, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I am 64-years-old and this course taught me that you can learn anything new no matter what age you are. I am now broadening my passions and learning is a lot more fun.

Filtrar por:

2451 — 2475 de 2,774 Avaliações para o Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

por Marcelle P

Jun 06, 2017

I

por YM

Aug 12, 2017

This course wasn't as eye-opening to me as "Learning How to Learn" was, but nonetheless I still learned some interesting things, so I think it was still well worth the time.

The transcripts of the lecture videos seemed to have more grammatical errors, but that was only a slight inconvenience.

Also note that there are some quiz questions that ask about some of the concepts mentioned from the "Learning How to Learn" course.

Despite those concerns, overall the contents of Mindshift had some obvious points to it such as how it's never too late to learn something or change your career path (regardless of your age, gender, ethnicity, etc.), anyone can learn anything at any time, and people should be open-minded about their opportunities and surroundings.

Of course, there are some specifics that the course covers that provide extra detail to the obvious points I mentioned above (as well as other not-so-obvious points).

And to be fair I guess this course was more of a course that was meant to boost your confidence and encourage you to maintain your humility than anything else anyway.

If you expected to learn something you didn't already know, then that's not going to happen that often in this course. It is still worth the time though. After all, this course is "Mindshift", now "Mindblow".

It's supposed to convince you to change your perspective and remember the things that you may have forgotten such as your own self-confidence. It's not meant to outsmart you.

por Dmytro I

Jun 19, 2019

It's hard to actually review this course because topics covered are very wildly all over the place and on different levels of knowledge. Correct way to handle this course would be to actually divide this course into two - first two weeks that should be called "Advanced learning" and week 3 and 4, that are more about encouraging people to change their lives. And, I believe, these are two totally different topics...

For anyone that wants to learn how to learn Week 2 is a total and absolute MUST listen. Several times...

Weeks 3 and 4 are only for people that wants to change their work life or/and level of work happiness. Important topic, no doubt about it, but to more limited number of people.

So if you enjoyed "Leaning how to learn" - you'll find Week 1 and 2 very useful. Otherwise check this course only if you consider changing you profession or way of work life.

Oh, and too few videos from Dr. Sejnowski. His videos in "Leaning how to learn" were a great contrast to easy-going and fun videos from Dr. Oakley - and for me it really helped to keep my focus on the MOOC.

por Mikaella C

Apr 28, 2020

This is the very first MOOC that I took and I wasn't discouraged and disappointed. I wanted to take online courses to pass time as we are all under quarantine because of the COVID-19 pandemic.During the first week, I became lazy and postponed taking the classes. But after all, I decided to finish it. I like how I can see the instructors's faces because it made me feel like I was in a classroom setting. I also appreciate the humor and jokes incorporated while discussing the topics. I was able to learn a lot and see things in a different perspective every time I will finish a video.I also enjoyed reviewing other people's submissions on the peer-reviewed assignments because I learned how to grade properly based on the rubrics and give an honest, respectful review on other people's work.The only think I didn't like though, is how some sound effects are too loud (eg. the "ting" bell sound at the start of every video). As I was using earphones, it hurt my ears hearing the sound.All in all, I enjoyed and earned a lot from the course.

por Pramit B

Apr 30, 2017

Mindshift as a course was "easy", and "helpful". What i have learnt from the course can be applied to my life to make it slightly better. There is a wealth of exercises in self-help today on the internet and from books. It doesn't hurt to do this course, its well put, and you learn new things(sometimes). What you gain from this course is ultimately dependent on how much you are able to exercise the points of this course. Given the small amount of time you are investing in completing the course (it is a very low requirement course and you can finish it in 2 days if you want to, although that is not recommended), i would suggest you take it, since the investment pays off depending on how new you are to the material and how much you are able to put it to use.

por Bev C

Apr 21, 2020

The course has great information and I found it interesting to the end. I did find the videos hard to watch and to keep my attention on what was being said, at the same time. My own thoughts kept intruding, and so I learned to look away while I listened. This helped a lot. I love how the course has mini tests after the videos and a quiz at the end of each chapter. They helped me see where I needed to pay better attention and kept me focused throughout the course. This course has really helped me learn how to pay attention. Now, if I even think I've missed something, I now back up the video so that I catch it all. It's important not to miss anything. Online learning is so much better than in-class learning just for this reason.

por Tulika B

Jun 12, 2020

I was in doubt of many things on my mind , which got cleared in this MOOC. Like stacking up multiple skills , whether it is alright to be a jack of all trades and now , I'm confident about being one. I am more comfortable with my so called bad traits , I just need to be more conscious about them , from now on. I'm glad that my hiker brain , is afterall ,not an issue at all. The technique of verbalising my emotions to just get past through them , is such a tool , which is going to stay with me , forever. Pomedoro technique is a valuable tool. I've gathered a lot of knowledge and insights from this video. It surely did change my perspective on my stand for changing my career. I'm confident about that as well. Thank you

por Susanne O

Apr 11, 2020

I really enjoyed this course and both of the instructors. The information is so clearly presented and easy to follow, that it makes it a pleasure to tune into each lecture. I gave this four stars rather than five, as I had high expectations after taking "Learning how to Learn", and I felt like the course had room for more material. I would have enjoyed even more of a focus on the links between neuroscience and the practical aspects to apply to your own life, and more insight into the benefits of meditation. One of my favorite parts of the course was Barbara's interview with the Singapore entrepreneur, as he had a incredible wealth of wisdom to share from his experiences.

por S M N S

Jun 05, 2020

I am S M Nazmuz Sakib and am an instructor in Airtract. My course link is https://www.airtract.com/course/sakibs-diploma-in-history-of-psychology

& my Linkedin account is here- https://www.linkedin.com/in/s-m-nazmuz-sakib/

I have completed more than 200 online courses or MOOCs.

This course worths 4.5/5 though my review is 4/5 as 4.5 is not possible in Coursera ;)

Well, overall, I had a great experience. i am also an instructor and I teach psychology (Link given ^ ) .

This is a great course. Hoping, a Diploma course in Learning Psychology in future by the instructor of this course.

Thanks in regards

S M NAZMUZ SAKIB

por Ellyn K

May 07, 2017

As always, showcases Dr. Oakley's passion, compassion, intelligence, and practical wisdom in MOOC design. A solid support for those in transition for career choices and learning paths. Implicitly supports a practical application of growth mindset, building on principles of the neurobiology of learning discussed in more detail in sister MOOC, Learning How to Learn. Less technical/scientific information in this course; this course seems more a "lighter" discussion of fewer tools than in the sister course, and, importantly, focuses on delivering a supportive mindset for expanding one's abilities and passions.

por Marco M

Apr 24, 2020

The course it's interesting, it gives you a good amount of notions and tools for making better choices in terms of picking the on line classes, making better decisions on what courses you should take to push your career or it gives you extra help if you feel stuck in a rut and you don't know what to do. The professors are very compelling, easy to understand even if english it's not your fist language and they make the classes very easy to follow. I think this Mooc fits more in the self help area, rather than the area of technical skills. PS: i do apologise for my written english.

por Amandine L

Apr 06, 2018

The title is a bit misleading I think because it addresses more career change than learning itself but it's still very interesting. Good addition to learning how to learn for people who are not students. Learning how to learn gives more techniques and understanding of neurosciences but Mindshift repeats nicely some of that learning with helps anchoring the knowledge gained previously. At the end I have more the impression of having gained inspiration than proper knowledge but overall the experience was great.

PS: I loved Nelson Dellis videos/ memories tips which are very fun and pratical

por Ma. A S

Jun 24, 2017

I truly enjoyed "Learning How to Learn" MOOC so I was eager to find out the next installment. However, there are some overlaps from this course and Learning How to Learn which made certain portions redundant. Minus the overlaps, I liked the topics covered such as career choice, mentors, skill set building, and loved the Nelson Dellis memory tips videos (especially the the first one, the names and faces and language - I have not completed watching all the optional videos but intend to do so). Both professors are very engaging and informative and I look forward to their future MOOCS.

por Brandon E

May 13, 2017

I thought that the course was very helpful! Although it had a lot of what was in Learning How To Learn, there were some helpful tips that were not in the course. I enjoyed the focus of this course, since it was on specially mindshifting, ultimately how we can switch from one subject to an entirely different subjects, whereas LHTL was on learning in general. I would have appreciated more neuroscience/cognitive science in the videos. Also, many of the tips were obvious and/or oft-quoted in other related places. Overall, I liked the course and I thought it was very interesting.

por Peiqi H

May 28, 2020

I like this course. It gives some new ideas that are helpful for balancing personal passion and career development. However, since I had finished Learning how to learn before this one, by comparison, personally I feel this course is not as clear as the Learning how to learn and was not that surprising. I still appreciate the advice and mental tricks introduced which definitely helps me. I give 4 four stars does not mean it is not awesome, it is because I compared this course with Learning how to learn. And I wish coursera can allow me to give 4.5 stars.

por Doruk D

Jun 23, 2017

It is good and informative content in general—with spinoff parts to quite a few specializations. This was my second Barbara Oakley MOOC. I can confidently recommend her enthusiasm and professionalism as an instructor to any learner at any age and career step. I think definition of career is changing to self-employment either as specialist or contractor. This MOOC could be designed to prepare learners for near future forms of making a living. Therefore, four stars instead of five. Nevertheless, Mindshift is a job well done. Highly recommended!

por Oleksandr T

Dec 23, 2017

This courser is very good, but little bit weaker than the previous one.

Maybe my expecatations were very high (because your LH2L course and book are AWESOME), but I felt something wrong about this.

I liked lots of ideas from this course: slow/fast learning, where creativity comes from, П-career model. But some topic were off-topic. E.g. creating MOOC.

It is very good course and it is much better than lots of other courses, but it is little weaker, than LH2L.

Thank you, Barbara, for these awesome courses and books.

por John A S

Jun 12, 2020

Professor Oakley and Professor Sejnowski are knowledgeable and engaging teachers for the subject. They have created a good course. Despite their passion and charisma displayed here, I can agree in some of the cons in the reviews that it the concepts displayed here are the same with the previous MOOC "Learning How to Learn" or book "A Mind for Numbers." The difference however is that in this course, they encourage lifelong learning to different passions for our 21st century technological world.

por Deleted A

Sep 28, 2017

This course does an excellent job of motivating you that you can change the course of your life through learning. It contains lots of useful and accessible material on how lifelong learning works. The course feels like a bunch of random (but useful!) topics presented in arbitrary sequence instead of drawing a connected, integrated big picture. Be prepared to spend time integrating the ideas together into your own life if you want the ideas to stick.

por Emmanuelle R

Dec 22, 2017

Une synthèse vraiment riche et objective des certains livres probants et pertinents en matière de self-développement. Des outils importants pour apprendre à progresser dans l'apprentissage dans des voies parfois différentes de notre formation initiale, en évitant de tomber dans certains pièges. Appui nécessaire et stimulant des neurosciences...Une formation utile pour apprendre à apprendre en mettant en exergue ses traits de personnalité.

por somia a

Aug 23, 2018

This course is a great one. It really helped me a lot to shift my mind. Now I think I am able to learn anything. I restored my old passion of studying physics and astrology. My only objection was that the content didn't have many exercises. It all depends on the videos and writing your thoughts in the discussion forum. But I think as an amount of information, It is still enough. The information affected me greatly. Thank you.

por Dr. P M

Sep 15, 2017

I have enjoyed this course , gained new knowledge, but I feel this course was not as good as "Learning How to Learn", where a high standard was set by dr. Oakley. I felt more interviews could have been done with people who made a career change, How difficult or easy it was for them and also how they are progressing or have progressed in the new career. If they regret it or believed that was a great success.

por Claire R

Feb 09, 2018

I've giving this only 4 stars because I'm comparing it to Learning How to Learn which I took first. Though the production values are better for this course it seems more scattershot in what it covers. Really interesting though. I learned things which I think will help me improve my life. But for me this class is a really beneficial add-on to the Learning How to Learn class. Thanks!

por Sreevathsa

Apr 20, 2017

Great content on certain important aspects of learning, especially after one is into career. In the information era, learning new stuff and keeping up with the trend is one of the most essential trait expected of a knowledge worker, and this course equips one with the right mindset for a lifetime of learning. I recommend this course for everyone who has a yearning for learning.

por Kantesh G

May 10, 2017

Excellent intro to how to improve your learning in a learning-crazed world! As the pace of change gets faster and faster, the ability to quickly absorb and learn new stuff is going to be critical for us to thrive as individuals in whatever stage of life we are at. This course gives you ideas about how to learn quickly and retain it and gain from it for a long time to come.