Chevron Left
Voltar para Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential da instituição Universidade McMaster

4.8
estrelas
10,158 classificações
2,950 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Melhores avaliações

DI
30 de Out de 2020

Great course! This is a lot more general than Learning about Learning but is also useful nonetheless. I like the focus on keeping positive and being confident in your potential despite our weaknesses.

EC
26 de Ago de 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I am 64-years-old and this course taught me that you can learn anything new no matter what age you are. I am now broadening my passions and learning is a lot more fun.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de 2,927 Avaliações para o Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

por KETAN B

25 de Mai de 2020

Course is crafted in an amazing and addicting manner.It is the course that one should necessarily take to develop one's personality. Taught in such a wonderful manner that even dozens of words won't do justice how well this course is organised and how interesting it has been made with the help of excellent illustrations, analogies and metaphors

por Niklas K

22 de Mar de 2020

After "Learning how to learn" it was impossible to have a better MOOC in the same field. It is a great course - especially for people who are not learning right now or who wants to improve his/her learning style/skills.

And obviously Barb and Terry are awesome. Watch 30 sec of the first video and you will fall in love with their teaching style.

por Devina I C

24 de Jun de 2020

Lots of useful and practical knowledge I can learn from this course related to how we learn, develop capabilities, and unlock potentials. If I may suggest, it'd helpful not to only use videos as the medium but to explore different formats like articles or podcasts to complement the materials. Overall, it's an interesting and insightful course!

por Luann T

1 de Abr de 2019

I feel much more confident in my ability to become a better learner, better student, and better person overall, and that is pretty amazing. It will take practice to put these new tools into effect, but I have several MOOCs I'm planning to sign up for that will give me plenty of practice time toward perfection. I highly recommend this course.

por TAREK

12 de Abr de 2020

Its my first e-learning experience and which see it exceptional and very beneficial. Many thanks for all of who contributed and worked hard to make this course a successful one specially for those who work behind the scenes. I'm happy and cheerful to have this awesome course added to my achievements. Special thanks to Barb and Terry - Tarek

por Thales P

28 de Out de 2017

Very good course. The course is very well presented, engaged and memorable content that I expect it will serve me well my future career and MOOC learning. The techniques applied by presenters are very good and help keep attention on the course.

It's certainly a motivation for taking more MOOC's and pursuing a path for continual improvement.

por George E K

19 de Mai de 2020

First of all, I want to thank Barb Oakley, Terry Sejnowski and the entire team for this good work done. This is my best MOOC. My learning style has change from passive leaner to an active leaner. I am able to think more broadly and I am excited to learn more. This is my first MOOC I have completed because it was very good and interesting.

por Geraldine R

6 de Mai de 2020

I am glad to have taken this course as this was a wonderful supplement to all that I have learned in Learning How to Learn. The content remains comprehensive yet easy and quick to digest as well as apply in my own life. I truly enjoyed the learning process, noted the improved editing, and appreciated the memory tips as well as interviews.

por Vivekanandan S

17 de Fev de 2019

I really feel good and having more broad mind.It introduced life long lessons and the many other things for my career.It also helped me to Broaden my passion , think about "What is the Mission" , as the mam Rightly resembles the true meaning fro resilient and courage for practicing MIND-SHIFT .Thank you and all the best for your journey .

por Zai E

9 de Jul de 2017

I got so many ideas from this course. Also I developed a better understand on learning and how our minds work. I had already taken Learning How to Learn and this was a wonderful follow up course. I highly recommend this course to people who want to learn something new, want to make a shift in their career, and to teachers/future teachers.

por Monica B

5 de Dez de 2020

I truly fell in love prof. Oakley and her unbelievably effective teaching style back in 2015, when I enrolled in the world famous MOOC "Learning How to Learn". I am a compulsive, recidive learner and this course didn't let my expectations down: I learnt a lof of new stuff, and I am really grateful for such high-quality work! Thumbs up!!!

por Kalpesh G

31 de Mar de 2020

It is a good course which provides us with the tools and the resources which can aid us while we are planning for a Mindshift i.e some change in thought, or way of doing things or work field.

I would like to thanks Miss Barb Oakley, Mr Terry Sejnowski and the entire Mideshift team to come up with such a unique idea to share to the world.

por Sergey K

8 de Abr de 2018

At first sight, course may look simple. The teachers have simple and funny manner explaining the material. Although, behind the curtains of simplicity there are deep topics presented related to learning and finding your own way in current age of information. Everything comes with Barb's personal touch. Thank you. I found it very useful!

por Samiur R

25 de Mai de 2017

This course is very well designed. The instructors are skilled. This course will help anyone who is willing to learn. By doing this course both professionals as well as students can get the help necessary to be successful in their respective field. I enjoyed this course and recommend everyone to do it before doing any other MOOC course.

por Valentina J N

6 de Jul de 2020

This course was an eye-opener in many ways. Specially in good ways. Very happy to encounter with this life changing course. I changed my perspectives and I want to apply everything I learned here in my daily life.

Want to congratulate everyone that worked in this MOOC. It was funny and easy to comprehend and learn. Thank you very much.

por Axel J B B

17 de Jun de 2020

I liked the course as it helps you develop better and more productive habits and noticing how we should approach the ever-changing society we live in. It also invites us to embrace change by never stopping to learn and acquiring new skills, even in fields that we are not experts on, or that we feel we may have not so much talent in.

por Edoardo C

25 de Jun de 2020

Some very positive lessons here. Perhaps contradicting - somewhat - what you would expect from Jack Ma bearing in mind his considerations on how to be successful in your 20s, 30s, 40s and beyond (albeit the financial benefit of learning are not discussed in the course). A great course for the young as well as the "not too young".

por jonah r

5 de Mar de 2020

amazing course, interesting, thorough, has great little quizzes that help you understand the key points of the study. in this course there is more than meets the eye, because learning how to change your mindset isn't something you'll hear about till you're 35 or so. so if you've come across this course, give it a try. it's worth it

por George P

29 de Mar de 2019

Great follow-up to the Learning How to Learn course. I thought the LHTL course provided more nuts and bolts regarding how to develop skills/practices to learn more effectively, while this course focused more on navigating external challenges to learning and making the best of available learning resources, especially online courses.

por MIGUEL Á R M

7 de Jun de 2017

This is the second MOOC I make. The first was "Learning How to learn". Like the previous one, this one seemed excellent too, and I already feel that the teachers and I are friends, of course, I reiterate that they are highly professional and made the course interesting and very enjoyable. My congratulations from Caracas-Venezuela.

por Jaroslava M

26 de Mai de 2017

Wonderfully inspiring, I would recommend to anyone, who is such poor learner and I am and even a lot better, because there is always new thing to study :) A lot of helpfull informations, thought the last part about changing into information age was a bit scarry, but with more MOOC´s like this we are going to handle it in no time.

por Anne D

10 de Out de 2020

first MOOC I have done, excellent information on topic presented succinctly with nice graphics, well edited, and as a bonus, was entertaining with humor (humor helps in learning). Quizzes and tests reinforced learning. Have signed up for another one of their MOOC's. Thanks so much for your efforts in preparation of this course.

por Vitor F L

24 de Set de 2017

Barbara Oaklay did it again: a great MOOC course. Wasy to follow course structure, thoughtfully designed quizzes, tests, and projects, friendly, upbeat instructors, metaphor, analogy and humor -- all of this you will have in this course to help you discover that besides following your passions you need to broaden your passions.

por Maria A D E

31 de Mai de 2017

Este curso es perfecto para los que usamos excusas para no aprender, te abre los ojos e impulsa a mejorarte a la vez que te provee con herramientas para seguir aprendiendo.

Además, todos los consejos y estrategias tienen un respaldo científico lo cual incrementa las razones por las cuales mejorarte!

Sin excusas, Happy mindshift.

por amy_ann

12 de Set de 2017

This is such a great course! The professor Barb Oakley herself is so motivating and positive that actually it's good to listen to her. She's really funny! I wish I would have professors like her at my school! This is a useful course for everyone who needs a bit of motivation and who feels stressed because of work, studies etc.