Chevron Left
Voltar para Strategies for winning. Meteorology in a round the world regatta

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Strategies for winning. Meteorology in a round the world regatta da instituição Universidade de Barcelona

4.5
estrelas
116 classificações
39 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course you can learn about the mechanics of global weather, the foundations of ocean meteorology, predictive modeling and how sailors receive data via satellite and use high-performance navigation software. This course looks at oceanic meteorology and climatology through the lens of the sport of sailing. You will gain a basic knowledge of meteorology needed by sailors to take part in a regatta such as the Barcelona World Race, the only double-handed, round the world regatta with no stops. You will learn about the strategies employed during a round the world regatta and how these are put to use on board the latest ocean racing yachts....

Melhores avaliações

KF
14 de Set de 2017

Awesome course. If you're into sailing or meteorology there is nothing better. The amount of knowledge conveyed in this short course is immense, yet it's fun and captivating the whole time.

MJ
23 de Mar de 2021

As a deck cadet learning meteorology this really helped show the practical weather considerations as well as giving a nice picture of the global circulation system.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 39 Avaliações para o Strategies for winning. Meteorology in a round the world regatta

por Clare E H

16 de Ago de 2020

I loved this course, as sailors with a 28ft blue water boat this has relevance as one day we would like to sail the world... until we do, this has added valuable meteorological and sailing knowledge.

It was difficult to see the screen sometimes and I found it useful to have google maps open too.

I also had to research the difference between high and low pressure and how they are formed as I didn't find this clear.

Not speaking spanish the subtitles were invaluable.

Many thanks, Clare

por Miguel S B M L

14 de Jan de 2021

Lots of knowledge is given from these gentlemans, really impressed with the easy way that they teach all the contents, i am wishing for more courses like these in the future about other regattas and seas, comment from a Officer working in a Tall Ship

por Kristina F

15 de Set de 2017

Awesome course. If you're into sailing or meteorology there is nothing better. The amount of knowledge conveyed in this short course is immense, yet it's fun and captivating the whole time.

por Matt M

30 de Ago de 2017

interesting course, sometimes the subtitles are not correct. But overall it is easy to follow. I had sometimes some difficulties to see the boats on the screen behind Marcel in the case studies.

por David W

3 de Jun de 2018

Instructors did a great job introducing not only Meterology, but the basics of sailing equipment and technology for taking a boat around the world. Excellent!

por Fethi O Ö

26 de Jun de 2017

''No man will be a sailor who has scheme to get himself into a fence,for being in a ship is being in a fence, with the change of being overwhelmed.'' Said James Boswell in 1759. It's not good enough to become a sailorThis course telling us how to use winds when you on the sea surface.Thanks for the creators and all sailors teached us which kind of subjects the meteorology included.

por Luis A R A

6 de Jul de 2018

Curso muy interesante para planificar navegaciones a la vuelta al mundo. Guía práctica y bien explicadas de las condiciones meteorológicas reinantes en cada área en donde se desarrolla la BWR. Material didáctico muy útil que hacen más entretenido y fácil el aprendizaje de todos los contenidos.

por John B

15 de Jan de 2018

This is my first MOOC and it lived up to my expectations. The material covered was well presented by great instructors. That some of the lectures were in Spanish (which I do not speak) was not a problem. I would recommend this course for anyone interested in

por AUBIN N

16 de Dez de 2018

Really interesting course to have a really good idea about what system can be expected on a round the world regata. Also really good material for local effects and tactics.

por Elise M

29 de Mar de 2021

Thank you very much for this course, very very interesting. It is precious when one hasn't access to live marine meteorlogy course and before reading books to learn more.

por Mark A J

24 de Mar de 2021

As a deck cadet learning meteorology this really helped show the practical weather considerations as well as giving a nice picture of the global circulation system.

por Joseph B

11 de Mar de 2018

Great course for any aspiring navigator or anyone who wants to learn about weather.

But, a majority of the course is in Spanish but, there are subtitles.

por Christian A M B

20 de Jan de 2020

Disfruté mucho aprendiendo acerca de regatas alrededor del mundo y cómo los distintos componentes del tiempo afectan la estrategia.

por Patricio M

8 de Set de 2020

Muy ilustrativo, entretenido y finalmente entnedí bastante más de como funcionan lo vientos. MUchas gracias

por Iustin T

3 de Abr de 2018

Very interesting material, nicely explained. I have learned a lot from this course. Thank you!

por Pedro R

26 de Jul de 2019

Curso focado bem na rota da Barcelona World Race com ótimos conhecimentos e boa didática!

por Mustafa İ

14 de Dez de 2020

Whatever your goal is, success depends on working

Thank you for all!..

Best regards

por JOHN Q

26 de Jul de 2017

Not only interesting, but a hula lot of fun to take. I felt in the race!!

por Velero T

11 de Out de 2021

Excelente!! muy buena combiinación de teoría y casos prácticos de la BWR!!

por Daniel C P

13 de Mar de 2018

Great info and clearly presented! Very usefull!

por Vincentas K

8 de Dez de 2020

really interesting world race simulation

por Luis F P

12 de Mai de 2021

Best course I have ever taken!

por Johan S

22 de Fev de 2021

Great Course nicely presented

por Adell V

23 de Jul de 2020

Super! Very interesting!

por Sandip D

12 de Mai de 2020

Great course