Chevron Left
Voltar para Metagenomics applied to surveillance of pathogens and antimicrobial resistance

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Metagenomics applied to surveillance of pathogens and antimicrobial resistance da instituição Universidade Técnica da Dinamarca (DTU)

4.7
estrelas
215 classificações
55 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The field of metagenomics and whole community sequencing is a promising area to unravel the content of microbial communities and their relationship to disease and antimicrobial resistance in the human population. Bioinformatic tools are extremely important for making sense out of metagenomics data, by estimating the presence of pathogens and antimicrobial resistance determinants in complex samples. Combined with relevant explanatory data, metagenomics is a powerful tool for surveillance. In this course, we teach about the potential of metagenomics for surveillance and give the learners an overview of the steps and considerations in a metagenomics study. After this course, the learners will know: - the difference between the concepts of metagenomics and other microbial genomics - the need to use controls in different steps of a metagenomics study - the advantages of metagenomics for the surveillance of antimicrobial resistance - how sampling design, sample size, sample material and sample handling influence the outcome of a metagenomics study - sample processing for bacterial and viral metagenomics - different sequencing platforms and their possibilities regarding metagenomics - the steps involved in a general metagenomics study, including quality control, mapping to different databases, and read count analysis - the principles behind various tools available for analysis of metagenomics data - how to interpret read classification results - the need for epidemiology in surveillance - the concept of global and integrated surveillance - the challenges for the use of metagenomics in surveillance - the potential of metagenomics for surveillance We look forward to welcoming you !...

Melhores avaliações

IA
28 de Out de 2020

I really enjoyed the course. Covered all aspects of a metagenomics project in surveillance of pathogens and AMR, from study design to data analysis and result interpretation.

MD
30 de Mai de 2019

I learned a lot, they covered complex analysis topics in a clear, understandable way. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in microbial metagenomic analysis.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 55 Avaliações para o Metagenomics applied to surveillance of pathogens and antimicrobial resistance

por BANSI S

23 de Jun de 2020

overall good learning as well they have given detailed and understandable knowledge which can help in future to identify as many as resistance gene to cure diseases

por Yasser M

1 de Jul de 2018

Excellent course...,This is one of the greatest and wonderful courses I have seen in the field of Metagenomics.In Veterinary Medicine, we have a sparse educational materials on the use of metagenomics and bioinformatics for studying microbiome and AMR in different animals species. I would strongly recommend this course for those who are interested in microbiome. Thanks for the wonderful course team for this nice piece of work

por Ifeanyi A

29 de Out de 2020

I really enjoyed the course. Covered all aspects of a metagenomics project in surveillance of pathogens and AMR, from study design to data analysis and result interpretation.

por Michael D

30 de Mai de 2019

I learned a lot, they covered complex analysis topics in a clear, understandable way. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in microbial metagenomic analysis.

por DR P D

2 de Ago de 2020

The course was well structured however I had little difficulty in doing last assignments I think some session on problem solving should be done before giving assignments.

por M A

11 de Nov de 2019

This course helped me in understanding better metagenomic analysis. I will be using the knowledge gained through the lectures and more importantly the workshop in the last segment of the course to further my own research. The modules were well laid out and easy to understand. I really enjoyed working on the Virtual Machine and actually analyse data and better understand the analysis and interpretation of results. I will recommend this course to anyone looking to understand metagenomics.

por Delase A

31 de Mai de 2020

Excellent course with excellent teachers. I was not expecting this degree of thoroughness but it finally was a rewarding experience. I have learned a lot and was able to apply what I was learning from the first week at work. Practical and up to date resources with an awesome Virtual Machine installation tutorial and well written codes to use for the final assessment. A master’s degree level course.

Thanks a lot!

por Zachary L

16 de Nov de 2020

When I started this MOOC, I was a complete beginner in this topic because I was forced to shift to writing a bioinformatics dissertation when almost all the wet-labs in my country closed due to the COVID-19 Pandemic. This MOOC certainly gave me a good head start towards the bioinformatics track since the lecturers from DTU taught me all the basics of the metagenomics workflow. 5/5 Stars -- Highly recommended!

por Ramón Q B

7 de Mai de 2020

Ha sido un curso muy interesarte, una manera de adentrarse en el mundo de la metagenómica con un abordaje aplicado y con unos tutores excepcionales. Facilitan mucho el primer contacto con la bioinformática, R Studio, los scripts y el terminal de Linux para que las personas sin conocimientos previos puedan comprender lo que se está haciendo en cada paso.

Muy recomendable.

por Ikpa, T F

10 de Out de 2020

This is an excellent course. The structure and the entire mode of presentation was simplified to enhance rapid learning and understanding even among newcomers to this field. The bioinformatics, analysis of the data, and statistical analysis with R was very helpful. I would recommend this course to any one who wants to venture into the field of Metagenomics.

por Loren L

11 de Out de 2018

I"m halfway through this course and it's excellent - a great way to learn more about metagenomics and also a wonderful set of supporting literature. Clear, organized, relevant and well presented. The level of detail is very approachable yet also very useful (hands-on use of the virtual machine is appreciated). The lectures are excellent.

por Dr. S N N

1 de Mai de 2020

A overall coverage from the basics to the much advanced application of the results for statistical analysis. The course,in particular the final assessment using statistical analysis helped in getting an overall experience in analysing data for surveillance. Thanks much for such a consolidated course covering Bioinformatics & Statistics.

por Mariia K

29 de Abr de 2020

I thank DTU professors for such a well-delivered, organised, practical and comprehensive course. The problem chosen as an example is relevant to the real-world situation (pathogens and AMR), which is absolutely brilliant! I came away with a lot more confidence in my ability to analyse and interpret big data using R and UNIX commands.

por Sergio H P R

27 de Mar de 2021

Muy interesante y motivante el contenido del curso. Solo que tuve algunos problemas para accesar a algunos archivos y en el uso del programa -lmachine learning- Los ejercicios muy ilustrativos de la aplicación de la metagenómica así como muy útiles para realizar las evaluaciones. Felicidades a los profesores del curso.

por Dymphan F G

22 de Jul de 2020

The course is very helpful to understand the concepts in sampling, data interpretation and epidemiology study. Quiz modules are very practical and engaging throughout. Very useful for research and applications in identifying microbial community, pathogens and antimicrobial resistance from different environment.

por David G C

8 de Set de 2019

Un gran curso!

Las y los instructores saben como guiarte de una manera sencilla y fácil de entender , son de mucha utilidad todos los tips y lecciones que comparten. Como requisito se requiere un poco de conocimiento estadístico y

en la parte bioinformatica hay mucho apoyo en los foros.

por Nikolaos G

22 de Mai de 2020

It is a very interesting course with many informantion in the field of metagenomics and AMR. It requires dedication and time to complete the sessions and the quizzes but it is worth it. The use of virtual machine is a little challenging you haven't used before but it is an experience.

por MOHAMED Z

28 de Jun de 2020

In fact it was a very beneficial course. T he staff of instructors were great i recommend this course to all of interested people of metagenomics applied to surveillance of pathogens and antimicrobial resistance.

por Nidhi p

22 de Mai de 2020

Thank you to entire team who prepared excellent course lectures and questions. very beneficial for all. This is not only a theory course but having whole practical and software knowledge of Metagenomics.

por David P

7 de Mai de 2020

I'm so happy to have enrolled on this course. Well organized, with excellent speakers. I've improved my knowledge about Metagenomics, plus acquiring new skills. Totally satisfied.

por Adesola O

23 de Mai de 2021

very technical and encompassing. kindly let me know when the virtual machine is good. I tried weeks trying to import the shared folder to the machine.

por Bakary S

24 de Nov de 2020

A very good introduction to metagenomics, giving essential basic knowledge to apply the technique in pathogen and AMR surveillance.

por Dr. D K N

22 de Mar de 2020

This course was mindblowing it gives an opportunity to apply bioinformatic knowledge especially microbial diversity understanding .

por Maitri M

16 de Ago de 2020

It's an amazing course to get you introduced to the field of AMR,and specifically metagenomics for surveillance.

Thank You

por Ana R T C

13 de Mai de 2020

Very good and very usefull, even for people who is still learning about metagenomics in general! Thank you very much!