Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
1,575 classificações
502 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Melhores avaliações

RD

Aug 01, 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK

Jun 03, 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 490 Avaliações para o Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

por Hana B

Apr 09, 2020

An excellent Professor, very nice personality, great choice of movies. One of the best courses I had.

Thank You, I will always remember this course :-) (I hope...)

por Sara M S

Feb 23, 2018

It was a very dynamic course, I refreshed many subjects that I had forgotten, but this time I learned with more sense and emotion. Thank you very much, professor!

por Dany P

Aug 29, 2017

It was super entertaining and cool but the best part is that I understood many things I didn't know and now I know some things that are helping me with my memory.

por Nicola D

Jun 02, 2017

Excellent pacing on this course, with lots of movies to aid in understanding and remembering the basic principles. The lecturer was very responsive in the forums.

por Sandra L

May 03, 2016

A traves de las peliculas sentimos empatia hacia ciertas circunstancias y aprendemos con el ejemplo de la experiencia de otros. Este curso ha sido muy instructivo

por WIJDAN A

Jun 03, 2018

it is the first course I actually took...... your memory are you and I think every one have to take this course

thank u very much .... I can't thank you enough

por Ellen P

Jul 30, 2020

I enjoyed learning about how memory works through the movies. Having a 'picture' of each memory topic helped it come to life and made learning more enjoyable.

por Joan A

Apr 26, 2020

This course was filled with functional information and informative facts. The course was entertaining and keeps the learner engaged throughout!!! Thank you!!

por Anahita I

Jun 30, 2018

I really enjoyed this course and learnt a lot from it, as the concept of memory was presented and explained in a very interesting and unique manner. Thank you!

por Chris B

Aug 19, 2020

It was a a great idea to illustrate the various concepts with movies. This made a more enjoyable exercise of what could be a fairly dry subject.

Thanks

Chris B

por Sam R

Sep 14, 2017

An eye opener to my ignorance about memory and how it functions. Using movies as a gateway to explain the intricacies of memory is a great idea.... Thank you!

por Prabodh K

Aug 13, 2016

excellent and very interesting course. Loved the concept of understanding memory by watching movies. and the movie selections are fantastic. Great course.

por Angel J

Jul 02, 2018

Very informative and easy to understand. I have enjoyed learning with Professor Seamon very much. I feel grateful to have studied the course. Thanks a lot!!

por Joann T

Dec 21, 2017

Excellent course! Professor is soft spoken and his delivery is fantastic. Fascinating class that answers questions about memory in a clear concise manner.

por Kieron N

Jul 09, 2020

Very informative course on memories, teaching the psychology and biology of memory, using a familiar media of movies to explain these more complex topics.

por Katherine Z

Apr 05, 2020

Excelente curso!! Mucho aprendizaje!! Gracias por la oportunidad de brindarme este conocimiento! Me encantó el tema y todas las lecciones! Agradecida!

por Vivek S

Jun 30, 2020

Lovely Course! I would recommend it to all, especially to those who are into Psychology, Neuroscience and Behavioural Studies with a touch of Philosophy!

por Chris N

Jun 23, 2020

This course was so good! Now I have finished it I want to learn more about the subject, and I will also be buying the book accompanying the course. Would

por Shehariyar B P

Jul 09, 2018

The most difficult part was remembering our Professor's surname, not a very intuitive one for a Memory Psychologist! Beautiful Course, thank's a ton Sir.

por Ganesh K

Aug 10, 2020

Excellent presentation of concepts on Memory through appropriate movies. The usage of movies made the concepts very clear. Many thanks to the Professor.

por Bhawana B

Jun 17, 2016

I am loving this course...It provides such a different perspective to memory. And explaining it with the movies makes it easy to relate and understand.

por Prompiriya P

Aug 29, 2020

Highly recommended. Professor is very warm and overall provide positive lecture atmosphere. Every case studies are interesting and thoroughly analyzed.

por Teri F

Jul 28, 2020

I learned a great deal about the psychology of memories through movies! The information provided and movie examples were very insightful. Thank you.

por Anuby B P

Aug 19, 2020

It's really exciting and interesting to learn through coursera, l really liked learning about human memory through coursera, came to know many things

por Chryseis N

May 04, 2020

One word: Memorable! Very professional, all informations nicely explained and good care of details was taken. Even the subtitles were well organized!