Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
1,819 classificações
569 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Melhores avaliações

RD
31 de Jul de 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

MS
6 de Fev de 2021

This is a great course.I'm a film lover and a psychology student.This method of learning [learning through movies] more effect than the usual learning. Hope to see more courses like this in future.

Filtrar por:

526 — 550 de 555 Avaliações para o Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

por Britta G

6 de Jul de 2016

Very interesting in an entertaining way

por Caroline B

1 de Set de 2017

Very interesting and easy to follow !

por Aleksandro d S S

23 de Fev de 2020

Very interesting and useful course.

por Ivan

31 de Out de 2017

Fun and informative course.

por Eckstein B M

7 de Ago de 2017

this subject is interesting

por Shirley K

7 de Jul de 2020

fun course glad I took it

por George L

19 de Jul de 2016

Great movie selection.

por Marc M

15 de Fev de 2018

Very interesting !

por Chan J T

28 de Mai de 2017

Great Course!

por Djana R

1 de Jun de 2018

Good course

por merit s

10 de Out de 2016

Interesting

por Angie T S

29 de Jun de 2017

Gracias

por Myoungja K

20 de Jan de 2018

I

por Safwa A

3 de Out de 2017

i

por Liz A

10 de Out de 2020

The course is good - even excellent but it's difficult to compare it with other courses I've been on that are substantial, detailed and provide a way into the . It's nice and basic. Only one book is used as reference material (which you'd have to buy, and it's written by the lecturer himself), no links to research papers, self tests, or anything at all outside the course , no suggested reading lists. All the testing is done through basic quizzes - (but they're good!) no essays, self-reflection assignments, no check your knowledge embedded in the videos. I found it very interesting. Technically - videos are in nice chunk-lengths, (short and focussed) but the sound is a bit faulty: some hiss, and low volume-level , - which is more obvious as the lecturer is softly spoken. He is easy to listen to however, though. Occasionally audio and video are not together. The music used to start each video sounds like an off the shelf jingle.

por Helen F

5 de Mai de 2016

I appreciate the effort that went into making this course as well as obtaining the film clips. Having said that, if you want to go deeper into the psychology of memory this course is probably not for you. As I progressed through the weeks, I found myself becoming less and less interested since I already know the basics of memory and psychology. I felt I wasn't learning anything new but the clips of films allowed me to see the films in a new light. Maybe if I had bought the book that goes along with the course, i would have gained more insight but as a standalone course, it rates just three stars.

por David D

26 de Set de 2016

I liked this course for the wide range of movie excerpts which underscored a memory malfunction. The scenes were often emotional, quite surprising such a short moment could be so charged.

However the main emphasis of this memory module was to explore malfunctioning memory, to the side of pathology. This was done professionally without a doubt. However this was not what I personally was looking for although one learns about dementia, alzheimer, etc, which is interesting as they will affect most of us in someway or another.

por Paripsa N P

26 de Abr de 2020

While some of the material was insightful in the sense that it helped explain important concepts of memory through movies, I felt like certain movies as case studies could have easily been skipped; movies like 50 First Dates did not really teach us anything significant about memory other than the fact that it was an incorrect depiction of memory loss. Cutting down on some such lectures would have made the course more concise and enjoyable.

por Mary K S

14 de Ago de 2020

Frustrating not to be able to go back and see what incorrect answer was. Some questions not very substantive. Not doing this for the grade, just to learn.

Otherwise, fine.

por T

5 de Ago de 2017

I love this course. It make me understand about amnesia and process. Include of a lot of movie that very interesting for watch it. I'm enjoy. Thanks professor.

por Hugo E

23 de Jan de 2017

The professor has a tone of voice that is a little monotonous, but it was interesting to learn about memory with movies

por Lisa M

4 de Dez de 2017

It was an interesting class but the sound was bad it was kinda hard to hear without headphones

por Miriam R

1 de Dez de 2016

Not in-depth at all, mostly summarizes movie plots. If you're looking for a very light overview of some introductory psychological principles, this course is for you, otherwise, don't waste your time.

por Markus K L

3 de Ago de 2019

Though it sounded interesting as first, I found the movies an unneccessary distractions and would have liked to get a version of this course without them.

por Joyce B

20 de Nov de 2017

I didn't think the Movies enhanced the subject.

Learned a little, but far too little to justify the time spent.